We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, need to update their pet policy online”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stopped here on our way from moving my entire house (and cat) from WA to TX. We had cheked out hotels online in the area and this one stood out because of the price, location (we wanted to check out the Boise Ale Trail while we were in town) and their pet policy. It stated $10 per pet, per night. Upon checkin, we were informed that the pet policy only applied to dogs. The front desk associate was very apologetic and attempted to call boarding houses around the city for us, but it would have been nice to know that they cater only to canines. We had no problems of the sort in any of the other hotels we stayed in along the trip.

Other than that snafu, the hotel itself was very clean and well-maintained. It was in a decent location and parking was free. The free breakfast was also enjoyable. I would stay here again (as long as I didn't have a pet with me).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. The IHG website has updated our pet policy, but we do apologize for the lack of clarity beforehand. Hopefully we will see you again in the future! - Jason, sales coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 207 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

Check to make sure that their Internet access is working. Apparently, they have antiquated wiring systems and all guests I were completely without (wired of wireless) access for hand entire 2-day stay. Not at all acceptable for a business traveler. Wi-Fi is not a complicated technology, and should be easily remedied if it is down. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

I am sorry about our Internet service problems. This is an issue that has been fixed since, with a new provider; however, the fact that it was out of service at all is understandably very disappointing. We hope to have another chance in the future to give you a better stay. Thank you for your review! - Jason, sales coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Someone said this was originally an office building. Probably true. Plenty of parking and five minutes from downtown. Free WiFi and breakfast. The hotel looked brand new, nice contemporary decor large guest lounge, separate media room. It seemed it was designed to make travelers feel at home. Excellent room, well furnished and great beds and a good nights sleep. This was one of the best hotels we stayed at on a 15 night trip out of fifteen hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for the review! We're glad we were able to provide a great stay for you, and happy to hear that you liked the renovations the hotel had done. - Jason, sales coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week during a recent (June) conference. The first thing that was apparent was the hotel places a priority on cleanliness. I can't think of one time where I was in a common area where a member of the staff wasn't cleaning something or emptying trash or restocking coffee or tea for guests. The room (409) was also quite clean and nicely furnished. I was not able to use the coffeemaker in the room to warm water for tea due to an orange substance being in my cup when the water was dispensed. I could never get it to run clean and this is my ONLY criticism of the hotel from my week long stay.

Each staff member, from Jason at the front desk to the ladies in the breakfast common area, who I encountered was very pleasant and friendly. They genuinely seemed to want to help their guests.

As others have mentioned, the hotel is not centered in the downtown area. If you are looking for a hotel that is a short walk to the capitol building, this is one is not for you. It is, however, perfectly placed for those people (like me) who wold prefer to avoid the traffic common to a downtown venue. The hotel is situated directly across the street from an entrance to the Greenbelt which connects most of the more popular areas. You should anticipate about a 1/2 to 3/4 mile walk to get to the main area of restaurants downtown. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for your review! We definitely have emphasized cleanliness and are happy to hear that it was a strong point during your stay. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. - Jason, sales coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

As others have mentioned, this hotel is not exactly "downtown," although it's close in and much more pleasant than staying by Boise's airport or in one of the freeway adjacent hotels. Located in an office park, this repurposed hotel has been nicely refreshed, with new furniture, neutral shades and turquoise accents, thoughtful lighting. Amenities and services are typical HIE, staff friendly and competent, But hey, people, learn how to make coffee that's not watery, and don't be stingy with evening cookies, either have them or don't. Nearby Mexican restaurant La Tapateria and a Red Robin means you don't have to drive to have dinner if you don't want to. Mature trees and foliage in the hotel grounds give it a lush feel in summer. Outdoor pool looks great for kids. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bksgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you would stay with us again, and that you liked the renovations that took place here. I hope that the coffee is more satisfactory if you do return. - Jason, sales coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for about 2.5 weeks on a recent business trip to Boise. The hotel itself is nice and everything feels new. The room was comfortable and spacey enough and was equipped with a large screen LCD, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker.
The breakfast is the standard express one which was more than enough for me.
I used the gym several times although it is quite small.
The stuff was great and friendly throughout the entire stay. Location is great with some restaurants right next to it and downtown being just several minutes drive away.
Would definitely stay there on my future trips to Boise.

Room Tip: As always it seems higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thki22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay; we're proud of the renovations that our hotel went through, and it's good to know our staff was courteous to you. - Jason, sales coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The interior is well done and still smells new. The bed though was to hard for me, but it was a good size for a king. Great location. It is walking distance from restaurants, and not far from downtown. Had to take a taxi to downtown though.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a hard bed it is a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mytime2shine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear mytime2shine,

Thank you for writing us a review. We are very pleased that you liked the location of our hotel and our brand new interior. I am very sorry for any inconvenience you had with the bed. If there is anything we can do to make your future stay with us more comfortable, our Manager on Duty will be more than happy to assist you. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit to Boise.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boise ParkCenter
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Boise/Towne Square
4.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boise Towne Square
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boise Airport
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area

Address: 475 W Parkcenter Blvd, Boise, ID 83706-3656 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Boise Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Boise
#7 Family Hotel in Boise
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boise
Price Range: $80 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club Boise Hotel Boise
Doubletree Hotel Boise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing