We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room smelled like smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“room smelled like smoke”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Everything was great about the room, except we were in a non-smoking room that smelled of smoke. Reported it to front desk who put a ionized (?) in room to take the smoke out, but it didn't work. Once someone smokes in a room, it is hard to get the smell out. No one followed up with us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We apologize that the room you received smelled of smoke. While we are a 100% non-smoking hotel, unfortunately some guests choose not to follow that rule. We do everything possible to make the room fresh and clean for your guests. Thank you for your feedback.
Kelly Parziale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    137
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
239
141
33
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The room was gigantic for the price. I have stayed in smaller suites. Everything was clean and I have no complaints whatsoever. It is even within walking distance to several restaurants and a movie theater.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and wrote a nice review. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us.

Kelly Parziale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I got food poisoning about 200 miles from this hotel on my way in. Obviously it was not a fun drive. We spent an extra night here before moving on with our road trip so I could recuperate. As soon as I hit the bed I felt better. Everything was comfortable and clean. The free breakfast was good. I will stay there next year when I'm back in the area. The big Movie Theater next door was nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello, I remember speaking with your wife about your illness. I'm so pleased that you were able to rest and recover while with us. Thanks for writing a nice review about us. We hope to see you again, when you are feeling 100%.
Kelly Parziale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We didn't arrive until 2am and we appreciated when the front desk gave us a late check out to finish our laundry. The rooms, hallways and lobby/dining areas were either new or well maintained. The hotel is very close to a Costco as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iownit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I am very pleased that my staff took care of your needs by extending your check out time. We strive to accommodate all your needs. Thanks for your remarks and kind words about your stay, we hope you return again soon.
Kelly Parziale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover, WI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I am a HH Diamond member and stay in a variety of HIlton properties several times a year. This was my first stay at this property. I normally stay at the Hilton Garden Inn across the street but decided to give this property a try. I arrived at 11:30 a.m. The gentleman at the front desk politely informed me that my room wasn't ready (very understandable) and that I was welcome to use the Business Center. They provided me with an access code for Internet and said they would let me know as soon as my room was ready. Within an hour the clerk delivered my rooms keys to me saying the room was ready. They obviously gave me some priority knowing I was waiting to check in which was much appreciated.

I had a room with a balcony. Room itself was clean and comfortable. It was nice to be able to go out on the balcony for some air. Room well soundproofed.

The breakfast was excellent. Scrambled eggs with ham, bacon, and the usual assortment of cereal, bread, juices, and coffee.

The Spectrum area has several restaurants walking distance from the hotel.

I will definately return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
First, thank you for your loyalty to Hilton and for giving our property a try! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you also, for the nice review and kind words about our staff. I hope that we have converted you to our "side of the street". We welcome your return visit!
Kelly Parziale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lobby was nicely decorated and looked clean. Saw motorcycles parked overnight, which made us feel that our SUV was safe while we stayed at the hotel. Really comfortable beds, lots of room, very restful after driving for 9 hours. Room was nicely decorated and clean. Other than some car traffic, the hotel itself was quiet and peaceful. Food selection at breakfast was reasonable and healthy. Wish we had time to stay another night and swim in the pool and soak in the hot tub, it looked inviting, too. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We would love to have you back again with us real soon. Thanks for the response and feedback. We're so glad that you enjoyed all of our ammenties.

Kelly Parziale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. collins, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hampton Inn's are always very nice and roomy. It was the case this time, however the downgrade to paper cups was disappointing. They can only be used once as the seam starts to leak. The table on the balcony had dried food on it. The bed and the bedding was fabulous and we slept well. The room got very cold, and we were very comfortable. Breakfast was good and substantial. We would stay again. Enough restaurants around facility to keep everyone happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your response about your stay. I certainly apologize for your room not being cleaned to our typical high standards, the tables outside should be as clean as the inside. As for the papercups, that is a Hampton brand requirement, they are bio-degradable and eco-friendly. We appreicate your feedback and loyalty to Hampton Inns and value your business.

Kelly Parziale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
0.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boise
3.0 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 57 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 57 in Boise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum
Address: 7499 W Overland Rd, Boise, ID 83709-1653 (Formerly Ameritel Inn Boise Spectrum)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boise
#5 Family Hotel in Boise
#5 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum Hotel Boise
Hampton Inn And Suites Boise Spectrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing