We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Northwest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Northwest Lodge
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is becoming our go to place in Boise. Very comfortable and the late check out is perfect. There is great parking as we usually have a trailer with us. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, the breakfast is good with a wide variety of hot and cold items, and the location is close tot he highway making access very easy. By the way, cookies and milk for the kids at night is a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank L8524CCjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    147
    39
    19
    13
See reviews for
174
150
29
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fall City, Wa.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

The overall experience at this hotel was great - suggest that the management focus on a better breakfast in order to compete with surrounding hotels. The presentation of the food was a little haphazardly looking and not appealing to the eye.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank WCZCJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay to the BW Lodge. Nice upgrade and good breakfast. Would stay again! I recommend this hotel for any traveler. We wanted to get East of Boise to miss morning traffic so it worked nicely for that purpose. Also, the nearby café you could walk to served great home style food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed this time for a business convention (Class) for my boyfriend. We drove up on Tuesday night and stayed until Thursday afternoon. This was a great stay because our room was in the perfect spot (for me, the smoker) and it was easy to get to. I hate when my room is a long walk! This was not. I love the breakfast and the milk and cookies at bedtime! The pool and hot tub here are awesome! (Granted, it's only 4-feet deep), it's great for doing some laps and also the hot-tub is great after hours on the road! They also have a workout room with a bike, treadmill and more. Our room had 1-large bed and plenty of room! Enough plugs for phones/laptops. Good lights, windows that open, great bathroom is spacious, variety of pillows to choose the perfect one.
*Hi-lights: Free high-speed internet, 24-hour pool and hot tub, Next-to a breakfast restaurant! Walk to: grocery store, gas station, Jack in the Box and more. Pet friendly (Small dogs) and the staff here is very friendly and helpful! Thanks, guys!

Room Tip: I would ask for something on the first floor (for luggage ease) and also because I 'step out'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Know what you’re getting at the Best Western Plus Northwest Lodge and you’ll be a happy visitor—if you’re expecting a high-end, frou-frou place in the midst of downtown, though, you’re going to be disappointed.

The location of the Northwest Lodge is on the southeast edge of Boise’s city limits. This works really well if you’re doing business at Micron or visiting friends/family in the very nearby Columbia Village neighborhoods. Or, if you don’t mind the easy 10-minute drive toward the center of Boise. We didn’t mind the drive (heck, the traffic here is non-existent compared to big cities) for heading into “town.” The Northwest Lodge is just a short hop off the interstate (84) so it’s easy on and easy off to head anywhere on the freeway.

If you’re an avid TripAdvisor reader (as I am), you’ll note that many reviewers mention the décor at the Northwest Lodge. Yep, it's definitely not your average "generic blah" hotel decor. Instead, think hefty pine beams, trout wall hangings, soft leather sofas and dark green/brown/plaid type colors. In short, like a lodge in the mountains. Or like you might imagine a lodge in the mountains would be. Very pleasant.

There's a double-sided fireplace in the lobby with oodles of comfy seating around it; the same area houses tables for breakfast dining--or playing family games to while away the evenings (if you're not busy with family, enjoying the great dining/bar scene downtown or even slipping on the ice at the very nearby double ice skating rink). In short, it was homey, exceedingly clean and restful.

Special note: While the breakfast was pretty typical--make-your-own waffles, four cold cereal choices, breakfast burritos (!), yogurt, fruit, sausage, two kinds of eggs, bagels, etc.--this hotel adds two special daily treats for guests. There's a "happy hour" with snacks and wine or beer (one per adult) in late afternoon. In the evening, from 8 to 10 pm, there's milk and fresh cookies (the cookies are popular--grab a few for yourself early in the evening).

Rooms are typical hotel size for a Best Western. Rooms have a small refrigerator (a microwave is downstairs). The heating/cooling worked well. Walls were reasonably sound-proof (we could hear that the neighboring guests had left their bathroom fan running all night--white noise? Maybe, but we didn't need to hear it). Elevator wasn't especially quick but it was very clean. Maid service was excellent, even over the busy Christmas/New Year's holiday season.

We saw the exercise room (it's small) and the two pools but did not use them. We did see families using the pool, though; it was a treat, I'm sure, with the weather in the 20s outside. Yes, the pool is small (made smaller still by those required lifts which must now be installed in all public pools).

What was especially helpful at this hotel was the staff--especially Yazzi, who was on duty most evenings we were there. She was enthusiastic and personable, yet professional. She was also helpful--quickly arranging for extra hangers for us (all those heavy winter clothes, you know) as well as replacement of a burned out light in the bathroom. I'm not sure what she has planned for her future studies (she mentioned that she was a student), but I'm sure she's going far with her great attitude!

Parking is very close to the building, which has a couple of entrances. There's a tall overhang, allowing you to unload suitcases out of any wet weather and the hotel conveniently supplies a bucket with windshield cleaner and a squeegee to clean off the road grime from snow and mud.

Why mention a windshield squeegee? Because that's precisely the kind of thoughtfulness and attention to the little things that the Best Western Plus Northwest Lodge does so well.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms face toward a view looking at the hills as well as the buildings in downtown Boi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed one night while traveling. Friendly staff, nice hotel, very nice sitting area with fireplace (it was 16 outside) milk and cookies at 8pm. Bed was a little hard but still had a good night's sleep. Great breakfast with Scrambled eggs and sausage in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
296 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Rate & room overall was still fine , but some glaring housekeeping misses .. Checked in , got to room , found door was closed , but not latched - Both window locks were unlocked , and a washcloth hanging on the shower head ... On top of that , parking lot was basically a sheet of ice and rather that use ice melter on it , they posted signs that the lot was icy ... And.... The coffee maker in the room took around 30 minutes to brew a pot of coffee! I usually don't whine this much, but this deserves it..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rust-E-Junque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
7.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn At The Airport
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
7.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boise
6.8 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 57 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Northwest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Northwest Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Northwest Lodge
Address: 6989 S Federal Way, Boise, ID 83716-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boise
#8 Family Hotel in Boise
#8 Business Hotel in Boise
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Northwest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional accommodations and great rates at this Boise hotel near Boise State University, Boise Municipal Airport, Simplot Food Group and more.At the BEST WESTERN Northwest Lodge, we're committed to providing exceptional customer service, comfortable accommodations and affordable rates, which makes every stay at this hotel in Boise unforgettable. Each spacious guest room at this Boise Best Western comes complete with cable television and free high-speed Internet access. And for added comfort and convenience, we'll help you start each morning right with a complimentary full breakfast and relax each night with a complimentary evening reception featuring cookies and milk. Other value-added amenities at this hotel near Boise State University also include free Wi-Fi access, an indoor swimming pool, exercise facility, hot tub, business services, meeting conference facilities and a complimentary shuttle to the Boise Municipal Airport, located less than five miles away. This Boise Best Western is also pet-friendly.Leisure travelers will love being close to Simplot Soccer Complex, Idaho Ice World, Boise State University and the Boise Factory Outlet Mall, and business travelers will appreciate being close to downtown Boise, the State Capital Building and local businesses, including Micron Technology and Simplot Food Group. Gowen Field and Boise State University are also just a short drive away, which makes the BEST WESTERN Northwest Lodge perfect for visiting family and friends that are in the service or attending school.Whether you're visiting for business or leisure, the BEST WESTERN Northwest Lodge is the place to stay. Make your reservations today to save on an unforgettable Boise hotel experience. Our friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Northwest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Boise
Boise Best Western
Best Western Northwest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing