We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleaning Lady Robbed Us Blind!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Boise Airport
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife left her purse in the bottom of a back pack that we left in the room for 3 hours. When we were leaving she noticed that the back pack had been gone through and there was $236 missing from her purse. The only person that had been in the room or had access was the cleaning lady. When we confronted the manager, he told us that the form we sign when checking in releases them from theft or damage, even from THEIR own staff. We filed a report with the police, but nothing will be done because the cleaning lady denies taking anything. We will never stay at this hotel again and advise others not to as well if you value your hard earned cash.

Room Tip: Do not choose any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 605 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Marlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Planning on moving to Boise so spent 8 days checking things out. The rooms were plenty big for the 2 of us.The refrigerator came in real handy. Everywhere we seemed to go was very close and there was a wonderful restaurant around the corner...Tucanos..Food was delicious.We were able to even get our laundry washed and dried during our visit without having to go to a laundromat. The place was very clean and the help gracious. Will definitely stay there again..

Room Tip: The freeway is very close so we would suggest a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sactojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Sactojane,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you chose us for your extended stay. We appreciate all of your feedback about your families stay. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean,safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Boise Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

First I had to acknowledge that this is an older motel franchised as a Howard Johnson, not a more full service Hampton Inn, Comfort Inn, or Holiday Inn Express. Once I realized that, I felt I was getting a great value with a well maintained older motel with a recent ownership change, who has made sure the rooms were clean, the mattresses were new and comfortable, and the rooms were freshly painted in appealing colors. My room had a clean unstained carpet, a microwave and fridge, and excellent internet and shower. It does take a long time to get hot water, but knowing that, I turned on the tub before I got in. The heater mode dial did not work properly, but I told the manager and I was assured it would be replaced. As it was in the single digits, I left it on heat the whole time anyway. I was able to hear the road noise on occasion, but it didn't bother me and slept the entire night without a problem. The road between the Lowe's and Walmart was marked well, so I had no problems getting to the property. I can tell recent improvements have been made on the property. I would stay there again without any concerns.

Room Tip: There is no elevator to the second floor and the property has exterior entrances to the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear pklerose,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really value all guest feedback. We are so glad that you chose us. We are very sorry about the bathroom issue. We will make sure that we pass this valuable feedback on to our staff. We are very sorry if this inconvenienced you at all. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Boise Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Good/Fair rates for being in Boise. Close to lots of places to eat, and a Walmart next door. Room was clean, Bed was perfect. Next to freeway, but didn't bother me with door and window closed. The staff very helpful and had a nice chat with frontdesk person. I make alot of trips to Boise, so I Will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Jon,


Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all of our business travelers. As a hotel, we strive to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Boise Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff was friendly both when we checked in and the next morning. Breakfast started at 6 but we didn't stay that long. The room was inexpensive.
Motel is VERY close to the freeway so that side is quite noisy. The motel Is way off Overland ave, back behind Lowes hardware so I felt a little spooked in the dark.
The room had one floor lamp and no overhead light. Motel rooms are often dark but this one was more so than normal. I told them they needed another light in there

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Ann R,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied. We will pass your feedback about the hotel being dark. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We value all guest feedback. It allow us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Boise Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Best part of our stay here was the front desk staff and rate. Average cleanliness, furnishings and breakfast. A decent place to stay on a budget, that is near restaurants/shopping/gas/airport and interstate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamFlounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear TeamFlounder,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make changes to the hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Boise Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
3.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Boise Airport
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Boise Airport
4.0 mi away
Cabana Inn
Cabana Inn
#43 of 58 in Boise
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Boise Airport
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boise
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#44 of 58 in Boise
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Boise Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Boise Airport

Address: 8002 W Overland Rd, Boise, ID 83709-1633 (Formerly Budget Host Inn Boise)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Price Range: $57 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Boise Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Boise Airport with Outdoor Pool conveniently located just off I-84, the Howard Johnson Boise is the perfect location for travelers on the move. Situated close to shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the Boise Airport, our Idaho hotel is also just a short drive from the heart of downtown Boise. Rise and shine with free hot full breakfast while you plan your day using the hotel's free wifi. After a long day exploring the area, relax in our seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub. Business travelers to Boise will appreciate the convenience of our business center, where you can check email or print a boarding pass for your departure. Our pet-friendly hotel also features a barbecue area, allowing you and your family to decompress after a day of adventure in Boise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Boise Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing