We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Was Dirty and Not Maintained Well” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, ID USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Room Was Dirty and Not Maintained Well”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Suite. The carpet wasn't vacuumed from the prior guest. The bottom of our socks were filthy. The sofa was very dirty (we had to use a blanket to cover it). The door's deadbolt didn't work. Two of the TV remotes didn't work (volume and channel).

The front desk people are very friendly. The breakfast was just so-so. I'd recommend walking across the parking lot to Elmers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfcboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    57
    19
    6
    10
See reviews for
49
29
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I arrived earlier than 4pm, but was able to check in 2 hours early which I appreciated. The front desk individual and trainee were very pleasant and helpful. This was not my first visit to this hotel and once again I was pleased with my room and the service. I was able to choose the floor level I wanted to stay on. My room was quiet and really the only noise I heard was when the family next door to me was in the hall and first entering their room. I love having a refrigerator that I can store my water bottles and other perishables in. I forgot my swimsuit, but that was okay because I utlilized their fitness center instead. It is not huge, but there were 4 of us working out at 6 am and still had room to move around. They have 2 treadmills, recumbent bike and elliptical, along with a weight system. Breakfast was good I enjoyed having fresh grapefruit which I have never seen before in a breakfast service like this. They also serve waffles, warm oatmeal, cold cereals, toast, bagels and muffins, plus 2 types of juice, milk and yogurt. This location is very convenient to Boise State University so if you have any business there you could walk there from this hotel. Plus it is not too far from downtown Boise where there are very nice restaurants to enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oregonmsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
177 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel is in many ways another Towne place hotel but the difference is the staff.
They were so friendly and helpfull with every question we had.
The 2 ladies at the front desk are one of a kind, so interested in what we visited, where we should go to eat or just be nice.
The breakfast is a busy but everything is cleaned up right away.
Also the patio for a coffe is something you won't expect.
We were happy to stay there.

Room Tip: Try to have a room on the back side. The left side is still away from the roads, but the back side a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I know most people really like staying here, and I thought I would too. In many ways, it was ideal for our week. The location was perfect for my needs on this trip, the room was quiet and mostly clean, and the basic room features were great (having a kitchen area, primarily), as I always find to be the case in a TownePlace Suites.

Now for the down sides: On our first day at the hotel, one of us put out the "do not disturb" sign in the morning. When we were ready for housekeeping service, we took the sign off the door. Apparently, it was too late in the day for housekeeping to stop by, which was okay with me. For the remainder of our stay (two more full days plus another morning), we did not receive any housekeeping services at all, which I found to be unusual for this level of hotel. Not even a check-by to see whether we needed more towels. The trash cans were full to the top by the time we left, but I was too busy with my work meetings in town to be bothered with asking the front desk for help.

The carpet was pretty worn (and maybe quite dirty...hard to tell for sure given the pattern, but it looked dingy in any case). The dishwasher wasn't working right, and there was a pool of dirty water in the bottom of it. I tried to get it to drain with no success. I washed dishes by hand rather than risking getting sick from the water in the machine. The desk was damaged, and the TV remote would do everything except turn the TV on and off. The counter top in the kitchen area had big coffee smears on it (not stains...just puddles of dried up coffee). The valve in the shower worked on a long delay, so I spend almost a shower's worth of time just getting the water to an acceptable temperature.

One of the mornings we were there, one of us went downstairs just prior to the published finish time for breakfast, and all of the food had already been cleaned up and the cabinets and fridge locked. I can certainly understand why this would have been the case in some ways, but I'm not accustomed to nicer hotels closing down breakfast before the scheduled end time has arrived.

One up-side was the staff. Those I encountered were helpful and friendly, as I've come to expect when staying at Marriott properties. Another nice aspect of our room was its size. It was spacious and gave us plenty of room to spread out. Unfortunately, the counter space in the bathroom vanity area was far too small to fit my normal toiletries there. I also didn't care for having one electrical switch outside of the bathroom operate the light in the bathroom, the fan in the bathroom, AND the lights in the separate sink/vanity area. I'm not a fan of giving someone outside of the bathroom the ability to turn the lights out on me while I in there, even if it's by accident. It also made it so that any time we had the lights on above the sink/vanity, we had to listen to the noise of the bathroom fan.

Overall, I was disappointed at my experience here. One might say that it was my responsibility to report all of the issues I encountered so that the hotel would have an opportunity to address them for me, but when I'm on business trips I often go at a dead run from eyes-open to early the next morning, and most often I simply don't have the time or energy to deal with maintenance issues on the hotel's behalf. I assume that most of the problems here have to do with its close proximity to Boise State University and, I would imagine, a heavy student and athletic events clientele. When I return to Boise for work, I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
29JamieH, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback about your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. At the TownePlace Suites we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience. We are constantly striving to improve upon our guest's experiences and to provide excellent customer service and learning more would be helpful. I would love to speak with you further if you have the time, please give me a call at 208-429-8881.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I found the room very spacious and comfortable! We stayed with a group of friends and were able to be accommodated next to each other so that was nice. We had breakfast in the morning but ran rather late catching it so not everything was still available. We were within walking distance of downtown and were able to go see the Potato Drop and didn't have to mess with cabs or parking which was a plus! We did go to the pool area which was small but adequate. The hot tub's jets were not working so that was a tad disappointing. Overall this was a great stay and we'd definitely stay in another TownPlace Suites!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
29JamieH, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies that the hot tub jets were not working the night you stayed with us! At Marriott, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. The hot tub jets are back up and running and we hope you will come try us out again in the future. I hope you enjoyed the potato drop and I'm looking forward to seeing what our awesome city comes up with to welcome in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here for a second try for two nights. Had a very nice large clean room with a mini kitchen which was unused as there are so many great places to eat in Boise. Friendly and helpful reception staff (as last year). About a 15 minute safe walk to downtown Boise (but watch out for the sprinklers on the walk back in the dark!). The breakfast area seemed better set out than last year with enough seating and plenty choice. This was our forth visit to Boise (2006, 2009 and 2012) and this hotel is a definite for next time if we can once again get the lower rate offered in midweek (the weekend rate is much higher).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stvjyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Front desk was quite helpful and understanding of my late arrival. My room was enormous compared to other very nice Marriott properties I've visited. Has a well-equipped kitchenette and a closet that opens into both the foyer and the bathroom - very convenient when getting ready for your day. Slept in so couldn't vouch for breakfast but Marriott usually does a good job on this. A regional chain restaurant, Elmer's is just across the parking lot for breakfast through dinner. Parking was spacious, well-lit, secure and convenient. The bed was perfect for a great night's sleep!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FijiDiver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boise Downtown
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.9 mi away
Safari Inn Downtown
Safari Inn Downtown
#31 of 55 in Boise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boise ParkCenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown
Address: 1455 S. Capitol Blvd., Boise, ID 83706
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott is an all suite hotel nestled next to Ann Morriosn Park, near the Boise River and adjacent to Boise State University. Located only a mile from downtown and within walking distance of numerous restaurants and attractions. All of our well appointed suites include fully equipped kitchens. Hotel amenities include, breakfast buffet, high speed wired or wireless internet, business center, airport shuttle, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room and our onsite "In a Pinch" market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Boise Downtown Hotel Boise
Marriott Boise
Boise Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing