We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We can't get enough of this place!”
Review of Barbacoa

Barbacoa
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbacoa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 793 Restaurants in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We can't get enough of this place!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have been to Barbacoa many times and every visit has been excellent! The atmosphere is amazing with interesting art pieces, great service, delicious food and tasty beverages! On top of all of this they have a great happy hour! I always recommend this place to friends and family and have yet to hear a negative review from any of them. Without a doubt this is my favorite restaurant in town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachseeker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    161
    64
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
idaho
Level Contributor
435 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Sherry was the best server....”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We love Barbaco, and the wait staff is fabulous. From the wonderful MARK , to the owners son, Demitruis (hope that was the way to spell)...The martinis are out of this world, but the food...the plain old chips and salsa are the best. We decided to try a melting cheesy, carnitas, nacho plate..I was looking for gooey cheese, and it was cold..after sending it back to warm up, it was not too burnt to have gooey cheese . Oh, well, we dedided to try the wonderful dessert..apples in a pastry with ice cream..the pastry wasn't cook and was a ball of goo..i mean darn, if it was cooked, it would have been great, nice crust to go with the ice cream. So disappointed..no more food here, but we will be back for the happy hour drinks..and great servers like Sherry.
She was very nice, very attentive, and we really liked her..Thanks, Sherry...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eclectic Menu - Beautiful Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Lovely restaurant with fantastic and attentive staff. The menu is quite eclectic this includes the drink menu.

I have been to Barbacoa a few times. Once for drinks and appetizers and the other times I took out of town guests. The experience was enjoyable and everyone enjoyed their meal. I judge a good restaurant when former house guests ask if we've been back to Barbacoa.

The one big suggestion is the handmade guacamole that is freshly prepared at your table. It is scrumptious and you won't be disappointed. Heck, nothing at Barbacoa is disappointing.

Consider one of their hot rock steaks. The steak is grilled, however, it is not completely cooked. The additional cooking takes places on rocks heated to some ungodly temperature but the steak finishes cooking and is fantastic.

The desserts are excellent and are sometimes just too pretty to eat!

All in all I recommend Barbacoa not only for the food and drinks but also for the ambiance & great services. Everyone goes the extra mile for you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingdiva04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
238 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best resturant in Boise”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My brother has been raving about this place for a while now so when I had to go to Boise on business we took my dad for his birthday. The guacamole was the best I have ever had and I love it made fresh at the table. The small tacos were to die for and had a lot of interesting flavors and meats. I would highly recommend going here to anyone who likes great food and great art. The atmosphere was really cool and interesting. I was thrown though trying to figure out which was the men's bathroom.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parisryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensville, Missouri
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Terrific happy hour”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Went with a group after work. Great two for one martini's; including premium gins (Hendricks, etc.). Tasty guacamole prepared tableside. Busy and noisy, but not too loud to carry on a conversation. Will try the restaurant next trip

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank techdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbacoa also viewed

 

Been to Barbacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing