We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and wonderful staff. If you expect anything better you're dreaming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Safari Inn Downtown
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We stay here every time we come to Boise (which is not very often.) Even when the website says no rooms are available a call has been able to secure one and at a great rate. Apparently if you are a returning guest you get the best rate without asking! The rooms are large and the air conditioning works well. Its nice to have a fridge, micro and a coffee maker as well as a safe Quite quiet even on a Saturday at the back across from a bar. Nice breakfast with yogurt and fruit cup. The staff are always friendly and welcoming. I've also never smelled smoke as mentioned by another reviewer. Maybe some thoughtless person had just walked past.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Locheriboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Safari Inn Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with a great location for walking to parks and downtown shops. The pool is nice too. Breakfast is on the skimpy side with only cold cereal and some assorted pastries. Parking is also free and mostly covered. Front desk staff was helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its location to downtown Boise and its decent price. Little did we know that the "non-smoking" hotel smelled like smoke worse than any other hotel I've stayed in before. But to top the cake off...they only have about a third of the parking spaces for the amount of rooms they have. When we came back to our room late saturday night we thought we parked in the hotel parking lot because part of the hotel was attached to this lot. Our car was gone the next morning and had been towed away, along with many other hotel guests. The tow truck driver says it happens all the time yet the hotel refuses to care or do anything about it. Ended up being a very expensive weekend when we thought we were saving money by staying at the Safari Inn.

Room Tip: Check where you park...it probably isn't hotel parking.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1979vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Located right downtown Boise, we stayed here to be able to walk to and from a concert at the Knitting Factory. It was a very easy walk to and from.

The room was nice. Had a safe, and micro-fridge. They had Wi-Fi and the room was very open and large. We had two Queen beds which were very comfortable. Plus there was plenty of room for everyone to have their own space.

My only issue was the $100 hold they placed on my Visa. It caused my bank account havoc until the pending transaction was removed which took longer then they said it would. They didn't tell me there was going to be an actual 'hold' on the card in addition to the amount for the room. Had I know that I would have put it on a credit card and not worried about it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The hotel is centrally located in downtown , which makes it very convenient! The room is dated with early 90s "rose-colored and cream" decor. And there isn't much to the decorations in the way of a "safari" feel, with the exception of a few giraffe prints on the wall. However, the room was comfortable, quiet and suited our needs. We were within walking distance of most Boise attractions. We paid $85 for a King bedroom, which is VERY reasonable for this part of the city!

Room Tip: Go with the King bedroom for ten more dollars! The smaller rooms are cramped!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asugargreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My stay here is like being home, the staff is friendly and helpful. Location is great, right next to wherever I want to go in downtown Boise. Easy to get to and easy to get back on my way from. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Especially love the cookies in the lobby in the evening - to die for.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClydeG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

In response to the prior reviewer, I was a hotel guest during the same time period. What they forgot to mention was while they were shopping and seeing Boise, their 2 dogs were locked in
the room...constantly barking.

Am glad to see they will not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Boise/Downtown
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#7 of 58 in Boise
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 43
Hotel 43
#19 of 58 in Boise
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn Downtown

Address: 1070 W Grove St, Boise, ID 83702-7037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Price Range: $121 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Safari Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Inn Downtown Hotel Boise
Safari Hotel Boise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing