We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay Experience”

Old Idaho Penitentiary
Ranked #3 of 124 things to do in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In 1872 the Idaho Territorial Prison opened its doors to some of the most desperate and mean criminals the West could offer. In 1973 the Idaho State Penitentiary closed to inmates. Now our doors are open for visitors to explore over 100 years of Idaho's unique prison history. Open year-round, visitors of the Old Idaho Penitentiary can walk through solitary confinement, cell blocks, and the gallows. Visit today and relive the Old Pen's exciting past of daring escapes, scandals, and executions. Call for more details about special events, educational programs and guided tours.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Visited the Penitentiary, although we didn't enter the area itself, we had fun visiting the surrounding area, including the women's ward and also the houses in display. Also took a trek up the hill where you can get a great view of Boise and also overlooking the Penitentiary.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bonster_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    212
    31
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“VERY NEAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Take the tour for sure! I have taken the tour a couple of times and everytime it is different since there are different people telling you the stories. Very informative and interesting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lilk9798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Be glad it was not you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

A fascinating tour of life in a territorial prison on the 1800' up to 1972. View the rose garden, ( execution area) Siberia (the hole). It's worth your time to take the tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Idakop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
238 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Stopped to kill an hour and was very glad I did”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was in town on business and had a little extra time to kill between appointments. I am very glad I stopped here. This is a very cool place. I really wish we still had facilities like this as I think it would really deter crime. If I had spent time here I guarantee I would not have repeat offended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank parisryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa WA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great history!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Fun Halloween adventure alternative, had a great time with friends, lots of food and drink oppurtunities, all the areas are open, and the history is amazing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarglofWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Idaho Penitentiary also viewed

 

Been to Old Idaho Penitentiary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing