We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all had a Fantastic trip”
Review of Ash.Ka.Nam Resort

Ash.Ka.Nam Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ash River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ash.Ka.Nam Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ash River
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was the best place we've ever fished at after 20 years with 30 men! Great place,food staff and fishing! the negative review I read makes me think that person should consider staying home and forget vacations! seriously!

Room Tip: nice views of cliffs and water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 19 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not sure where all the bad reviews are coming from? We stop there for lunch every year, they have dock service, and a nice deck to sit on not only to enjoy a good lunch with a view of the river and a trampoline for our children to jump on, but the service has never been bad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Oh my. Very unprofessional, I would echo the other travelers on this one. Perhaps the worst Margarita I have ever had. Our service was slow so we walked up to the bar to get a drink and the bartender wouldn't serve us because she wanted our waitress to do it. She seemed to be trying to teach her a lesson. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank MBB66066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

To start off we had a tall blonde haired waitress who was too busy texting for the first five minutes to wait on our table. It was around 3 Pm with very few people in the lodge and our food took around 40 minutes and was very poorly cooked. To cap it all off 3.75$ for a warm beer was completely unacceptable and our waitress did replace it but charged us for the warm one. Overall poor service terrible food and I will not be recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Fishhuntdrinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Located on the Ash River near the end of Ash River Trail, this resort has cabins, hotel/lodge rooms, a bar and restaurant overlooking the river, boat rentals with a launching ramp and a swim area in the river. We stayed in a lodge room since we were there only two nights – cabins required a three night minimum. There was no air conditioning in the lodge rooms or in the restaurant/bar but weather was not terribly hot in late June so not too uncomfortable. There was no way to get any cross ventilation in the room so it did tend to get warm. The room had a nice TV, a pretty good WiFi signal (though WiFi is advertised as available only in the bar/restaurant), but there were no cups provided, no ice bucket provided (ice available at the restaurant), no bath mat in the bathroom, and no table or chairs in the room. Additionally, the lodge is located within inches of the main road through the resort, across from the boat launching ramp, with occasional loud traffic noises at times, though we had no complaints with traffic or other noises in the evenings or during the night. It is definitely a family-friendly resort with many young children enjoying the swim area and playground provided. We had come here from the isolation and solitude of Isle Royale National Park; perhaps that's why the number of people and the noise of vacationing groups bothered my wife. A short drive back down Ash River Trail from the resort is Voyageurs National Park's Ash River Visitor Center and a few short hiking trails. The resort provides complimentary canoes for guests, and we enjoyed paddling up and down the river and into Sullivan Bay at the mouth of the river. The river provides an excellent entry way to the waters of Voyageurs National Park. There are several other resorts along the river which looked very nice, including Ebel's houseboat rentals with a houseboat for just about any size group. Some looked like floating mobile homes. All in all, recognizing the limitations, we had a pleasant stay and would recommend it (at least one of us would!).

Room Tip: Go for a cabin if staying 3 days or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Ash Ka Nam is by far THE most popular place on the Ash River Trail, the gateway to the Voyaguers National Park. This was not always the case. The resort was bought by Mark & Lynette Hraban, a couple that had previous experience owning the Sunset Resort for many years on the Ash River Trail. With their experience and positive attitude, they rebuilt the reputation of the Ash Kan Nam Resort back up to become the most popular place on the Ash River Trail.

They have updated the cabins, brought in a terrific menu at the Resort itself and have treated the customer base, that keeps returning, with friendliness and respect. People truly do make a business successful. This resort exemplifies it with, not only Mark and Lynette, but with all the employees. Nice job!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iminsured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had a group of 30 people and there was not one problem. all of the staff was professional and fast with service. The food was great the cabins were clean I would say this is one of the most wonderful places to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowmobile2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ash.Ka.Nam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash.Ka.Nam Resort

Address: 10209 Ash River Trl, Ash River, MN 55771-8045
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ash River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ash River
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing