We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here recently for 3 nights. It was a very good standard clean hotel in a good location for exploring Boise on foot, or by car. The desk staff were very helpful with local knowledge etc.

The breakfast service was good with a reasonable menu.

The room was large and had everything you need to a high standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizzly147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    194
    76
    29
    23
See reviews for
89
148
29
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was very surprised when I entered my room and a bottle of wine was waiting for me. This Hotel was a nice hotel with great service. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I would stay here again. Walking distance from many restaurants in Boise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

For the money...stay somewhere else. My two benchmarks are the bathroom and the TV. Our bathroom had an old shower curtain rod, rusty, empty, hanging directly in front of the current shower curtain (????) it was an homage to a previous incarnation of the shower. Why else would you leave it after you install a new curtain rod system? The TV was small. Maybe first generation flat screen? The Grove used to be THE place to stay in downtown Boise. Now there are much better choices. Skip this place until they upgrade the rooms. The front desk was very pleasant and the staff were all very kind and courteous. The only reason I would stay at the Grove is if you we're attending a sporting event in the arena or going to a conference at the convention center, even then I'd look around for an alternative.

Room Tip: Ask if any of the rooms have been recently renovated if you get the chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPuget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
197 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed at the Grove for 5 nights while attending a conference held at the hotel. The hotel was a perfect base for exploring Boise. The lobby is inviting and has a nice sitting area and bar. We ended each conference day sitting in the bar having a drink in the comfortable surroundings. My room was large and comfortable and had a great view over the city.

The location in downtown Boise cannot be beat. There are literally dozens of restaurants within a 5 minute walk. I must also say that this was my first trip to Boise and what a beautiful city. It is extremely walkable. It is safe, clean, and friendly. Could be the nicest downtown area I have ever seen.

If you are visiting Boise you cannot go wrong with the Grove Hotel. Nice public areas, large clean rooms, and a perfect location. Staff was also very friendly and professional. I had a great experience at the Grove and with Boise. I will return to both.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKPROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The location of the Grove Hotel is perfect. Within walking distance of the downtown Boise restaurants/shopping and entertainment. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby was welcoming with a bar and piano player. The rooms were nice. The beds were comfortable. I felt like the rooms could be cleaned a bit more thorough. Our room had a red stain on the carpet. At a hotel like this, I would have expected a stain like that to have been addressed before occupying the room with guests. Constructive criticisms I could offer to the Grove Hotel would be to allow the guest to control the climate in the room. Our stay was in March when Boise is still mild. We were so warm in our room. There was a thermostat in the room, but you couldn't get the temperature to go below a certain level which was very frustrating. My second constructive criticism would be to rennovate the parking garage. The parking garage under the Grove Hotel is very tiny. I hated parking down there and honestly even in a compact size rental car it was hard to maneuver around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoGlamourGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here when going to visit my brother who was playing against the Idaho Steelheads over the weekend. He got us booked in under the team rate, which was less than half the price of the regular rates on the hotel website - so our expectations may not have been as high as others paying full price may have had. We had a king room, which was very comfortable, with a large bathroom. The only downfall was that our room seemed to be missing a fridge - other rooms had them and we could see where one had been at one time. The fitness facility here was great, the only thing to be aware of is that it also seems to be a public gym, so it can only be accessed by a specific elevator. It was still free for all hotel guests and there is a lap pool and hot tub. The location of the hotel is fantastic, right downtown so there are tons of restaurants and bars nearby, we really didn't have to drive anywhere other than to go shopping at the malls. Parking was reasonably priced for downtown at $10, but it is a very small underground garage. We didn't have issues parking but it may have been an issue if we were arriving during an event at the attached CenturyLink Arena. The hotel also had free wifi which we had access to in the arena as well - which was great for us because being from Canada we had to shut off our data packages to avoid ridiculous cell phone charges.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keldo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed ay the Grove for three nights on a recent business trip. I was fortunate to get upgraded to a suite, and it was sweet. The staff, around the clock, were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to offer assistance. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom well appointed. Used room service one night and totally impressed with the quality of the food.
The only con I can think of is having to pay for parking.

Room Tip: The fourth floor suites have a very large walk out patio where you can view the city or enjoy the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janfrommichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.5 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 57 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 57 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 43
Hotel 43
#22 of 57 in Boise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
4.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: 245 S. Capitol Blvd, Boise, ID 83702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grove Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located at the heart of downtown Boise, The Grove Hotel offers luxury, elegance, and exceptional customer service at surprisingly affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel Boise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing