We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tour.....sarchastic guides.”

Historic Banning Mills Zip Line Canopy Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

On a whim I decided to stop by Banning Mills on the way home from Atlanta. We were immediately asked in the parking by a young staff member why we were there. We said we were there to zipline to which he responded, "Did you bring your token?" I looked at him with a puzzled look and he replied, "you need your token to ride." As we continued to walk to the office to check in he and his friend began laughing.

After paying over $150 to zipline the last thing I really wanted was a member of the staff making me feel uncomfortable. When I entered I was met with more sarcasm, "Hey....whats our fatality rate today? About 30%."

It may be funny to them but to someone new to ziplining it came off as very belittling. It took about an hour for me to relax and enjoy the experience.

Once the tour began the guides were very helpful and courtious.

I am rating the total experience at a level three but had I not been met by rude employees in the parking lot I would have rated it a five.

Hopefully you will be met by more professional staff members.

Thank JBirge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestzipline, Manager at Historic Banning Mills Zip Line Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We thank you for your input and do apologize if anything said by our guides were taken in the wrong way. We did ask about this incident and the guides both told us that the comments were meant to be ice breakers and humorous, not meant to be taken as sarcastic. Many of our guests are afraid when they come out to try this adventure. Our lines our challenging and can be intimidating but that is what makes them special. We have learned that humor helps relieve some fear. However, a guide should wait until they have the guests out on the course and let the guests get to know them first before attempting to make jokes. We appreciate the input and will instruct guides to be more discerning about incoming guests since those guest have not had experience with the guides. We are glad that the Birge's recognized the professional way our guides operated out on the course after they got out on the trek. We take all reviews seriously and will use this one to better our many future adventure opportunities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"big daddy"
in 8 reviews
"tree house"
in 15 reviews
"free fall"
in 27 reviews
"extreme tour"
in 9 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 13 reviews
"different levels"
in 10 reviews
"always felt safe"
in 5 reviews
"suspension bridge"
in 8 reviews
"romantic getaway"
in 5 reviews
"snake river"
in 5 reviews
"awesome adventure"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 11 reviews
"ropes course"
in 6 reviews
"bucket list"
in 8 reviews
"west georgia"
in 5 reviews
"old mill"
in 5 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 5 reviews
Filter

265 - 269 of 458 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We did the Level 5 ALL DAY RUSH and its where you get 8hrs of none top fun on any Zip Lines and Bridges you want!!! We even did the bungee jump at 100ft as many times as we wanted! In the Level 5, You get a lunch about 11ish and it was AWSOME! They have a personal chef who cooks your meals for you and it was def. a five star meal!!!! Banning MILLS was amazing! The people there are amazing and the woods and scenery was amazing! they even do horse back through the woods, creeks, and mountains!!! Def. coming back for that!!! The Level 5, you get to do all the best Zip lines they have including the newest one "the Falcon". PLEASE make sure your in SHAPE!!! There is a lot of Stair climbing in this. The Falcon and another tower are 100ft and 150ft HIGH and its all STAIRS. So be in SHAPE please! Also a lot of the towers are up in Trees so u do climbs stairs in a lot of the Zip lines!!! Out of all the Zip lining I've done, this is the best!!!!

Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestzipline, Manager at Historic Banning Mills Zip Line Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Jessica
Thank you for taking time to write about your experience at Banning Mills! We appreciate your comments and for letting other viewers know about the unique tours afforded at our facility. So glad you guys had a great time and hope you will come back in the future. We are looking at new things to add to the adventure treks at Banning Mills
Stay tuned!
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From tweens to able-bodied seniors, this is a fun 1-2 day adventure. The zipline equipment is well-maintained, and the courses are laid out for beginners, more adventuresome, and high adventure. Setting is beautiful. Accommodations are rustic and perfectly comfortable, but not luxurious. It's a one-hour drive west of the Atlanta Airport, and could easily be done by locals in 1 day. You can do Levels 1 and 2 before lunch -- and the pack a GREAT picnic, reasonably priced. Hard to find something that everybody likes, but THIS IS IT!

1  Thank Donna31522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We've completed approx. 4 Ziplines in 4 different states and Banning Mills is the Best ZipLine Yet!! Huge variety of challenging ZipLines and SkyBridges. Pick your package from beginner to a challenging advanced. We completed the #4 Extreme!! A little pricey, but worth it in the end. They have 5 packages total. There is so much to do at Banning Mills we've decided to go back for an extended weekend stay in the fall. Ethan and Stevie B. were awesome!! Thanks Guys!!

1  Thank cherry7up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I have ziplined at Banning MIlls a couple of times and booked the All Day Rush most recently (I'm writing this review a little late) - we both loved it! Our guides have always been fun, but very professional and the overall experience of the All Day Rush was something we'd both love to do again...you do have to be in pretty good shape for parts of this experience, though, so read the descriptions beforehand. They sent us great pictures and we overall just a fantastic time!

Thank Stacie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Banning Mills Zip Line Canopy Tours also viewed

 

Been to Historic Banning Mills Zip Line Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing