We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top-notch!”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Stayed at the Boise Hampton Downtown for four nights in August 2009. Found the hotel to be top-notch. Great room that worked well for a family of four (parents and two kids, 8 and 3). Very quiet room. Free Wi-Fi and business center. Overall we found a well designed room that was comfortable and very clean (as was the entire hotel). Indoor pool and work-out room a plus for those seeking these activities. Breakfast changed daily and always included eggs, breads, biscuits, fruit, juice, hot/cold cereals, some mornings a meat, et cetera. Coffee that was a 7 out of 10, and nice selection of teas (available throughout the day). Fresh fruit found conspicuously throughout hotel, great touch. Nice space in lobby to find a quiet corner to read papers provided. Perfect location in city center with short walk to restaurants, river, and great parks. At about $120/night (including tax and $7/night for convenient parking in garage) we found the Boise Hampton Downtown to be a great value. Staff was very helpful. The only minor downside, be careful of bathroom door. In our room the door was quite heavy with a clearance just right for toes. A family member jammed her toe pretty bad.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DelicateArchUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    232
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
289
209
55
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

I booked this hotel solely booked on the reviews here and I was not disappointed in the slightest.
The staff cannot do enough to help you here and mapped out all of the local things i wanted to try and gave me ideas for a few more! They had a cold bottle of water or a cookie on hand pretty much every time i walked past the desk - seriously they don't need to be this good!
Location-wise its on the edge of the Bo-Do (Boise-Downtown - really!!!) area so you have some decent shops and bars/restaurants right by.
The room was very comfortable with a nice flat screen TV and most importantly the AC was reliable as it was crazy hot outside!
Normally i go for 3 or 4 star hotels on Priceline where a room can come in way lower in price than what I paid for the Hampton but I would definitely not stay anywhere else if i went back to Boise.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegster110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

This hotel is wonderful. The rooms are clean. The staff is helpful and friendly. It is in a great location (you can walk to anything).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

This was the 19th hotel on our family's one-month-long vacation in the west. We travelled with a medium budget spending about 100-150 dollars on hotel per night. This hotel was the best on our trip, even better than the Luxor in Las Vegas. However, the indoor pool can get crowded easily if there are many people in it at the same time. Still I must say that a hotel can't get better than this. The room is huge, clean and quiet, the lobby is beautiful and cosy, the breakfast is good and the downtown shops are just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xaratar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ndog
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Location:
A 10 minute drive from the airport (which also has a Hampton that I almost went to) on Capitol Blvd, near the Grove Plaza. Pretty easy to walk around wherever downtown.

Cost:
I think it was about $110 a night with $7 per day for parking. Not too bad for the location.

Hotel:
Well decorated and updated. Large sitting area with multiple flat screens. The workout room is of decent size and they have a heated indoor pool with a 'kiddie' zone that is shallow and has water jets spraying. A nice feature if you have kids. The pool was just barely large enough to get some exercise swimming laps. They also have a whirlpool that was of decent size as well.

Service:
Good. Had no problems, so there was little interaction with the staff.

Room:
King bedroom on the 7th floor. Thought the room was spacious with a flat screen TV and small couch.

Bathroom:
The bathroom could have used a picture on the wall as it was rather plain and the sink was on the outside of the bathroom door.

Food:
Typical Hampton. A variety of cereals, muffins & fruit with their 'hot' section equating to microwaved eggs or whatnot.

Non-Hotel comments
Downtown Boise is nice, and if/when I come back again, I'll want to stay in the area as there are lots of restaurants and shops to enjoy (vs. the 'burbs). One area of note was a Basque (think Spanish) area near the hotel that was interesting to explore.

Summary:
A good quality Hampton slightly above their normal standards in a good location of town. Other than having to pay extra for parking, I had a good experience and will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Where can I begin to tell anyone reading this what an amazing hotel this is?!? The staff went above and beyond to make sure ALL of the guests in our group were taken care of. We have VERY picky people in our family and every single one of them had nothing but nice things to say about their stay.

The bed was very comfortable, room was spotless, spacious and had all the needed amenities; free breakfast was hot and delicious and the breakfast dinning area is huge! I really loved the large selection of beverages as well, more than you usually see.

The lobby was gorgeously decorated from the marble floor to the crown-molded ceilings. The large fireplace in the center of the lobby was appreciated, even in May! Great business center and just all-around beautiful area. Although you need to pay for parking, they offer a free shuttle to and from the airport, and with the centralized location, you don't need a car...unless you are planning a trip into the foothills/mountains.

The only hicup I experienced was an uprepared meeting space I had planned ahead for, but the staff jumped on it right away and did not charge us the usual fee, due to their mistake. As a result, no one ever knew that there was ever a problem except for me. That is a true test to the amazing customer service this establishment provides. I've stayed in 5 star hotels, and this hotel is by far the best customer service I've ever experienced. No kidding.

I would and am recommending this place to ANYONE who comes to Boise for one night or 100 nights...a true gem!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyDurante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

This hotel offered a great rate on their website with a downtown gift card as an added bonus to cover our dinner. The room was very large, clean, modern and bedding very comfortable. Evening staff and breakfast staff was exceptional. Only negative is the sink wouldn;t drain and evening staff couldn't get it fixed. When I mentioned it in the morning the young woman at the front desk she seemed not to care and didn't apologize or aknowledge the problem. Other than this this hotel and staff are great and a convinient place to stay in the center city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cxbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
686 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
1.6 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
0.5 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
712 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
Address: 495 S Capitol Blvd, Boise, ID 83702-7117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boise
#3 Family Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown Hotel Boise
Hampton Inn And Suites Boise Downtown
Hampton Inn Boise
Boise Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing