We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rutted access”
other travelers have booked this property
Croesor Bach, an impressive Welsh cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Croesor Bach, an impressive Welsh cottage
Croesor Bach close-up Local view of the rolling hillside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Croesor Bach, an impressive Welsh cottage
Croesor Bach close-up
Local view of the rolling hillside
The kitchen with large table
The Stanley range cooker
Smart dining room for those family gatherings
Cosy living room with fireplace
Perfect for those winter breaks!
Open staircase leading upstairs
Triple, characterful bedroom
Family bathroom
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Further double bedroom
Well-presented cottage
For the bookworms!
Outside space and furniture
Rolling hills
As the evening falls...
Croesor, from a distance
The perfect shot to show Croesors fabulous, rural setting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9
Llanfrothen, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bruinSout...
southern england
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rutted access”
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

To open and close the two gates on the access track meant standing in huge puddles of water 2-3 inches deep and surrounded by mud , and then driving down a very rutted track with the car bottoming out in several places. Not a great start and really needs sorting out , otherwise our stay was good.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2017
Croesor Bach is situated at the top of a hanging valley which has a flat bottom with the River Croesor flowing through it and steep sides encircling the end of the valley. When it rains a lot of water flows into the River Croesor and will, on occasion, make the area of track by our little bridge across the river very wet. The river then flows over 600 feet down to the flood plain and out to sea so, very fortunately, the water drains away very quickly indeed.

We are in the process of arranging routine maintenance for the track and will make sure that we give our long standing and reliable contractors instructions to concentrate on this area so that the river floods it as rarely as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven on earth”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The location of this cottage on the slopes of the Cnicht Mountain is simply stunning and well worth the minor inconvenience of the last quarter of a mile of bumpy track to get there. The cottage itself is lovely, one of the best we have rented in the many years we have been holidaying in Wales; clean, very well equipped and full of character. The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished. We particularly enjoyed sitting around a glowing log fire on the cooler evenings and gathering around the farmhouse table for family meals. This is the perfect base to explore the many attractions the area has to offer, too numerous to list, but including Portmeirion Village, the Festiniog and Welsh Mountain Railway and the many beautiful sandy beaches, but actually, you only need to step into the back garden and gaze at the wonderful mountain scenery to refresh your city worn soul.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A remote cottage with access and wifi/tv problems”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A very remote cottage which is well presented and has plenty of space for a large group. However only one toilet could cause problems. the access up a steep disintegrated gravel/slate drive stopped the group parking outside the house - which entailed a walk with provisions, young children and luggage. The weekend was split by poor to nil tv signal and very limited wifi - not what was stated in the blurb. The single toilet roll for a group of 8 and a small amount of wood with no kindling or firefighters was miserly.
As a group we found the location to be delightful but would not recommend the cottage because of the above.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Access by very poor track
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
Thank you for your feedback. The track from the river to the cottage was indeed in need of a number of minor repairs after an unusually wet winter and spring. We are pleased to confirm that the necessary repairs have been completed and there are now no problems with access.

We frequently visit the cottage with three teenage children who make good use of the wifi! No other guests have reported any problems with the BT Homehub router and all speed tests are normal. We wish that these guests had contacted us so that we could advise them that the farmhouse walls are made of solid stone in contrast to more modern houses which could perhaps have affected their signal.

With regard to the TV signal, we again really wish that these guests had contacted us as the signal had only temporarily been interrupted by a wisteria fronds growing in front of the satellite dish! As soon as these were quickly cut by scissors whilst standing on the patio, all the TV satellite channels were immediately available.

We don’t usually leave firewood in June but if the guests had spoken to us we would have gladly provided some additional logs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best weekends away ever”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this cottage with eight friends for a long weekend of hiking and climbing. I can't recommend it enough. Not only is it located in a magical part of the world, but the cottage itself is absolutely charming. We had one of the best weekends away we've ever had.

The cottage is very remote, so you'll need a car - but that is definitely part of the charm. You can see Cnicht from the back garden, nicknamed (Cnicht-named?) the Welsh Matterhorn, which is a fantastic climb if you're not doing the nearby Snowdon.

Inside the cottage, you've got a beautiful big kitchen, a giant fireplace, and very comfy beds. Everything is well stocked and the owners were lovely and quick at responding. It suited our numbers perfectly. My only advice is that it can get quite cold, particularly on the stone floors in the morning. I regretted not bringing my slippers. Worth noting that there's only one bathroom too, which can be tricky with large groups.

Nothing would stop me booking this cottage again. We had the best time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm B
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Magical Holiday Home”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Croesor Bach is quite simply the most amazing holiday we have ever had. We holiday in Wales at least twice a year, normally between the Brecons, Snowdonia and Pembrokeshire and are well travelled outside this. We have never stayed anywhere that took our breath away like this, hot drinks in hand in the garden every morning we woke until our slightly teary departure. The mountains & hills, lakes & streams, variety of flora and fauna, and the slate are amazing.

The house itself is huge! (I did attach a photo with our car beside it for scale). All the rooms are very well proportioned and contained everything for a comfortable stay. I did read a very negative review about the condition of the cottage, which I found totally bemusing! I mean, this is a country cottage not the Ritz.. This is one of the first cottages we have stayed in that actually contained everything and enough of everything we could possibly require in the kitchen, everything clean and tidy. The open fire in the living room is massive and we spent many evenings warm and cosy in front of it playing board games. Satellite tv and wifi were also appreciated. All the bedrooms with nice solid comfortable wooden beds with decent mattresses and plenty of bedding.

The location is superb. In a very quiet valley with endless paths of varying difficulty to ascend the valley and beyond, or for a more leisurely stroll along the stream. But at the same time it's only a few minutes drive to the local store, and short drive beyond to Porthmadog for shopping and Harlech for miles of quiet sandy beaches. And just a few miles South of Snowdon itself!

The owners were very nice and helpful and stayed in good communication. The directions were very easy to follow (Rock Paper Scissors to decide who was getting out of the car to open/close the gates).

Croesor Bach has a very special place in all our hearts and we will definitely be returning soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Departure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimchops
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great cottage. Perfect for a group walking holiday. Snowdon only half an hour drive away. Amazing views from house. Peace and quiet away from everything.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing