We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, comfortable, and centrally located. All you need.”
Review of Hotel 43

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 43
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This was the penultimate hotel on a 28-day, 7000-mile road trip that took my family across the southwest, through the midwest, across the rockies, and down the west coast. We stayed at everything from Holiday Inns to Four Seasons. This easily could have been the worst hotel just by virtue of the fact that we were all tired and ready to get home. I'm happy to report that Hotel 43 was one, if not the best hotels of our trip.

You can tell by looking at the map that the hotel is centrally located. It's an easy walk to any number of downtown Boise destinations.

The staff at Hotel 43 was great, particularly the valet staff. Not much else to say - everyone was friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. That's really all anyone can ask for.

The rooms were small but very comfortable. The bed was perhaps the best of all the hotels we stayed in on the trip. Everything was clean, solid, and well-maintained. My only niggle was that I wished they had suites (king bed with pull-out sofa) available rather than just double-queen rooms.

I am not a fan of big hotel chains and am happy to pay extra to stay at smaller, locally-owned (when possible) boutique restaurants. Hotel 43 is my idea of that kind of hotel, but at a very reasonable price. If I'm ever back in Boise, I'll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayonFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 306 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

I had to stay in Boise on business for one night so I choose to stay at the Hotel 43. All in all I thought this was a very nice hotel in a nice location. I would definately stay here again.

POSITIVES:

Room: Modern and hip. Spotless. Beatutifully decorated with large pictures presumably of buildings in the area. Nice designer headrest and sconces. Nice furniture.

Bed: I loved this bed, It had nice linens and a huge (and heavy) down comforter, with lots of pillows to choose from. A good night's sleep is so important when traveling and it would be almost impossible not to have a good night sleep in this bed.

Bathroom: Small but nicely appointed with nice sink and granite countertops. The shower provided good but not great water pressure but was adequate for a long hot shower.

Free Internet: This is 2011 and my biggest pet peeve is that wireless Internet should be free somewhere in your hotel. Well at Hotel 43 it was -- in the lobby as well as in your room.

The front desk staff: Incredibly friendly and helpful.

Location: Excellent location within walking distance of many nice restaurants and bars. Also within walking distance of the Capitol and (with a little longer walk) the Courthouse.

NEUTRALS/NEGATIVES:

View: my view was nothing impressive.

Elevator: Often very slow to arrive but probably because the Hotel was busy but, then again, there are only two elevators for the entire hotel.

Lobby: Small and crowded during check-in. Wasn't many places to sit around and hand out if that was your inclination.

SUMMARY: I would highly recommend this hotel. Its staff was friendly, its rooms were clean, modern and beautifully decorated. The bed was awesome and internet was free. If ever in Boise again I would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thekld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Had the opportunity to stay here during a conference. Great location in the downtown area. Easy walking distance to many restaurants, bars, Saturday market, etc. Very friendly staff, nice retro vibe. King room was spacious and exceptionally clean. Bed was comfortable, but the towels were a little coarse. We didn't eat in the restaurant. Had a drink in the lounge, though. Very nice. Can't speak to the rates, as they were reduced for the conference. However, I would enjoy staying here again and would be glad to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcollision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary here. I booked one of the Capitol rooms but when we checked in we were told it was not available and that they had upgraded us to a suite. Can't beat that. The staff was very friendly upon check in and the hotel itself was quiet and relaxing. Some more recent reviews commented on the lack of in room coffee. Our room was equiped with a nice Krups coffee maker and coffee. We definately enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rykelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Nice place, met all expectations. Clean and friendly, great locatioin.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank footballtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Stayed there one night last month, passing through on the way up to Montana. Nice location right down town. Reserved a capitol level room with a king bed for $139. That might be expensive for Boise, but compared to San Francisco it's a steal. Room had a separate living area with comfy sofa with lounger, flatscreen TV, wetbar with fridge, and huge jacuzi tub. Bed was so comfortable, and room was very quiet. Was ideal after a long day on the road. Restaurant next door was fantastic - I will review it separately. Only negative thing was fitness area was extremely small.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFtraveler1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Helpful and friendly. Front desk staff, housekeeping, parking crew and cafe servers all added that welcoming and comfortable touch to my stay. Room was attractive, bed nicely done and decor just cool enough to make the stay a bit more fun than we thought we would find in Idaho. The real plus: genuine care from the staff. Wow! Look forward to a future stay. What a wonderful experience to be sincerely treated with kindness and consideration. All that and a swell TV and great coffee maker in the roon. Score!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatSkyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at 500 Capitol
Inn at 500 Capitol
#1 of 58 in Boise
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Modern Hotel and Bar
4 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 43

Address: 981 W Grove St, Boise, ID 83702-7036
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boise
#12 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range: $188 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 43 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 43 conveniently located in the heart of downtown Boise is perfect for the business and leisure traveler. Each of our 112 guestrooms feature upscale furnishings and amenities reflecting our dedication to superior service and facilities. The hotel features panoramic views of downtown Boise and the Boise valley. Complimentary airport shuttle service is available for our guests convenience.Step outside our door and you are surrounded by beautiful Downtown Boise. Enjoy a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance such as PF Changs. Walk to the BoDo District/ the newest entertainment and shopping area downtown. Along the way you will find many delightful boutiques/ gift shops/ salons/ day spas/ jewelry stores/ art galleries and the State Capitol to explore. Visit the popular cultural attractions including the popular Basque District and Grove Street Illuminated public art display. Entertainment is abundant with the Egyptian, Edwards and Flicks theaters/ the Quest Arena and the Knitting Factory Concert House. Take a relaxing stroll on the Boise River Green Belt and visit several city parks or the one of a kind Anne Frank Human Rights Memorial. Business travelers will appreciate the convenient location to the Boise Convention Centre/ corporate headquarters and banking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 43 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
43 Hotel Boise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing