We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place!!! Can't wait to go back!!!!!”
Review of Boise Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boise Guest House
Ranked #1 of 12 Boise B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain Home, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place!!! Can't wait to go back!!!!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We live nearby and we were looking for a place away from home to stay for the night. We were celebrating our anniversary and just happened upon the Boise Guest House. We loved everything about it! The location, the view, the environment in the room, the decor, etc, etc. We decided we wanted a place just like it when we are kid free and retired! The breakfast that was an additional cost was money well spent. It came from a little French bistro down the road and was divine! Even the orange juice was fresh squeezed! Highly recommend ANYONE staying here....just make sure it doesn't get so busy that we can't book it again! ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eve-Marie B, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Wow, Toni! Thank you for your kind glowing review! Lucky for us that you live in the area and can easily take a staycation! Just so you know, we have expanded our breakfast and have decided to deliver our fancy specials on breakfast trays.... just one more way we can spread the luv! Hope to see you soon again at BGH.
Cheers,
Eve-Marie
Owner, Boise Guest house
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    15
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
82
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the "Attic". We enjoyed it and Boise so much we considered staying another day. The Inn has character, good furnishings and decoration and lets you feel at home. We just finished a 7,500 mile roadtrip and I don't hesitate writing that this Inn was number 2 on our trip (another in Indiana was a scosh better).
Highly recommended for comfort, cleanliness, location and value. We'll be back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cmndrpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eve-Marie B, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
THANK YOU for your generous review of the Boise Guest House this past summer... just curious if you would send us the email for the BEST inn on your 7,500 mile journey so we can improve just that much more? Very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will have several improvements & new art for your return!
Best,
Eve-Marie
Owner, Boise Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Thank you Eve for the perfect balance of comfort, class & style! We used to live in Boise and didn't want to stay in just any hotel downtown. We wanted to feel home, even though we didn't live here anymore. Boise Guest house was exactly what we were looking for and more. From the kitchen to the bedroom to the back patio, we felt spoiled. Not a beat is skipped on what you might need or want at the Boise Guest House. Thank you again, we have told everyone and anyone we know who is passing through to stay here. It is just such a pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: If you are going to be in town for several day to a week we stayed in the Travel Suite and would hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eve-Marie B, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! We so appreciate your word of mouth recommendations as well as a thoughtful review online at Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again soon at the Boise Guest House!
Best,
Eve-Marie
Owner, Boise Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

It really was perfect. We got there and ran into the owner and she was just wonderful. We rented the bikes which were perfect for getting around Boise. The room was well decorated and full of anything you might need. The back patio was nice and quiet and very secluded. I know I am going to stay there for future Boise visits. Thank you Boise Guest House.

Room Tip: Choose Boise Guest House. The location is the perfect place in Boise for a fraction of all the down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beau B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eve-Marie B, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so glad you decided to rent bikes. Next summer, we plan to have a TANDEM for your city enjoyment! We hope you will decide to return next summer (or before then!)
Best,
Eve-Marie
Owner, Boise Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was blown away with the adorable Boise Guest House. We were in Suite 1 which we entered from the front porch. There is plenty of free parking and we felt we were in a safe place. Our room was immaculately clean, quiet, comfortable, and had everything possible that a traveler could need from a coffee pot, stove, refrigerator, internet. It was all there. We loved the unique way that the rooms are decorated. You can definitely tell that the owner has a special flair for decorating both the inside and the grounds. A very special plus for us was the owner offered us use of the laundry facilities which was greatly appreciated. We enjoyed chatting with the other guests there on the big front porch and also on the back deck. Just sitting in the beautiful back yard, listing to the trickling water fountain, admiring all of the gorgeous flowers was so peaceful and relaxing after a long day of traveling. Boise Guest House is located only a few blocks from several nice restaurants and the capitol building. After we checked out, we were able to stay parked at the house and we walked to visit one of the most beautiful capitol buildings in the US. The grounds there are as lovely and the building itself. The next day after our stay here, I realized that I had left my camera battery and charger in our room. I called back and the owner graciously found it and sent it overnight to our next destination. What a life safer that was. We would definitely recommend to anyone traveling in Boise to stay here for pleasant and unique experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bstrjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastpotato, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
THANK YOU for your glowing review! We are so appreciative of guests like yourselves that enjoy our small details. We hope that you can return and see all the continued effort we are putting into the Boise Guest House this winter! We strive to constantly surprise and improve your experience!
Cheers,
Eve-Marie Bergren, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The BGH is a lovely and unique property. I stayed in the Safari room, which was artistic, colorful and comfortable. It was a pleasure to watch the Olympics on the television, which was of good quality.

I had the occasion to stay in Boise a week later and the BGH was booked, so I stayed at the Hampton Inn downtown, and I must confess that, as a single female traveler, I preferred the Hampton. Here's why:

At no time did I have any actual human contact at the BGH. I have no doubt that if I had needed anything, it would have been a simple matter to reach the proprietor...there was just no need. The check-in/check-out process is such that it's a DIY situation.

My contacts at the Hampton were simple - conversations with the friendly hotel staff and with other travelers in the elevators and at breakfast - just enough.

Also, I considered walking to the downtown movie theater from the BGH but the neighborhood was so quiet and semi-deserted that I felt too uncomfortable to do so at night. I'm sure that the area can be bustling at times, but on that Saturday night there were very few people around.

At the Hampton, I was able to walk to street fairs, shops and restaurants on streets that were well-populated.

Again, the BHG is a wonderful place and I hope to return with husband or friend. But if I travel again solo, it will be the Hampton.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastpotato, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your honest review of our property. It is true, we are several blocks from the "action" which keeps our accommodation nice and quiet, but it can be a little daunting to walk by yourself at night. While Boise is incredibly safe, I do understand your concerns. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we certainly hope you will return with a partner to explore the city from our steps! Cheers, Eve-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were able to do our laundry at The Boise Guest House; detergent, washer, and dryer were provided; helped not to have to take dirty clothes home as this was our last stop on a nine-day vacation to Yellowstone National Park with two grandsons and then the trip to Boise to visit their aunt and our daughter. The Boise Guest House had a large kitchen, tv/livingroom, two bedrooms: one with two twin beds and the other with a queen bed; and a bathroom; all decorated perfectly and very clean. Their was the cutest pocket backyard garden with tables and chairs. We will definitely come back here the next time we travel to Boise. Pat Lane

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastpotato, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi Pat! We appreciate your wonderful review. I am glad to hear the 2BR suite worked out nicely for your trip with your grandchildren, and that you were able to take advantage of the yard and the laundry room. We hope you will be back to Boise soon! Thanks again, Eve-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
746 reviews
0.8 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at 500 Capitol
Inn at 500 Capitol
#9 of 58 in Boise
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boise Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boise Guest House

Property: Boise Guest House
Address: 614 N 5th St, Boise, ID 83702-4543
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boise Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boise Guest House offers boutique lodging in a convenient downtown location. Book directly with us for the best rates and support a small local business. Our six fully furnished suites are artistically decorated and feature private bathrooms and appointed kitchens. Choose from three studios, a 1 bedroom with a balcony view and a two 2 bedrooms suites for families. Inquire directly for entire facility rentals for retreats and groups. Amenities include wireless internet, cable TV and Roku streaming media boxes, free parking, free coffee laundry facility, beautiful backyard with barbecue, fountain and seating. Please note we have a self-check in process that will be released via email at the time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Boise Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing