We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trip ever - it was perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Historic Banning Mills
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed on the RV side (site 54). It was a pull through site with full hook-ups. Great internet signal! We could only pick up a couple t.v. channels but it wasn't an issue because we never sat for very long! It was quiet and beautiful. No concrete pads but the site was level and wide enough! It was exactly as described and what we expected! Our tours both days were pefect - we had a 5 hour tour on Sat and the obstacle course and power fall on Sun. Our guides both days were professional and funny - they took very good care of us! You have to let them know in advance if you are going to eat on site at the lodge because the food is prepared for reserved guest - so be sure to let them know. (at least that is what I understood) We did not eat there so I can not say how the food was. It is a beautiful place and November was the perfect month to go! The colors were amazing and the weather was beautiful during the day and cool at night! We had a bonfire in the pit provided at our site each night - there is plenty of wood around to gather. I would and will go again! Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 213 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

I would like to thank Banning Mills for an incredible weekend adventure! Our Customer Care Retreat team members had a great time and I'm sure you will see most of them back in the very near future. Please thank Jonah again from all of us! He did a outstanding job with the team building course and all the team members really enjoyed the experience.
Great time!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tcoch316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My 'seasoned' girlfriends and I decided to make a spur of the moment 'girls' trip for the first weekend in October. I had called several times in the last couple of months but just couldn't find an opening for their larger family cabins that I had heard about. Decided to try one more time.... they had one open. WEEE!!! Now days when dealing with younger generation staff at facilities, they just don't have the time to deal with people who move a little slower. The girl who took our reservation was so nice. You could tell she was really young but she was patient with us... even though I'm sure she thought we were crazy people who couldn't decide what to do. She was very plain spoken about the cabins being 'rustic' and not to expect the Ritz. Understood... not going to expect the Ritz.


It took us a while to find the facility with it being so rural... and with us old foggies not listening or reading on their website where it CLEARLY stated not to use Map Quest. :) When we arrived, we were given instructions on how to get to our cabin and to let Earl know if we had any problems. And I must say what a nice young man!! You can tell these cabins are a little on the older side but very well maintained. So charming and just full of character! We felt like little kids at camp again ... except with hot water and AC... haha. The view was unbelievable!!!! The colors on the trees .... looking down the creek for what seemed like miles.... unbelievable.


One of the highlights of our trip was adding on breakfast at the main lodge Saturday morning. The early morning hike was beautiful and invigorating !! Since we booked at the absolute last minute and this was a Saturday... they weren't able to get us onto any of the zip tours. Not for lack of trying!! I watched a staff member go through every tour on her computer and count every space to see if she could squeeze us in! Impressive customer service! They were able to squeeze us in for horseback riding and suggested a picnic style basket for us afterwards.


I must say kudos to the owners. This is a family run business... and it shows! Even the employees that aren't 'family'... act like it :) Impressive customer service and well oiled machine to push what seemed like 500 people through on that day. Smiles on every persons face... a hello from every employee that I encountered... and a slight push to review them at check out. Not a problem!!! The property is amazing!! What a beautiful little piece of heaven in the ' middle of no where'! Thank goodness the owners are taking it upon themselves to preserve this paradise for people like us.


I cannot commend the facility, staff, amazing food... and even the family dog Jeb Stuart enough!! We will absolutely be back and will continue to patronize this facility/family for years to come! Amazing time had by all!!!

Room Tip: Pick Family Cabin 15 or 16 on the RV side. Beautiful views... really close to the nature trails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KEllisRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My Husband and I spent our 5 year anniversary here last month and had an absolute blast!! We are really adventurous so we reserved the Full Adventure and Spa package. We stayed in a Jacuzzi Room for 3 nights which had a pine log king size bed, a big jacuzzi tub, and a deck that had a gorgeous view of the creek. Our package included the Extreme Zip line tour and boy let me tell you was it an experience of a lifetime!! From the get go you couldn't wipe the smiles off our faces! I loved the fact that you start off on shorter lines and build up to the longer lines. The Screaming Eagle zip line was my favorite, I felt like I was in a Sportec with the top down going at full speed!! To top it off, our guides were professional, funny, very polite and courteous. They sure made our experience more enjoyable. We've been zip lining before but not on anything like this! After our tour, we relaxed in the spa for a 1 hour couples massage. It was a wonderful ending to such an amazing day! The next day we had a kayaking trip down the Chattahoochee. Our trip was just the right pace to take in the beauty of the river. When we were done with our kayaking trip we had a one hour horseback ride. The horseback ride was very peaceful and easy going. We could hear the river the whole time and it just added to the ride. And I'm not even done yet! I haven't told you about the food!!! It was slap yo momma goodness!!! We had Breakfast each morning, a picnic lunch, and 2 Romantic Dinners. All of it was phenomenon! The Chefs here really know what they are doing!!


I highly recommend this place!! We will be back soon definitely! Even if you don't stay overnight, at least do the Zip Line tours!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adventurousone85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

my husband and i went to visit historic back in mid september and we loved it! we stayed in one of their jacuzzi rooms for 2 nights, (friday and saturday). when we arrived on friday afternoon we got checked into our room and checked out the place. the main lodge (where you check in for all activities, meals are served, gift shop, pool room, and living room area) was very beautiful and peaceful. we then went out and checked out all of the walking trails. while we were out there we got to see some people who were already out there zip lining! we were doing that the next day!
the first night stay we had a romantic dinner in our room. my husband had the ribeye (YUM) and i had the chicken wellington (YUM) with delicious mashed potatoes and veggies! we got up the next morning and had a full country breakfast (YUM). we were signed up to do a 10:30 tour and we did the pattern plus tour. it was a lot of fun! and we decided to add on the power free fall.. that was SO much fun! not like anything i have ever done before! after our tour was over we went back to the room and freshened up. that night we went off sight for dinner.
**the whole experience was wonderful! all of the "office" employees were very helpful and very hard working! i say "office" employees because they were actually going back and fourth from the office to the gift shop and the kitchen, while still making us feel like we were important. i would definitely suggest this place to everyone!

Room Tip: jacuzzi rooms for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

From the moment we arrived our rooms were booked wrong, a king bed is twin beds pushed together, it has a motel 6 feel but much more expensive, the customer service was lacking, the front desk was disorganized and rude. If you eat healthy bring your own food healthy choices are limited. We had a leaky roof and the cabins are very cold even with the heaters all the way up. The worst part was the maid service. It took two days to empty the trash, dirty towels were left or not replaced, and the beds were not made up. The scenery is beautiful and the horseback ride tour by a local is well worth it. Oh also horrible parking

Room Tip: Dont' choose to stay at Banning Mills if you can book someplace else do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marilyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestzipline, Owner at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

We are very sorry that Marilyn felt she did not receive professional and courteous service from us. However, she did not tell the whole story.
Facts:1. They extended their stay from 2 nights to 3 nights
2. They did not eat any meals with us except breakfast. We always, always have fresh cut fruit (never canned) and yogurts, cereals and we also cook eggs to order. We have big country breakfasts every morning and bacon, ham and sausage are not the healthiest food but our guests need the extra caloric intake for the treks they sign up for. We also have Morning Star Products for our vegetarians.
3. She forgot to sign up for the zipline canopy tours and the horseback riding. Being on a weekend, we were already full. Our staff went out of their way to work them in for both the zipline tours and the horseback rides. Guests do not understand that when a facility is full and they are trying to do something last minute, it throws things into a turmoil. What looks like disorganization to a guest is us just really trying to work out the situation for them.
4. There was no mix up on her rooms. We were full that weekend and did not have any upgrade rooms available. She went ahead and booked the economy room that clearly states about the extra long/wide twin beds that we can covert to a king. This again, is very upfront for our guests. The beds work great and most guests love it.
5. She forgot to tell the reader that they left the "Do not disturb" sign out on their door. Housekeeping comes by everyday but will Not go in when the sign is out. If a guest leaves for the day and the sign is still out, then the guest has to wait until the next day for a refresh. There is also a card in each room stating that towels on the floor will be replaced but towels hung up indicate the guest will help conserve water/power and reuse them. We always have extra linens at the desk if the guest does feel they need more towels.
6. She was here 3 nights and 4 days with us and never once made a complaint until check out. At checkout, she stated there were a few drips from the ceiling into the sink. We thanked her for letting us know and we went to check on it. First, it did not rain at all while they were here. Second, there is absolutely no plumbing in the ceilings on the top floor of our lodge rooms of which she was on. The only thing we could think that would cause this was condensation from the metal roof that may have leaked down in a nail pop. We did call a roofer to examine this.
7. The heat and air system worked excellently. If she could not figure out how to turn it on, she should have called a staff member
8. Our staff went above and beyond to make Marilyn's stay great. Being busy on a full weekend does not mean we are rude and us taking time to work these guests in to an already full schedule shows excellent customer service.
Sometimes guests come here and are looking for more pampering but we are very clear that we are adventure based. We are not the Hyatt in the woods. We love our guests! It gives us great pleasure when people can come here and have a great time and feel like they have overcome fears. We have numerous repeat guests and we are always going to try and give excellent service to them. We are not perfect but we do strive very hard to be.
Thank you for reading the other side to the story.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I chose Banning Mills "out of the blue" for a quick anniversary adventure trip in mid-October. Our decision was really based on their website and what they offered. You always hope what you see on a website is what you get....and it was. Even better actually! The property itself and the scenery is amazing to walk through. The gorge is picturesque, the nature sounds are soothing, and the screamin' eagle zipline is priceless! As far as the staff? I've never really encountered a better staff. Every single person we interacted with was so polite and seemed so proud to be part of the Banning Mills "culture". I saw staff members wearing different hats on different days, providing a smiling "hello", always having time to share their local knowledge and to offer their assistance. The zip guides were calming, had eye contact, were confident and very professional (and they even remembered us the next day). I don't know if the entire staff is handpicked or trained a certain way, but these folks are all treasures. It is not often that the front desk offers you a cupcake from their interoffice Halloween treat tray during checkout. I mean, who does that? Oh, and we forgot our fishing poles there when we left to go home. When I called to try to locate them, one of the owners got back to me saying they found them. (Yes, the owner). Again, these folks are over-accommodating and enjoy what they do. Check-in & check-out & purchasing extras & upgrading our adventures were all seamless processes. It was our first time here and we truly had a great time...and we'll definitely be going back!

Room Tip: You can see zipliners and hear the gorge water sounds from the small cottages (we had #46). They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1108south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Banning Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Banning Mills

Address: 205 Horseshoe Dam Rd, Banning Mills, Whitesburg, GA 30185-2560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Whitesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitesburg
Price Range: $99 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Banning Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the middle of 1200 wooded, preserved acres in the beautiful Snake Creek Gorge, this Country Inn and Retreat Center is known for the world's largest,longest continuous zip line canopy tours, adventure and team building treks, Day Spa, history museum and on site chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Banning Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Banning Mills Hotel Whitesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing