We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pub Atmosphere in Boise”
Review of Bardenay

Bardenay
Ranked #6 of 797 Restaurants in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999. With three locations in Boise, Eagle and Coeur d'Alene that capture the spirit of Idaho and the Northwest, Bardenay Restaurant and Distillery is a cornerstone of Idaho's restaurant and bar industry. The original establishment is located in a once empty warehouse on the Historic Basque Block in downtown Boise, Idaho. On April 25th, 2000, history was made when we served the first cocktail to included spirits distilled in a restaurant in the US. As the nation's first restaurant distillery, Bardenay has set an industry precedent as the first full service restaurant and bar with the ability to create handcrafted liquor on-site. Our distillers are happy to give tours as time allows. Please ask your server if you are interested in a closer look at our operations. p.s. We are only allowed to sell our fine spirits by the drink. If you would like to purchase a bottle, you may do so at many of our state liquor stores.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub Atmosphere in Boise”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

While visiting with our 21-year old granddaughter in Boise, we asked her to pick a restaurant that she and her friends enjoy, and she led us to the Bardenay Restaurant. The atmosphere was typical for a brew pub and the food and service were excellent. My wife and I each enjoyed the smoked paprika and herb grilled tenderloin medallions on toasted village bread with bleu cheese-bacon coleslaw. It was excellent. This sandwich is complex and enjoyable with multiple layers of flavor and texture, and was perfectly prepared. Excellent! My granddaughter also enjoyed her meal.

The service was first rate, and the Monkey Face Porter was very good.

I will definitely visit this restaurant again when in Boise.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    247
    45
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A good choice for Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went recently with out of town family for a Sunday lunch. We were pleasantly surprised to find the brunch menu also on Sundays, with many interesting choices. Everyone loved their meals.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrainsRFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food, Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've lived in Boise for about a year now and this is one of my favorite restaurants. They have an extensive menu that is very reasonably priced. Of all the times I've eaten there with friends, coworkers, and out of town quests, everyone has enjoyed their meal. The service has always been good, if not great. They also have ample indoor and outdoor seating. On top of that, they make some great cocktails. I recommend this restaurant to everyone--great for tourists, family dinner, date, lunch, Sunday brunch, happy hour, etc.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindsay_D2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Friendly, hopping, reasonable prices, good food.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

On a recent Saturday night at about 8:30pm, this place was hopping. Mostly 20-somethings but a good mix of all ages. We're in our 40s and were completely comfortable. Despite the size and number of people enjoying themselves, the noise level was actually fine. Staff is naturally friendly and seemingly trained to be uber hyper energetic as they dart all over the place keeping up with the crowds. We ate at the bar where the bartenders work magic with cocktails. The menu is pretty standard fare turned out by a kitchen that does a nice job. My seared tuna on a salad was actually cooked perfectly and as good as any I've had. There's plenty of fried stuff, but if that isn't your thing, there's also plenty else. This is an easy restaurant to like and I would return if in Boise again. Very reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kyle10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice outside dining”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had dinner with friends and ate outside. this restaurant is located right in the heart of the basque district. I had the trout with a caper sauce which was very good. Prices are reasonable, and there is plenty on the menu to choose from. Their martini's are fabulous! Service was satisfactory.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank darcykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bardenay also viewed

 

Been to Bardenay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing