We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my stay at Aalia”
Review of Aalia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aalia Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kangri
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Loved my stay at Aalia”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just back from our trip to Aalia. The hotel has a spectacular view of the Ganges from most of the rooms. Its just so peaceful to sit out in the open in the evenings with just nothing around you but the sound of nature. The lawns are stunning and very well kept and manicured - I did my barefoot walks in the evenings on the lawn.
The evening aarti on the banks of the Ganges is very quaint and personal.
The rooms are so comfortable and very well equipped - from Tata Sky, i pod docking stations, a very comfy bed with a choice of thick & thin pillows, bedroom slippers, hair dryer, shower gel, shampoo and all toiletries in the well lit huge bathrooms. Most important was that they have enough plug points to charge your phone/ i pad etc.
The villas and the hotel are so well designed that they give you complete privacy from the other guests.
The food was great - the Indian food is yummy and probably better than the western food. The buffet breakfast had a fair variety and was well cooked and tasty. they have a very well stocked bar that has a lovely warm and homely feeling.
Dheeraj, who handles the hotel on location was very helpful as well as the rest of the staff. Very helpful, smiling and non obtrusive - the perfect combination when you are on a vacation.
The drive from the hotel to Rishikesh is SPECTACULAR! It takes you through Rajaji National Park and pass the dam - a must must do when you come to Aalia. I would really suggest Aalia as a family, couple, friends, solo holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. The ones upstairs have a lovely view of the Ganga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brindabose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    66
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
96
31
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Getting booking in a luxury hotel like Aalia in Haridwar is easy as they provide a user friendly online form to book rooms in advance. Also, they have a wide range of holiday packages to choose from, which give facilities to tour of maximum number of tourist sport around Haridwar and Rishikesh. Besides that, these holiday package allow guests to try wide range of facilities like spa, yoga centre, sauna bath, gym, etc. Aalia is a resort of 5 star rating and the every facility provided here is of excellent standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brekbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived at the Aalia after a 9.5 hour from the Wildflower Hall in Shimla, so knew it was a very hard act to follow, but it really is very close to being an excellent hotel. The grounds are beautiful with immaculate lawns and lovely views across the Ganges. The location is stunning set amongst wheat fields and backing onto the Ganges.The rooms are very good, and we were lucky enough to be given a room with a private terrace including an outdoor jacuzzi. The food was excellent, although the cooked breakfast needs a bit of work, as anaemic sausages and greasy bacon bits are not particuarly inspiring. Dev was excellent, but the rest of the staff do struggle to understand English, so it does feel like they are relying on one person at the moment to do everything for the guests. It is about 20 mins from Haridwar, and on arrival you do wonder where on earth you are going when you turn off the main road, but it so worth it, and can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

After surfing the net i got to know about AAlia and i booked the same for the Holi weekend.After reaching the place we were Ecstatic to see the place.It was so nice and quiet and the best part was The Ganga which is at the back of the resort.Though we have to wait for 2 hrs to get our room as we reached early.
My son had a blast with loads of activities in the premises but the only thing which was a drawback as per me was food and service.The resort seem to be under staffed and the food was not that great with leass options to choose from.
But it was worth a trip though as per me we overpaid for the same.But one should visit atleast once to feel the calm and quiet surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poojakitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely time staying at Aalia. The staff cannot do enough to help you and are very friendly. The hotel itself is around 20 minutes from Haridwar on the banks of the Ganges. It is a beautiful setting with a nice pool area, games for children and beauty services.

The rooms itself was nice although the air con (noisy) and shower could be improved. There are a few minute electricity cuts but they don't really bother you.

The food was fantastic. The best so far in India, paneer lababdor was to die for. The waiting staff were so attentive and a credit to the hotel.

Very boutique like hotel and would definitely recommend. We loved our time here. Gorgeous drive to Rishikesh and a colourful village nearby. You would need transport if you'd like to go to Haridwar or elsewhere in the surrounding area.

In summary, a very tranquil place and a lovely escape from some Indian cities.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank escapeebristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando Fl
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was here as part of a group for 2 nights. The property is very nice, albeit very far from everything - you are pretty isolated. (it was an hour drive to get to town). I can see this as a retreat for locals, but as a western tourist, it was far removed, and lacked any Indian personality.
Except for the Ganges, and the excellent service, you would not know you were in India. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are a good size.
The restaurant serves above average cuisine, both western and Indian. Unfortunately, they do not have any Indian beer (love Kingfisher) only Danish beer, and the background music is Kenny G. I highly recommend the Yoga instructor, unfortunately I cannot remember his name. He is an excellent instructor as well as guide.
I would recommend this to Indian tourists seeking a getaway from India? But not to a foreign tourist seeking to be immersed in India.

Room Tip: Lower floors have sliding glass doors which open to the outside, as women traveling alone, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Aalia resort bwas booked by our family weeks in advance so that we could have the mahakumbh asnan on the maha shiv ratri day ie. On 10th march 2013. While booking it seemed like a good resort and an expensive one too. But on reaching one realised it was all worth the money. Well laid out. Excellent location. Excellent facilities. Rooms were beautiful. All amenities. Yoga on ganga side. No need to go to haridwar for the dip as gang flows along side the resort. The three room villa was very good. Food delicious. What more one wants in haridwar ! Loved my stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet as the location is far from the maddening crowds and traffic. Ganga side rooms are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangri
7.9 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haridwar
5.7 mi away
Haveli Hari Ganga
Haveli Hari Ganga
#1 of 89 in Haridwar
763 reviews
20.4 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ganga Lahari
Ganga Lahari
#2 of 89 in Haridwar
372 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel
9.2 mi away
Godwin Hotel Haridwar
Godwin Hotel Haridwar
#16 of 89 in Haridwar
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aalia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalia Resort

Property: Aalia Resort
Address: Near Rajaji National Park | Shyampur Noamabad, Kangri, Haridwar 249408, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar District > Haridwar > Kangri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kangri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aalia Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aalia Resorts and Hotels offers a wonderful guest experience that is friendly and Pleasant while providing the highest level of service. Each resort and setting is unique, but certain elements characterize all of them - a beautiful location situated right on the banks of the majestic Ganges, excellent facilities, exceptional service and a small number of rooms to ensure exclusivity and solitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aalia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing