We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Not happily surprised. My family and I went to the Grove Hotel for a concert at the rose gardens. We decided to stay in the new suites that were supposed to be newly decorated... We asked for an executive suite. We got to our room and the door was chipping, we opened the door and found a very large dining table in a very small entry way. There were two queen beds and ripping furniture. The "suite" was a room with a dining table. Not impressed. The room was over priced and NOT remodeled. We were then moved to a terrace suite which was far better than the "suite" we were in before.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little_details
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 847 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently celebrated our 10th anniversary with an event in downtown boise. We chose to stay at The Grove, as we hadn't stayed there before. Upon check in, we were told that the suite we had reserved was unavailable, so we were placed in another room. They did quite a bit to make it right, which we really appreciated.

The location is great, with beautiful views from the 13th floor. We had an amazing breakfast at Emilio's before leaving the next morning. Everyone we encountered was very polite and professional, and will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroveLiane, Director of Sales at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

ZColby - Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at The Grove. It's nice to hear that you had a great experience at our hotel.

We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in town!

Happy Travels-
GroveLiane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Whatever charm the hotel exterior lacks is more than made up for by the clean and spacious rooms and fine interior, the excellent service, and the location. I attended a conference at the adjacent Boise Center, and during lunches and breaks it was easy to walk to the Capitol (with a great water-conservation demonstration garden) and the riverway. Staff were both friendly and helpful, parking was easy, and the hotel is, as other reviewers have noted, near some great pubs and restaurants (with an emphasis on Basque food, a rare treat). To top it off, when I called the hotel today to see if I could shift some of my charges from last week's stay to a different charge card (I neglected to take care of this at check-out), it took less than 5 minutes to re-do the bill. I haven't had such good service in quite a while, so I can't speak highly enough of the Grove Hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroveLiane, Director of Sales at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks so much for the awesome review MPark2013!
We are delighted that you had a great time in Boise and that we could help elevate the experience!

We look forward to your return-

All the Best!
GroveLiane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Hotel was with in walking distance to many restaurants, bars, and farmers market, we were only there for 1 day and didn't use any of the amenities, but the front desk staff was very friendly. Parking was secure and easy to get to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noah808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroveLiane, Director of Sales at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review The Grove Noah808! One day isn't long enough in Boise! We're glad you had a nice experience with us and hope you are back soon. Our restaurant is fantastic and the Grove Fitness Center and Spa is to die for, not another one like it!

Safe Travels-
GroveLiane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel has it all. Incredible service, food, amenities, and staff. I was in town for about 24 hours and thanks to a couple of suggestions by the staff I was able to see a few local restaurants, get a tour of the Steelheads arena, and really get a sense of the town.

As a side note - if you like to stay in shape while on the road - this is the place for you. They're gym is by far and away the best hotel gym I've ever seen since it doubles as I high-end members only gym.

Room Tip: Asking for a high floor will get you the best view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cahlgrim210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroveLiane, Director of Sales at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Cahlgrim 210, I couldn't have said it better myself! :)

Thanks so much for the review - it means a lot to the Grove Hotel team to be recognized for their efforts!
I hope you are able to spend more time with us the next time you are in town.

We appreciate your comments and are thrilled that we were able to make your stay in Boise a great one!

All the Best-
GroveLiane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip, and was impressed with the services and amenities the hotel had to offer. Only a short drive from the airport and in Downtown Boise, this hotel was close to lots of restaurants. There was a full service gym and spa on the fifth floor. The front desk staff and concierge were fantastic. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaniaR994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroveLiane, Director of Sales at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this review TaniaR!

We are thrilled you had an enjoyable stay with us!

Hurry back to Boise, we look forward to your visit.

Safe & Happy Travels!
GroveLiane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our first visit to Boise - and our first at the Grove. I must admit for once the photos on the internet fit the hotel. Everything was as presented. The rooms are clean, comfortable and pretty modern. The front desk staff, concierge and housekeeping staff was very helpful and friendly. We ended up doing room service the first night we came in and then breakfast a couple of days later . . . I totally recommend the kitchen! The food was delicious.

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown -- grant it, Boise isn't that large so you can walk the entire downtown and perimeter in less than 40 minutes. My husband and I agree that when we head back to Boise, the only place to stay is the Grove.

Room Tip: The restaurant is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroveLiane, Director of Sales at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

What a great review Seattle99! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback to us.

We are happy we were able to provide a memorable experience! It is our pleasure to ensure that your visit to Boise is great all the way around.

Looking forward to your return!

Warm Regards-
GroveLiane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
1.6 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
843 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at 500 Capitol
Inn at 500 Capitol
#5 of 58 in Boise
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 43
Hotel 43
#17 of 58 in Boise
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Modern Hotel and Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: 245 S Capitol Blvd, Boise, ID 83702-7220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range: $155 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grove Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located at the heart of downtown Boise, The Grove Hotel offers luxury, elegance, and exceptional customer service at surprisingly affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel Boise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing