We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, unique atmosphere”

Captain Stan's Smokehouse
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Woodbine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berwyn IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, unique atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were staying near Woodbine and after reading the reviews, we went for lunch. The first appearance was great--looked like an old, rustic southern coastal bbq joint, with an adjoining bait & tackle shop. I loved the decor--old fishing tackle, country artifacts, etc, and the mostly open, canopied "dining room". Captain Stan, in bib overalls, was cooking. I had the "holy trinity bowl"--Boston butt, topped by beans, topped by slaw--good, but didn't blow me away. There were three sauces on the table, all excellent. My partner said her 1/2 lb burger was very good, and both selections were very inexpensive. The place was friendly and welcoming and I wish we had been there for the music. When a fisherman showed up with a large, just-caught trout, Captain Stan put the picture up on the TV, a nice "homey" touch, I thought. If you are nearby, or passing through on i-95, definitely stop at Captain Stans.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rivegauche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    38
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbine, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Captain Stan's Smokehouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Unique setting with excellent entertainment playing under the canopy of a very old oak tree. Food, service and overall atmosphere is excellent. The owner is a character that makes this place well worth visiting.....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrietts Bluff, Ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stan's has the best BBQ I've ever eaten. How can you beat, great food, cold beer, and dancin' music.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gamakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I recently stopped in at captain Stan's after meeting him in Jacksonville. He has an amazing spot with an incredible backyard filled with fun and live music. It was a blast. If anyone is ever even close to Woodbine this is THE place to go! Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LL1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going down hill for the last year!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Enjoyed going and still do, to a certian extent. It seems that Stan has lost his way when it comes to the part of providing for his customers.
For a long time Stans was a good place to go sit down and listen to some good music and have a good meal, but in the last 3 or 4 times we have been, it has been less than desirable!
Wednesday was steak night, where he served up a good steak and salad for the price. Well that in my opinion, as well as a good many more, is Gone! The last 2 times we have had steak, it has been either to tough to eat or filled with fat. The salad came in a styrofoam cup that contained wilted day old lettuce and the so called cooked vegitables were so full of grease, they too were uneditable.
The other items on the menu too have lost any accountability. A simple patty melt that was supposed to come with cooked onions and mushrooms and cheese, came with neither and the hamburger meat had so much bread added to the mix, that it was completely tastless.
Of a group of 5 couples, we either received the steaks of the wrong kind, cooked wrong, or still cold in the middle. When you paying $18.00 for a steak, you should expect better!
We still go to lsten to the bands, although they have steadly decreassed in quaility!
Capt. Stan, you need to go back to the way it used to be, or just throw in the towel. Goog Food, Good Music, and a pleasent experiance is all we ask!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Stan's Smokehouse also viewed

Woodbine, Georgia Coast
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Kingsland, Georgia Coast
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Captain Stan's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing