We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique, intriguing but ultimately a letdown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Historic Banning Mills
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I were very excited about spending some time at Banning Mills, after all WSB-TV did a special on it saying it was one of GA's ten best kept secrets. We booked a couples package during the week which included a whirlpool, located in the cabin's bedroom, dinner and breakfast. While we enjoyed the nature trails and the historic mill ruins, the food was sub par quality. Other than a small corporate group for dinner, we were the only ones in the dining room and there was no others for breakfast. If you are a zip line enthusiast, this place might be just for you, but we weren't.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestzipline, Manager at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Alan was here on March 20 in one of our cabin rooms. At check out, he had made no complaints or comments to indicate he was disappointed in his stay. We are always concerned when one of our guests feels they did not have a great time so I did take time to call him and discuss what had caused his disappointment. He was very gracious and told me that he and his wife loved everything about their stay but that he was extremely disappointed in his dinner. This couple had a romantic dinner served in their room which included fruit and cheese, salads, a choice of entree with side dishes, dessert and tea, water or lemonade. He had chosen the Rib Eye Chimichuree and his wife had the fresh tilapia blackened.. Alan said that his steak was too spicy for his tastes and he felt that although the steak was very big (16oz), he felt it had too much fat. I did remind him that the entree he chose was considered spicy and asked him why he did not call the staff to let us know he was unable to eat it. We would have been very happy to cook him another one. He said that he just did not feel comfortable calling us for another steak. He said his wife did not like her Tilapia but he would not say why. He did say breakfast was good but that there was hardly anyone at the Inn. I told him that we had a small group on site and their breakfast times were at a different time from our bed and breakfast guests since they had classes they must attend. This group also had some last minute cancellations so we were unable to rebook their rooms. I also let him know that March is considered an off season for our Inn. I did thank him for his opinion and hoped that he might one day come back to visit us. He said that he would like that. I also told him that we would discuss this with the chef which I did.
It is sometimes difficult to meet all guests expectations. Many times we can make things right if a guest will be upfront with us and let us know they are having some problems or difficulties. We would have been able to prepare another steak that was not so spicy and perhaps Alan would not have been so disappointed. We have had many good reviews on our food and I encourage the reviewers to take time to read those. We thank the reviewer for considering our side.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 213 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband and I went here to go ziplining this past weekend and we had the time of our lives! The staff was friendly and courteous. They believe in safety first, then everything else second. It's an out of the box experience and they keep a 4 hour tour very light hearted and fun! Kudo's to Banning Mills for an enjoyable experience and one of the best kept secrets in GA! We will definitely come back and stay overnight.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJWalker27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This place is almost off the map. Once we found it though it all was fun from there. The staff were pleasant and inviting. One of the owners, a lady made sure every chance she got to make us feel comfortable and informed. Some of the activities from the website werent avaliable due to circumstances I understood but every effort was made to find alternatives for us to enjoy. The log cabins were very reasonably priced and clean. Thanks for a blast and we are planning to make a return trip in the future! :)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucketLIST99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Wife and I from Michigan down to Ga. to visit Grandson living in the area. The Holders and crew have really put a lot of effort in making this a world class place.Time constraints made it impossible for us to experience any of the one of a kind zip line canopy tours Banning Mills is famous for so we will have go back again. The cottage we stayed in had everything we needed for a relaxing 3 day visit, kitchenette,shower a/c,heater,shower, bedroom,futon. The location was close enough to Atlanta so that we could take in the Aquarium, World of Coca Cola and Zoo Atlanta. Grandson and I hiked to trail to the old paper mill site down by the river and it is a must see for history lovers. Thank you Holders for preserving it for future generations! I am a backpacker, wilderness camper and so anything above ground is luxurious. Those who have post negatives about amenities this place has or has not to offer might be better off staying in one of the" off highway, in the city" sort of places. Myself and many others prefer to sample our country like it was and closer to real. Oh...a gps in the car is a must. The roads in this part of Ga. ramble about in a most ungridlike way, We loved It!!

Room Tip: The cottage we stayed in was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My friends and I only came here to go zip lining, but after the fun we had and service we received we are definitely planning another trip! Who knew there would be so much to do here?? And the scenery was so beautiful! Definitely add this place to your list of places to visit!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank channy2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Initially I was impressed with the resort, cabins and buildings are nice and scenery is great, once in the cabin however I found that the backdoor would not lock, and the TV did not work. The tv was fixed that night but the door took 2 days to repair. The pots and pans in the efficiency are of low quality and the Teflon was chipping off. The Internet barley worked, my version signal was faster than banning mills wireless signal. The staff I interacted with were mostly teenagers and had very LITTLE customer service skills! I would go back but only because the area lacks other hotels with kitchenettes.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priesthood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestzipline, Manager at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

We do appreciate constructive criticism and take all complaints seriously. Since Mr. Priest was here for 4 nights and 5 days and did not voice any complaints at all except for the tv nor did he mention any problems at check out, we felt it was necessary for some investigation and this is what we found:
1. The tv was not working correctly at his check in and was fixed the first day of his stay.
2 Our cottages have a 2 eye stove top, small refrigerator and microwave. They do not have full size kitchens and this is noted on the website. We did inspect the cook ware and there were no chips and the teflon was not coming off.. There were 2 small scratches on the frying pan and that was all. All cookware was clean and in good working order. Mr. Priest did have an option to rent a full size cabin with full kitchen but he did not want to do this.
3. The doors were in perfect working order. Mr. Priest had a working lock and dead bolt on the front door and the back door also had a working lock. Sometimes a guest has difficulty working the back glass sliding door lock but staff are always happy to come show the guest how to work it. No repairs were needed on the door. It was just an operator problem. Mr. Priest's room was secure at all times.
4. We do not have teenagers that work for us in any capacity. We had a manager on duty each night of Mr. Priest's stay who range in ages from late 20s to mid 40's. Our managers were happy that he thought of them as young but his description was not accurate. Managers were there every night and Mr. Priest never came down to voice any complaints to the front desk staff.
5. We are a conference center and have business groups all the time here. Our internet is very good and it is FREE. Not only is it free in the main lodge but it is free in all of the lodging rooms. Most guests forget that they are not at home and when they are at another establishment, they have to share band width with other guests. There is only so much band width to go around. Wi Fi is great for emails, searches, etc but if a guest tries to download streaming video or movies and there are a lot of other people online, the internet is going to be slower than what you would get at your house. It is noted that there was a business group here 2 of the 4 nights of Mr. Priest's stay.
6. We are 10 miles from Carrollton, Ga. and there are several facilities that have rooms with kitchens. If Mr. Priest was not satisfied with his stay, we would have been happy to help him with a reservation at one of the other places. Mr. Priest never once expressed a desire to leave or any dissatisfaction.
We try very hard to give our guests an excellent stay. It is extremely difficult for us to do this when a guest is not up front with the staff and does not voice things they feel is wrong with their stay. Most issues can be solved immediately if there is communication. We hope that Mr. Priest may be able to come back one day and visit and we hope that he will have a better stay if he chooses to do so. We appreciate the reader considering the other side of the story.
Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed at Banning Mills as a large party celebrating a birthday. The main lodge was very nice and was decorated for the holidays. There was a pool table for the kids. The room we stayed in featured a jacuzzi tub, a gas stove and a porch overlooking the creek. It was just so nice.
The only issue we had was that our room was very warm and we ended up having to keep the door cracked to regulate the temperature.
Our room could have used a deep cleaning as the rug and couch showed wear.
Those things were minor and did not impact our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveler30344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Banning Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Banning Mills

Address: 205 Horseshoe Dam Rd, Banning Mills, Whitesburg, GA 30185-2560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Whitesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitesburg
Price Range: $99 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Banning Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the middle of 1200 wooded, preserved acres in the beautiful Snake Creek Gorge, this Country Inn and Retreat Center is known for the world's largest,longest continuous zip line canopy tours, adventure and team building treks, Day Spa, history museum and on site chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Banning Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Banning Mills Hotel Whitesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing