We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for people with reduced mobility” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel Castrum Novum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aparthotel Castrum Novum
Ranked #1 of 1 Novigrad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not for people with reduced mobility”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The beach is rather near, but you have to climb many many steps to reach it, and especially to come back!

We got a very small room: a room for 2-3 may be good for 2, but far too small for 3. The balcony was very small and narrow and it was not possible to go there during the day because of the heat of the sun. From the restaurant terrace one could admire the fantastic sea view.

Location is somehow strange; far away from everything, but anyhow the beach was not peaceful, but crowded by the quite a big hotels guests and apparently by local people.
The breakfast was best we had in Croatia - excellent! Service was friendly - thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria61029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina B, Manager at Aparthotel Castrum Novum, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Ms Maria,

thank you for your comment! If you decide to come again, we are here for you! We will help you to
choose the right apartment for your family and suggest you some beach with less people.

Best regards:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    21
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
19
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

YOU HAVE TO GO HERE AND KAYAK TO THE CANYON!!!
My boyfriend and I (both aged 20) were looking for somewhere chilled and beautiful to visit, I was researching on the internet and came across the castrum novum in novigrad, I researched the area and it looked peaceful and quiet just what i wanted after spending the summer partying in Greece. We got to the hotel and was very pleased with the first impressions. We had a very friendly welcome - all the staff were fantastic, we even ended up going out with some of the staff at the local bar in the village they were great fun and very helpful! The village is very peaceful but not too quiet not really any restaurants to go to apart from the hotel, but that was just fine because the food was beautiful, the biggest portions ever and cheaper than we would ever get in England! The fish was fantastic! The local bar very small but friendly was also a very cheap place, a beer and glass of wine cost us about £3 brilliant!
The hotel had free kayaks to use, we both loved this, being active we didn't want to sunbathe; we wanted to explore the island. We kayaked to the Canyon (look it up before you go so you know exactly where you are going) took us 45 mins-1 hour to get across the sea/lake to the other side! SO WORTH IT! It was the hardest work out of my life, but it was the most beautiful view i've ever seen, you shout something and it echoes for minutes. Fantastic! We went jumping off the rocks in the canyon - brilliant! We didn't do the kayak trip to the little waterfalls in the canyon but looking back we wish we had, was just a bit pricey, so if you haven't got the money make sure you kayak to the canyon anyway you will never experience anything quite like it!
We hadn't planned to hire a car but we enquired at the hotel and they booked it for us which meant we got discount! FANTASTIC! We went to Zadar one day which was a nice town and busy beaches, and we went to the most beautiful restaurant ever, quite pricey for Croatia but fantastic : Restaurant Fosa.
We also hired the car for a dar to go to the waterfalls plitvicka jezera! I've always wanted to go see waterfalls and I was not dissapointed! BREATHTAKING! Worth the 3 hour trip on the way there, make sure you take the main road rather than the coast way took us forever on the way back just under 2 hours! Worth it though! Stunning! You werent allowed to swim in them but me and my boyfriend snuck in, once i saw a watersnake i soon jumped out! He loved it though!

DONT MISS OUT ON THIS TRIP - we will never forget the place, i've been to alot of places so far and this was the best place ive ever been. The staff were great, and the room and view was fab as well! The weather was beautiful hot but not too hot and it was in september! Beautiful sunsets!!

We miss it every day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina B, Manager at Aparthotel Castrum Novum, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Active Couple :)

it was so nice to read all this, thank you! We hope you will come again and maybe try river rafting this time - with some discount ;)

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is the only hotel in a quiet fishing village 40 minutes east of Zadar on the southern end of a large bay (NOT in Istria). The apartments come with kitchenette, table/chairs, pullout couch, flatscreen TV, DVD player, balconies, etc. and there's wireless internet and a laptop in the lobby for guest use. It's located right on the beach and offers gorgeous views, swimming, free kayaks and bicycles, massages, and laundry service (5€). The staff is very friendly and speaks English well. Breakfast and dinner at the restaurant were good, and be sure to try the local beer: Specijalno Kasačko Pivo. The town has two mini-marts, a pharmacy, a post office, a pizzeria, and a fortress. Kayaking on the Zirmanja river nearby.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing the bay (it's possible that all of them do, but I'm not sure)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theroamingzimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina B, Manager at Aparthotel Castrum Novum, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Theroamingzimmers,

thank you for the nice comments and excellent suggestions! :)

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godovic, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Small and peacefull hotel on the end of a village with just two bars, pharmacy and pizzeria. Perfect if you really want to relax. It's a clean place with extremely helpfull and kind personell - and good continental breakfast which can be enjoyed with a sea view.

Rooms are aparently equipped with a big screen TV, DVD player, free WiFi and fridge - in small restaurant you can enjoy a la carte dinner, which is not expensive and tasty. Hotel has it's own concrete beach with shallow and warm water.

We'll certainly return, because this was meant as a weekend getaway and in the end we stayed for five nights and had really really good time :) I just wish that all of the Croatian tourist industry would be like this ...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frcac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina B, Manager at Aparthotel Castrum Novum, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Frcac,

thank you for the nice words...

Dođite nam opet ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesarea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is a great family hotel, with small apartments ideal for families. Don't be mistaken - this is not in the Istria area as suggested in the title, but in fact in the Northern Dalmatian area, somewhere between the Plitviche Lakes and Zadar.

We stayed for 2 nights with 4 kids. We rented 2 apartments, which was very convenient with 3 adolescents having their own space. Novigrad is a little fisherman's village with a beautiful beach, free kayaks for guests, friendly service, nice breakfast, and laundry service (for 5 euro per bag).

We chose this place because we chose a day of rafting in the Zrymanja River, which is nearby (we used Raftek rafting which was a wonderful day of river rafting). It was great to come back at night to the quiet beach with calm waters and the slow life in this fisherman's village which is practically unknown to tourists. A wonderful break between the busy Plitviche to the hussle and bussle of the coastal area. And the price was also great!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravelerreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina B, Manager at Aparthotel Castrum Novum, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Lovetravelerreviews,

thank you for sharing your nice impressions with us and others!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed for 8 nights and we can fully recommend the Castrum Novum in Novigrad!
Our Dog was very welcome and the people of the Hotel were very friendly and helpful.
The view from the balcony and the restaurant was thrilling, especially by sunset.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian_Reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina B, Manager at Aparthotel Castrum Novum, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Chfritz,

thank you for a nice comment, we are very glad to hear you liked it here and hope you will come to us again!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novigrad
17.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
20.0 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
6.3 mi away
Aparthotel Buratovic
Aparthotel Buratovic
#1 of 2 in Vinjerac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Aparthotel Tamarix
Aparthotel Tamarix
#2 of 2 in Vinjerac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
18.9 mi away
Zaton Holiday Resort
17.8 mi away
Hotel In
Hotel In
#4 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Castrum Novum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castrum Novum

Property: Aparthotel Castrum Novum
Address: Tomislava Bazhdarica 3, Novigrad 23312, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Novigrad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Novigrad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aparthotel Castrum Novum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing