We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you like fish you have to eat here”
Review of Fresh Off the Hook

Fresh Off the Hook
Ranked #118 of 797 Restaurants in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Nampa, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“if you like fish you have to eat here”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This restaurant was voted the best Seafood restaurant for the past 7 years. There fish and Chips are outstanding whether you have the Alaskan Cod, Jumbo shrimp, Halibut, Salmon or Clam strips. They serve some of the best seafood sandwiches plus many Specialties, Great service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrBill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    42
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice fresh seafood, not a great value”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Milwaukee location for lunch and had fish tacos. They were very good, but we thought it was a little high for a "fast food" environment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GenieBIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good and reasonably priced lunch”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The restaurant is near the Idaho capitol and the museums. The food is great and price is good. The wait staff is very pleasant and friendly. I ordered the 2 crab muffins and realized that just one is enough. My husband had the seafood fetuccini and told me that it was dlish. I think this place is a good stop/rest while browing around the downtown area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmystique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best coconut shrimp in town!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants in town. The seafood is delivered fresh daily and cooked to order. Best coconut shrimp and shrimp tomato bisque in town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Idaholovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Get some clams and the Ahi”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Confession..I LOVE good, fresh seared Ahi. Is there anything better? It melts in your mouth. If its good and if its fresh. You'll get both at Fresh Off the Hook. The surroundings/decorations are more for a family than a romantic night out on the town. Start with a bowl of Manila steamer (clams). They were tasty and we gobbled them up quickly. Kind of funky but great food...specifically the fish and I'm a fish snob. It doesn't taste fishy...and that's the point...looking for some good seafood, reasonably priced? Fresh off the Hook- good bet.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainPuget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fresh Off the Hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing