We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to eat and have an adult beverage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbacoa

Barbacoa
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbacoa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 784 Restaurants in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
331 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A great place to eat and have an adult beverage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This restaurant has the best atmosphere for a night out. From the moment you walk in you know you picked the right place to eat and have a good time. The servers wer excellent. We started with an appetizer .Chips and avocado dip made at your table. We all had differ meals my was a steak served on a HOT rock which was great. My wife had prawns and they were delicious. One other person at the table had duck and he said it was prepared well and tasted great. We all had deserts that we all sampled. Bottom line I'd Don't miss this dinning experience..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrBill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    156
    60
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner and didn't disappoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had been wanting to try this place for some time after a friend recommended it. The atmosphere, service, scenery. and food were all great. The price is steep, but it was completely worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LJH-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Up Scale With Excellent Food and Great Cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Excellent Menu, Strip Steak was tops and the service was as good as it gets anywhere I have traveled. Salads are unique and the ambiance is exceptional. Very good food and excellent service in a wonderful setting.

Architecture of building and finish is very special from my perspective.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in the gem state”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you live in or are visiting Boise, you must visit Barbacoa for drinks or a meal. This is a venue with class, style and something unique to offer you. From the roof top bar to the wine tunnel to the open patio, or the bar and dining room. The atmosphere is edgy and fun. For your first time, try going at happy hour to get a feel for the place. My only complaint is the service. A bevy of young ladies encircle a podium when you arrive but seem reluctant to greet or assist. Our waitress either had too many tables or just was not all that interested in providing service and everytime I have been in, the ladies room is out of toilet paper. For a top notch restaurant, none of these situations should occur, in my opinion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique Filet Minon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I usually don't like Filet, not enough marbling, but the "Hot Rock" method was awesome and the only down side to the meal was too much food. Service was good and the only reason I didn't rate it excellent was the table we had. It was on the lake and it was cold although they gave us lap blankets but the table was right next to a bar, which was hosting a bachelorette party (very loud).

Would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbacoa also viewed

 

Been to Barbacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing