We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice relax place and great wine and food, the owners are so nice!!”
Review of Le Coq Rouge - CLOSED

Le Coq Rouge
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
1 review
“Very nice relax place and great wine and food, the owners are so nice!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I love this place keep coming back there wine is so good, there food is fantastic, and the owners and co workers are so nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    11
    2
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best French Restaurant”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Le Coq Rouge clearly has the best French cuisine anywhere in the Boise area. It is owned and operated by a husband and wife team. The husband and his co-chef are actually French and both are classically trained chefs.

All the food is FRESH and of the highest quality. And the recipies are truly outstanding. The prices are, of course, above average but not out of line by any strecth of the imagination. Figure $50.00 per person without beverages.

EXCEPTIONAL in every way.

Jim & Pamela

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant, great food”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

This small restaurant was a happy surprise! The waiters were kind, helpful, and more than accommodating. Although not a necessarily a place I would take small children, we did take one at 6p.m. They put us at a nice corner table, brought us a seat of their own, the singer (excellent) even gave her a small doll, while she ate her weight in French bread. I had the Dover sole, my daughter, the duck. Both excellent!! A special place, glad we tried it. I would definitely go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Evening in Boise”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

What a fortunate choice we made in selecting Le Coq Rouge as our dinner spot in a recent trip through Boise. It was close to our hotel and since we had just returned from France, thought a French restaurant would be reminiscent of that trip. We were first enchanted by the decor and then by our welcome which was warm but in no way pretentious. The food was absolute perfection....better than anything we had in France. The service by our charming French waiter was just right. In addition to all this, we were surprised and pleased to enjoy live music (and on a weeknight). No sooner had we sat down than the musician began singing every song we ever loved. We were the last couple out the door that night after a magical evening. We never expected the high point of our whole trip would happen in Boise. We were under a lucky star when we happened onto Le Coq Rouge. Linda from Arizona

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“French atmosphere”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Go and plan to stay for a while. This is the kind of place where you sit down and the table is your for the rest of the night, if you want it. The entertainment is good, not intrusive, quiet enough to talk or listen or just eat.
The food is good, loved the scallops appetizer. Amazing. The wine was fantastic but expensive. I love the atmosphere, the French waiter, the odd decorations.
I had the curry dish and it was way too curried for me, I like hot and spicy food but this was not subtle in flavor at all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Coq Rouge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing