We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nancy @ The sapphire room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Riverside Hotel
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nancy @ The sapphire room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I attended an event at the hotel in the Sapphire Room. The room is small enough to feel cozy and has great ambiance. My waitress, Nancy, was terrific, so knowledgable and helpful. The food and wine was excellent and a great value. Be sure you ask to see the full menu as the bar snack menu is pretty limited.

The hotel is lovely and the lobby bar is a great place to meet for a cocktail.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    171
    46
    27
    11
See reviews for
172
168
34
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our stay was lovley. Clean rooms accomidating staff. The gourmet breakfast Buffett was world class. Patti was our server. Her expert service and knowlage of the surrounding area made our stay very memorable. We will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a must for everyone that visits beautiful Boise. The room was fantastic and the restaurant was wonderful. The river walk is terrific when the temperature is nice and the rest of the property is truly delightful. The entire staff was very nice and helpful. The folks at the front desk were the best. The night manager, Zepher I believe, was awesome. She gave us a room tour before we checked in. She was friendly and super knowledgeable. I highly recommend this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cray127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We sold our house in Eagle and needed a place to stay for 3 nights. We ended up at the Riverside Hotel. It's located on the Boise River and has a few walking paths around it. The staff was very friendly and housekeeping did a great job for us with extra supplies since we had our 2 parrots with us. The "free" breakfast had many choices and a few hot dishes. We were seated at a table and the wait staff was very friendly and efficient. We also had dinner in the dining room. Good choices and the food was good. The surprise was that we didn't know the "old fashioned" style of hotels still existed. There were several activities going on that weekend in all the meeting rooms they had. Great experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed over last weekend and had a very pleasant time. The front desk staff were very friendly. After checking in we asked to call a cab to go downtown and the manager told us the shuttle was just sitting so James took us downtown and came to pick us up too. Talk about accomodating the guests. The room was very clean as was the whole property. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast brunch Sunday morning on the houise. This will be our hotel to stayin Boise from now on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank west77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've stayed in Boise numerous times, usually downtown near the Grove. This is the first time I elected to stay at the Riverside Hotel. The hotel was nice and accommodating, from the front desk employees to the cleaning staff. My most enjoyable part of my stay was eating at the bar in the Hotel. From the moment I sat down Nancy, the bartender made me feel welcome and relaxed. She talked me into having dinner and spent the next 3 hours eating and enjoying a few drinks. Other guests arrived at the bar and nancy made all of us feel welcome and we all engaged in pleasant conversation. This was a great way to end my day of business, and I will come back again soon. John B

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 57049John_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orofino, Idaho, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We noticed on the first day of our stay that the bathtub and sink were not draining. We noted pieces of black material floating in the water that was not draining in the tub. We reported this in writing to the maid when she cleaned our room that morning. That night, the tub had been cleaned and we assumed the problem had been solved. I took a bath in the tub assuming all was well. The next morning, when my husband used the bathroom at 0630, the room on the second floor above ours flushed their toilet while he was in the bathroom, and our tub immediately filled up with sewage from that toilet. There were pieces of solid black material in the floating water. We called the front desk and a maintenance man arrived immediately. He stated that he had checked out the complaint from the previous day, but had done nothing to remedy the problem. He said "I need to get authorization to call a plumber." We were then offered another room to take a shower and we checked out. There was no mention of any compensation on the room rate for residing in this room for two nights with someone else's sewage floating in our bathtub. I am so upset at having bathed in this tub!

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel that not only does not fix a sewage problem after it has been reported, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 110123110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRiverside H, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to speak with me yesterday. I'm glad I was able to ease your mind by detailing the plumber's report, which indicated there was no sewage backup in your tub. As we spoke about, the backup was simply specks of the pipe and a grease buildup. Again, I'm sorry that happened. When our Engineer helped you at 6:30am, no plumber was available, and as you know, he came at 10:30am. You were in your second room at that time, which is why we needed your authorization for him to go into your room.

As we also spoke about, we do not automatically adjust room rates without speaking with our guests first. Since the majority of your room rate, for example, was paid for by a government agency, a room rate reduction does not necessarily help you personally. I'm sorry the front desk clerk did not handle it correctly.

I'm glad we were able to make you happy in the end and look forward to your return trip. I will personally make sure your next stay with us is the best it can be.

Thanks,
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
1.6 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 57 in Boise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
1.2 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 57 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Hotel

Property: The Riverside Hotel
Address: 2900 W Chinden Blvd, Boise, ID 83714-6629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boise
#9 Business Hotel in Boise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel's riverfront location offers direct access to the Boise Greenbelt's 26-mile paved trail alongside Boise River. Our spacious guest rooms are decorated in a Contemporary style, including an ergonomic chair at an oversized desk featuring task lighting and an easy-access power source. Work with ease and efficiency from your room, utilizing two telephones with complimentary high speed internet. Guest rooms include one King or two Queen beds, most with courtyard or river views. Pet friendly, must be 21 and over to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Boise
Boise Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing