We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem of a Cafe”
Review of The Riverside Cafe

The Riverside Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Tweedmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Definitely recommend this Cafe. I had the special of mince, tatties, cabbage and peas - delicious! My family had soup, paninis, portion of chips and scampi and chips. Each plate was presented beautifully and the chips were homemade.
Next was pudding. A slab of mars bar cake and tray bake of Kinder Bueno. All were delicious and additional cakes were purchased to take home.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank YSA1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited this busy little cafe regularly and never been disappointed.
You receive a warm welcome from Sharon and her staff, service is first class.
The breakfast is particularly good but we have had very good lunches there too.
I would recommend the breaded haddock and the Sunday lunch is the best. Good portions, nicely cooked and well presented.
The cafe is busy and often full but not to worry, you are offered a seat at the counter and allocated the first available table.
I can’t write this review without mentioning the scones, cakes and tray bakes, wow!
Great value for money with very reasonable prices.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank NewcastleNes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

Came across the Riverside Cafe today when crossing over the old bridge into Tweedmouth.

We were looking out along the river front for eateries but nothing was noticeable.

When we ventured further afield into the town we found this little quaint cafe called the Riverside Cafe.

Sadly it was not as the title states as you dont get a view of the river and its not on the riverside its set back between houses and you end up looking straight out at a garage and spar supermarket.

Once inside lots of tables but mostly reserved for the regulars not us tourists but we managed to get a table which was a relief.

The prices were extremely reasonable, the quality's of the food was lovely including a large selection of gorgeous cakes.

The let down started once we noticed one of the regulars bringing their dog in and it was not a guide dog as the people were not physically or noticeably disabled so it is presumably the norm to bring your animals in and let pet pander woft through the air when your dog shakes.

Their is no facilities to pay for your food by card as they only accept CASH ONLY ! which again you would think in the year 2019 this establishment would purchase a card payment system.

In conclusion its a real lovely cafe but its obviously catered and aimed for the locals. I would advise stop with all the reserving of tables as it looks like favouritism to the locals, stop the animals and buy a card payment system but again just my own opinion and constructive critique.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank MrGee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

Had a very pleasant morning and a superb breakfast. We sat inside and took in our you dog who was made to feel very welcome even he had a drink served at the table. Service and the quality of the freshly cooked food was outstanding. Highly recommended

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank PCk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

Hubby had a lunchtime appointment so thought I would treat him to a cooked breakfast. We opted for the small one as thought it would be enough. we weren't wrong!!. We had 2 sausages (as neither of us wanted beans), a rasher of bacon, a fried egg and a hash brown. Price also included 2 slices of toast each and a cuppa. It was beautiful and really filling and for the total price of 9.50 a real nice surprise. Staff are friendly and helpful. They also have a takeaway service and lovely selection of home made cakes and scones. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank harvess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Cafe also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Riverside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing