We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Young Harris
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing place in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend with our two daughters. We loved it. The resort itself is beautiful and is elegant yet rustic. The rooms are very well appointed. The public areas are gorgeous. The pool area is nice albeit small. The surrounding area is very interesting but not much to do outside of woodsy-outdoorsy stuff. It is a very direct route from Atlanta.

The resort is somewhat rustic. Service is great but somewhat limited given its location. I could not get my suit pressed for example.

The food was adequate. I expected nice country cooking but it was instead a bit institutional. I am a vegetarian and inquired if lard was in the biscuits served at breakfast and was told that they were Pillsbury!

The surrounding area and the grounds are immaculate and beautiful.

A major plus was the cost. I would rate the resort as extremely inexpensive when compared with comparable resorts in other parts of the country. I kept waiting for some shoe to drop but when I got my final bill it was at least a third less than I expected before arriving.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    258
    90
    42
    29
See reviews for
161
374
17
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at Brasstown Valley Resort to attend a friend's wedding. Our reservation was made well in advance, but I assume since we stayed one night only, we were not on the priority list for a room with a view, which I did request. The hotel staff at check in was friendly, and we made it to our room quickly with no issues.

The room itself was what I'd describe as "basic". Upon entering, there was a faint musty odor, I assume from the air conditioning, or the fact that we were on the north side of the property and the room never saw the sun. The furnishings were fine, if a little dated. The windows overlooked a playground, which fortunately no one used during our stay. There was a curtain rod and no drapes either. Tiny, lumpy pillows. GREAT towels in the bathroom though.

Other than the bellman and the desk staff, the rest of the staff in the hotel was surly at best. The banquet staff at the reception was minimally polite, but the food was very good. There was also no shortage of appetizers during the cocktail hour, and the bar was well stocked. We went to the casual bar next to the pro-shop after the wedding reception, and the waitress was not at all friendly, not at all attentive, and generally unpleasant. We ended up settling our tab at the bar, not with her because she was nowhere to be found.

All in all, the resort was nice, but I think it needs some updating and a little bit of staff training. The location is good, the property is pretty. It has great potential. I can see it being a good site for a business meeting because there isn't too much to do in the area that would draw attendees away from the meetings. I imagine in the fall, it is spectacular with all the foliage changing.

Not sure if I'll rush back. It's comparable to Callaway Gardens in price and atmosphere, but I think the Callaway lodge at the Southern Pine is nicer. The pool at Brasstown Valley was tiny too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondeinabmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was my third stay at Brasstown Valley Resort, and each visit seems better than the one before. It's got to be the best resort most people have never heard about! Top-notch in every respect, so it's hard to pick one aspect to single out. But as a golfer, it's not hard--the golf course ranks with the best I've ever played, plus the staff went out of their way to be helpful. This place is so great that thoughts of moving to Young Harris entry one's mind! (Well, maybe it's not THAT great.)

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The best choices are probably those with a mountains view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasstownStaff, Manager at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for choosing Brasstown Valley during your recent getaway. I appreciate your positive feedback. It is our mission to provide "magic moments" for our guests which we work hard to deliver each and everyday. We welcome to opportunity to be your resort of choice for many years to come. If your travel plans allow you to return within the next 90 days, we will extend to you a 20% discount on most recent room rate. Again thank you for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future and thank you for being our guest.


Charles Burton
General Manager
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
6321 US Hwy 76
Young Harris, GA 30582
Direct Line 706-379-4600
Fax 706-379-9999
Charles.Burton@Brasstownvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have been to Brasstown Valley several times, and have always had a wonderful experience!!! The staff are always nice. There is so much to do. We are even planning on getting married at the resort next month!!! Renee is FABULOUS & on top of everything!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We had such a great time! The scenery and the sunset was absolutely beautiful! The Sunday brunch and the breakfast buffet are to die for! Our room was clean and very spacious. The staff was nice and helpful. We can't wait to visit again in the fall!

Room Tip: The cottages are set back in little wooded areas and are a very short walk to the inn. If you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We went with three other couples to make two foursomes for golf and really enjoyed the experience. The lodge is very nice and the rooms clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We would highly recommend the lunch salad and pasta buffet in the dining room.
The golf course is excellent. Great design and very well maintained although it is not for begineers.
We would highly recommend Brasstown Valley Resort for anyone looking for a fun golf getaway.

Room Tip: For a little extra you can upgrade to a balcony room. The views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasstownStaff, General Manager at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for choosing Brasstown Valley during your recent getaway. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding our facility, staff and food. It is our mission to provide "magic moments" for our guests which we work hard to deliver each and everyday. We welcome to opportunity to be your resort of choice for many years to come. If your travel plans allow you to return within the next 90 days, we will extend to you a 20% discount on most recent room rate. Again thank you for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future and thank you for being our guest.


Charles Burton
General Manager
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
6321 US Hwy 76
Young Harris, GA 30582
Direct Line 706-379-4600
Fax 706-379-9999
Charles.Burton@Brasstownvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My stay was Fri Aug 12th thru Sun Aug 14th

I traveled with a group of 30 guys on a golf tournament weekend. We arrived Friday morning to check in at around noon. The welcome was nice with attendants opening doors, and Vickie and Cammie in the check in area were cordial, quick, and very efficient. We were ready to head to the cabins within mere minutes.

Our group had reserved 4 of the cabins, not the main lodge. We were booked two to a room for the most part. All rooms were separate, with locked doors leading to a common area with a kitchen, refrigerator, large tv, sofas, tables etc. Porches wrapped all around for enjoying the mountain air.

The rooms were well furnished, the beds comfortable and the linens plush. TV in each room, large armoire/dresser, desk night stands etc. Bathrooms clean, tile, with soap and shampoo. No complaints at all, would bring wife or family back.

Grills were provided at each cabin and we used them.

The lodge is a beautiful building from the outside, and also from the inside (I cannot speak to the lodge rooms). The dining hall was large with big windows and stone and wood and fireplaces, as was the lobby. Downstairs leads to Brassies grill (more later) and the golf proshop as well as several other areas I did not explore.

We partook of the seafood buffet the lodge puts out on Friday nights and it was very serviceable, especially considering it's the North GA mtns. Plenty of options, some fried, some broiled etc, even a lobster salad. The wait staff was good to us.

For breakfast there is a large buffet also, and it featured more than enough to get you going for whatever activity you had planned for the day. Sausage, bacon, eggs, potatoes, a really nice omellette station with lots of options, grits, toast, and all juices coffees etc. Kyle, our server, was pretty exceptional.

Brassies Grill, beside the proshop downstairs and overlooking the practice green is your standard 19th hole grill, featuring large screen tvs, two billiards tables, and a good menu of pub grub. The cod fish and chips were much better than I expected, and the burgers looked good. The ladies there did a fine job keeping up with our large group. Thank you Ellen and Leisa.

The golf course is beautiful. Zoysia rough was tough tough, but everything was lush, well manicured, and fun to play. Love the Turtle theme! We played 4 round in 3 days and had a blast. Would not hesitate to play here again.

All in all, I think it's a place I'd go back to for a long weekend with my wife to play golf and explore other options. The resort features horseback riding with trails winding throughout the mountains and around the property. The views of the mountains are always gorgeous anytime, and we've hiked most of the area on numerous backpacking trips. There is also a volleyball and picnic area.

There is a spa on site, we passed it driving on the golf course around the 3rd hole. Can't say much other than they did a superb job with the stonework! Will check it out next time.

The resort is 5 - 10 minutes from the very large Lake Chatuge for you water and fishing enthusiasts!

Give it a shot.

Room Tip: The Cabins were nice especially for larger groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrasstownStaff, General Manager at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for choosing Brasstown Valley during your recent getaway. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding our facility, staff and food. It is our mission to provide "magic moments" for our guests which we work hard to deliver each and everyday. We welcome to opportunity to be your resort of choice for many years to come. If your travel plans allow you to return within the next 90 days, we will extend to you a 20% discount on most recent room rate. Again thank you for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future and thank you for being our guest.


Charles Burton
General Manager
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
6321 US Hwy 76
Young Harris, GA 30582
Direct Line 706-379-4600
Fax 706-379-9999
Charles.Burton@Brasstownvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Young Harris
1.8 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
652 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#2 of 5 in Hiawassee
268 reviews
14.1 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa

Property: Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Address: 6321 US Highway 76, Young Harris, GA 30582-2717
Location: United States > Georgia > Young Harris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Young Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the North Georgia Mountains, Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa quietly redefines the typical mountain getaway. Just a short two-hours from Atlanta, there is something for everyone at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa. No longer a secret, the 18-hole championship golf course was named among Golf Digest magazine's top places to play. The Stables at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa offers one- and two-hour guided horseback trail-riding for every skill level. And the 7,500-square-foot Equani Spa, inspired by the area's native Cherokee people, serves up treatments to maximize strength, health, appearance, mental acuity and spiritual balance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brasstown Valley Resort And Spa
Brasstown Valley Hotel Young Harris
Brasstown Valley Resort Young Harris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing