We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for all ages!”

Idaho Historical Museum
Ranked #34 of 124 things to do in Boise
Attraction details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We came for an afternoon visit on a Saturday. As a kid I loved this museum for the saloon area, and the two headed calf--it's still there! The old familiar exhibits looked better than ever and the new "Essential Idaho" exhibit was really interesting. What a great way to spend an hour or two!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Learned a lot!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I knew Boise and Idaho had a colorful past, but this trip was awesome. We will visit again during the week when school is still in session.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Essential for Idahoans and visitors alike”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you want to learn about the history of Idaho and its cultural diversity, this is the place. Well-designed exhibits take you from prehistoric times to the present.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very small museum, however lots of great Idaho historical information inside. Some of the exhibits looked a little dated, but presented information nonetheless.

I was not completely blown away by the museum, however I did feel that it was worth visiting.

Plus side is its located in the park, which makes for a gorgeous walk afterwards.

Nice gift shop as well.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloeebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
589 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Nice small museum”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nothing to shout about but it meets the needs for Idaho's history. Attractive displays, good information. Right in the park so you can make a day of it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Idaho Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Idaho Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing