We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Safari Inn Downtown
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just one night”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Update the bedding and I would have been pretty happy. Very quiet and dog friendly! The front desk staff were polite and efficient. They have a pretty steep tax in Boise that kinda made my eyes pop for the final bill. A huge place with all the needed amenities, little dated but spacious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraftedCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    58
    35
    3
    8
See reviews for
18
39
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hayden, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A $100 upfront room deposit for possible damages? OMG, we're 70 years old and can't stay up long enough to wreck anything! This depoit was not disclosed to us beforehand. The desk person shoved back to me the printout of our reservation without looking at it saying that she didn't need it. She then entered the wrong name and told us that we must be mistaken about which hotel we had reservations at. Her supervisor straightened it out eventually. The room was adequate in all respects but the mafia at the front desk and the company policies will keep us away the next time we go to Boise.

Room Tip: Try the Owyhee Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boise hotels

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is clean, safe, quiet and offers pet accomodations, breakfast, and easy access to all the attractions in downtown Boise. If you are on a budget, this is a great hotel. The only issue I had was with internet connection. But the convenience and amenities more than made up for it.

Room Tip: Try to book away from the neighboring pub because their customers make some noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stateseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here one night while in Boise on business. The hotel feels like it is an old Best Western and could use a few upgrades. The best part of the hotel is that it is located downtown and is close to a lot of nightlife within walking distance. I did not utilize the continental breakfast in the morning. The workout room is small and has a few aerobic machines. I would consider staying here again to sleep at night but would not spend any part of my day working in the room as it was not business friendly (no desk, little table, uncomfortable chair).

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Southwest_Gaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We stay here every time we come to Boise (which is not very often.) Even when the website says no rooms are available a call has been able to secure one and at a great rate. Apparently if you are a returning guest you get the best rate without asking! The rooms are large and the air conditioning works well. Its nice to have a fridge, micro and a coffee maker as well as a safe Quite quiet even on a Saturday at the back across from a bar. Nice breakfast with yogurt and fruit cup. The staff are always friendly and welcoming. I've also never smelled smoke as mentioned by another reviewer. Maybe some thoughtless person had just walked past.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Locheriboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with a great location for walking to parks and downtown shops. The pool is nice too. Breakfast is on the skimpy side with only cold cereal and some assorted pastries. Parking is also free and mostly covered. Front desk staff was helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its location to downtown Boise and its decent price. Little did we know that the "non-smoking" hotel smelled like smoke worse than any other hotel I've stayed in before. But to top the cake off...they only have about a third of the parking spaces for the amount of rooms they have. When we came back to our room late saturday night we thought we parked in the hotel parking lot because part of the hotel was attached to this lot. Our car was gone the next morning and had been towed away, along with many other hotel guests. The tow truck driver says it happens all the time yet the hotel refuses to care or do anything about it. Ended up being a very expensive weekend when we thought we were saving money by staying at the Safari Inn.

Room Tip: Check where you park...it probably isn't hotel parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1979vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
0.2 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 43
Hotel 43
#20 of 58 in Boise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabana Inn
Cabana Inn
#42 of 58 in Boise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn Downtown

Property: Safari Inn Downtown
Address: 1070 W Grove St, Boise, ID 83702-7037
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Safari Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Inn Downtown Hotel Boise
Safari Hotel Boise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing