We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern comfort food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mary's Southern Grill

Mary's Southern Grill
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Young Harris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Southern comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Decided to go here at the recommendation of a thrift store employee nearby. Real homey feel. Folks are very nice. Service isn't what I call "speedy" but it wasn't slow and the place was very popular. I had the BBQ pulled pork sandwhich which came with homemade chips and homemade slaw. The pork was very good. The homemade chips were excellent. Not too crunch but firm. The slaw was tasty. Wife had local blackened trout, collard greens, broccoli salad. She said the trout was very good. The collard greens were excellent. They had what we decided was a "dark" flavor. We asked what was so different about them. Our waitress asked the cook and we discovered it was made with chicken stock. Wife said her broccoli salad was excellent. Sweet tea was not the best I've ever had but very close. Prices were average for the area. Not too high. Overall we liked the place. You could tell it was popular and the staff called many of the folks eating there by name. Go here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SomedayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    81
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You Need Mary's on Your Bucket List”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Great wait staff, friendly, efficient and attentive. Breakfast was Excellent!!! Country fried steak was done just right. The white pepper gravy was superb. Hash browns were crispy. It really does not get better than this for breakfast.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We came here with a group of nine after church. It was full and booming but we were seated without too much of a wait. The food was well worth the wait. I had the turkey and dressing with Lima beans and real, fresh cream corn. My husband had the ribeye steak with cream corn and potato salad. Everything was delicious. The turkey dressing was wonderful with delicious gravy and the turkey was "real" turkey, not just sliced turkey breast. All of the employees we met were friendly and very hard working. Great place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Flownan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
1 review
“GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Greeted by Mary, friendly service, great food. Clean restaurant. Will definitely go again. Had corned beef and eggs, tasted great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sackcloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First visit - will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We've been coming to the Young Harris area for years but never visited Mary's. After breakfast there during our last weekend visit, we'll definitely be back. The servers were very friendly and efficient. Food was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MTNGIRL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary's Southern Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mary's Southern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing