We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandchild approved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Riverside Hotel
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
North Ogden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grandchild approved”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wanted to stay close to River Walkway. Short getaway with 11 year old granddaughter. We had a lovely balcony room overlooking the outdoor pool area. This is a beautifully landscaped hotel on the west side of Boise toward Garden City. Saltwater pool, pool side pub, comfortable, clean room and excellent service. Fantastic breakfast included. Granddaughter wants to stay here every time we come. Only two miles from downtown Boise; bike rentals available for parkway rides. Lovely!

Room Tip: Stayed in corner balcony room overlooking pool; traveling w/ child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myriam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    198
    54
    32
    13
See reviews for
215
189
35
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a little get away... This hotel really did feel like a get away. Almost like a mini vacation. The restaurant in the hotel is a tad bit pricy, but we got a voucher for a free appetizer so that made it even better. When you check in they give you a fresh baked cookie, uh yum. The rooms are very nice and the beds are oh so comfy. The pool atmosphere feels like a resort, they bring drinks right to you. The all you can eat breakfast is wonderful.Totally staying here again!

Room Tip: Tip your housekeeper, they do an amazing job!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I hosted a family reunion of about 35 people earlier this month at the Riverside Hotel in Boise. The staff was very helpful in planning meals and rooms to address the various needs of our group -- aged newborn through 80 years old. The guest rooms were large and each had very modern bath appointments and fixtures.

The hotel is located about 3-5 minutes drive from downtown Boise and is very easily accessed from the airport or the freeway, too. There is more than enough parking in the hotel lot.

The banquet room was very spacious and well appointed. All sound and video equipment worked and was easy to operate. The waitstaff and host (yes, they had a dedicated host for our dinner) were gracious and genuine. The portions were large enough to satisfy even the hungriest teenage nephew. And the taste was great -- far better than typical hotel fare.

The hotel backs up to Boise City's greenbelt and the Boise River -- beautiful and park-like to be sure. The trees are mature and provide ample shade in the middle of Boise's hot summer days. There is a large salt-water pool behind the hotel that was a huge hit with all ages. No sore, red eyes from the chlorine!

There was a small problem with our toilet running. I called about 4pm to let the front desk know and it was fixed by 7pm when I returned to my room later that evening.

My entire extended family commented positively about how perfect of a spot this was for a group outing. And the price was considerably lower than that of other properties in town. I feel like I paid less to get more. Superb value!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irondori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I needed a quick get away - we chose the Riverside because of it location, right next to the Boise greenbelt. It was nice to get in a quick bike ride when we checked in, ate dinner on location, and then enjoyed adult beverages while listening to the live band in the outside bar area. We were up early...tried out the hot tub - water was a little to cold. (Our only complaint) Breakfast was wonderful! We will most certainly visit the Riverside again...next time bringing our little one with us so she can enjoy the pool!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Center, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Rooms were very nice, clean and bed was comfortable. The restaurant was good and very accommodating when we needed to move tables together. The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were nice. We didn't use the pool area but it was nice to know it was available. It didn't bother me that it was dog friendly but I saw no encouragement to pick up after the dogs. If you wanted to enjoy the river, you needed to watch were you stepped.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PamelaPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently spent three nights at the Riverside Hotel.

Here are the pros: The rooms are large and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The grounds are very nice. There's a great saltwater pool. The hotel is also on the Greenbelt and has fun old-school bikes available for rent -- a quick bike ride down the Greenbelt can get you to downtown as well. The free breakfast is a fabulous spread with an omelet station and much more. The outdoor poolside grill is fun and has live music -- my salad wasn't very good but the fries with Basque seasoning were awesome.

But there are a few cons: The hotel is older and the hallways smell like a nursing home. And the service is a little shaky. I had mostly good service at the front desk, but I also had one front desk agent who was terrible. I had to call to get housekeeping to get my room made up at the end of the day, and the housekeepers failed to remove dirty glasses, toss out empty coffee cups, wipe down the coffee area and dump pods, or put away the iron. At breakfast we were seated for nearly 15 minutes before a waitress came over (though she apologized for the delay and was attentive thereafter), but it was a little awkward when a young waiter was being openly disrespectful to an 80-year-old man at the next table. (I'm sure that man and his wife won't be coming back for breakfast after that exchange).

Overall, it's a good place to stay and the beds and overall property make it worth it. Hopefully some of the service issues will get worked out soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC2011midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is an amazing place to stay!! The grounds are lush and beautiful and the rooms are very large and spacious with a big screen t.v. They have a lovely huge pool area at the back of the hotel along with a patio bar and grill that has live music every evening and bartenders that come around the pool area to take drink orders if interested. The hotel is close to downtown Boise and is situated on the river and has paved biking and walking trails that go for 20 some miles. The entire hotel staff went out of their way to accommodate us and each one was super friendly. Our price for the room included a daily buffet that was also amazing...prime rib, baked ham, bacon, sausage gravy and biscuits, eggs, potatoes, waffles, fruit, pastries and homemade donuts that were fantastic! We would love to go back and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay at a wonderful price!!

Room Tip: If you are interested in the pool area, you might want to request a room closer to the back (riversi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
1.6 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
774 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
1.2 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Boise/Towne Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Hotel

Property: The Riverside Hotel
Address: 2900 W Chinden Blvd, Boise, ID 83714-6629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boise
#9 Business Hotel in Boise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel's riverfront location offers direct access to the Boise Greenbelt's 26-mile paved trail alongside Boise River. Our spacious guest rooms are decorated in a Contemporary style, including an ergonomic chair at an oversized desk featuring task lighting and an easy-access power source. Work with ease and efficiency from your room, utilizing two telephones with complimentary high speed internet. Guest rooms include one King or two Queen beds, most with courtyard or river views. Pet friendly, must be 21 and over to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Boise
Boise Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing