We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Museum comes to life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Idaho Historical Museum

Idaho Historical Museum
Ranked #37 of 124 things to do in Boise
Attraction details
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Museum comes to life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This the way a museum should feature itself. It has great displays that are always available but for this event there were period costume individual who was acting as if they were in their time frame. You could ask questions as you were talking to someone from a time gone by. There is no way that history is boring when you can see it right before your eyes. Not big moments in history but day-to-day history as it would have been lived.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LarryG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
277 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A Tribute to Idaho's Past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stopped by this museum on a Sunday after visiting Zoo Boise as it was nearby, but we found out it was closed on Sundays. It was also closed the next day, as it was a Columbus Day. Tuesday we were flying home but got there right as it opened on our way to the airport. Another problem we had as we were leaving we wanedt to tour the pioneer cabin area but it was still locked because the key wouldn’t work and they requested a new lock be installed which the staff thought would be done later in the afternoon. That was frustrating since we were unable to return.

The museum is conveniently located in downtown Boise, admission prices are fair and there is free parking. Once we were able to visit the museum we certainly enjoyed it. It is full of Idaho history captured in pictures, facts, stories and authentic period artifacts. We especially enjoyed the large Lewis and Clark expedition exhibit. It really was a tribute to those pioneers and makes one appreciate all we have today. There were even exhibits on the Basque and Chinese contributions to Idaho history. The period reproductions were very authentic. It was a traditional museum which was a nice change from our face paced electronic world. This is a definite must see when visiting Boise if you appreciate pioneer history.

I would have given this attraction five stars had it not been for it being closed on Sundays and the key/lock mishap.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really three and a half stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nicely done museum on two floors. Definitely learned a thing or two about Idaho. Lots of reading. Saw a two-headed calf, which I was informed by the staff is a common thing on farms? Really? In any event, I enjoyed my visit. Recommend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All visitors should spend time here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were so happy we decided to visit this museum, but wished we had allowed more time. There is a lot to see and the exhibits are very well done. We particularly enjoyed the room reproductions of times past. We felt these were done on par with exhibits you would see at the Smithsonian museums in Washington, D.C. This is definitely a good stop for visitors. Be sure to give yourself a couple of hours so you're not rushed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dottie204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Unsophisticated museum, but effective”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

In these days of museums with lots of electronic, interactive elements the Idaho Historical Museum seems fairly dated, but after my visit I found that I had learned a lot about the history of Idaho. Highlights of the museum are the examples of recreated historic rooms and a public bar, and just outside the museum examples of houses from Idaho's past. Also worth seeing is the 2-headed calf (in the bar)!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fascinatingrhythm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Idaho Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing