We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Banning Mills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Banning Mills
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 23, 2011

From the moment we arrived our rooms were booked wrong, a king bed is twin beds pushed together, it has a motel 6 feel but much more expensive, the customer service was lacking, the front desk was disorganized and rude. If you eat healthy bring your own food healthy choices are limited. We had a leaky roof and the cabins are very cold even with the heaters all the way up. The worst part was the maid service. It took two days to empty the trash, dirty towels were left or not replaced, and the beds were not made up. The scenery is beautiful and the horseback ride tour by a local is well worth it. Oh also horrible parking

Room Tip: Dont' choose to stay at Banning Mills if you can book someplace else do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marilyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestzipline, Owner at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

We are very sorry that Marilyn felt she did not receive professional and courteous service from us. However, she did not tell the whole story.
Facts:1. They extended their stay from 2 nights to 3 nights
2. They did not eat any meals with us except breakfast. We always, always have fresh cut fruit (never canned) and yogurts, cereals and we also cook eggs to order. We have big country breakfasts every morning and bacon, ham and sausage are not the healthiest food but our guests need the extra caloric intake for the treks they sign up for. We also have Morning Star Products for our vegetarians.
3. She forgot to sign up for the zipline canopy tours and the horseback riding. Being on a weekend, we were already full. Our staff went out of their way to work them in for both the zipline tours and the horseback rides. Guests do not understand that when a facility is full and they are trying to do something last minute, it throws things into a turmoil. What looks like disorganization to a guest is us just really trying to work out the situation for them.
4. There was no mix up on her rooms. We were full that weekend and did not have any upgrade rooms available. She went ahead and booked the economy room that clearly states about the extra long/wide twin beds that we can covert to a king. This again, is very upfront for our guests. The beds work great and most guests love it.
5. She forgot to tell the reader that they left the "Do not disturb" sign out on their door. Housekeeping comes by everyday but will Not go in when the sign is out. If a guest leaves for the day and the sign is still out, then the guest has to wait until the next day for a refresh. There is also a card in each room stating that towels on the floor will be replaced but towels hung up indicate the guest will help conserve water/power and reuse them. We always have extra linens at the desk if the guest does feel they need more towels.
6. She was here 3 nights and 4 days with us and never once made a complaint until check out. At checkout, she stated there were a few drips from the ceiling into the sink. We thanked her for letting us know and we went to check on it. First, it did not rain at all while they were here. Second, there is absolutely no plumbing in the ceilings on the top floor of our lodge rooms of which she was on. The only thing we could think that would cause this was condensation from the metal roof that may have leaked down in a nail pop. We did call a roofer to examine this.
7. The heat and air system worked excellently. If she could not figure out how to turn it on, she should have called a staff member
8. Our staff went above and beyond to make Marilyn's stay great. Being busy on a full weekend does not mean we are rude and us taking time to work these guests in to an already full schedule shows excellent customer service.
Sometimes guests come here and are looking for more pampering but we are very clear that we are adventure based. We are not the Hyatt in the woods. We love our guests! It gives us great pleasure when people can come here and have a great time and feel like they have overcome fears. We have numerous repeat guests and we are always going to try and give excellent service to them. We are not perfect but we do strive very hard to be.
Thank you for reading the other side to the story.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 210 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I chose Banning Mills "out of the blue" for a quick anniversary adventure trip in mid-October. Our decision was really based on their website and what they offered. You always hope what you see on a website is what you get....and it was. Even better actually! The property itself and the scenery is amazing to walk through. The gorge is picturesque, the nature sounds are soothing, and the screamin' eagle zipline is priceless! As far as the staff? I've never really encountered a better staff. Every single person we interacted with was so polite and seemed so proud to be part of the Banning Mills "culture". I saw staff members wearing different hats on different days, providing a smiling "hello", always having time to share their local knowledge and to offer their assistance. The zip guides were calming, had eye contact, were confident and very professional (and they even remembered us the next day). I don't know if the entire staff is handpicked or trained a certain way, but these folks are all treasures. It is not often that the front desk offers you a cupcake from their interoffice Halloween treat tray during checkout. I mean, who does that? Oh, and we forgot our fishing poles there when we left to go home. When I called to try to locate them, one of the owners got back to me saying they found them. (Yes, the owner). Again, these folks are over-accommodating and enjoy what they do. Check-in & check-out & purchasing extras & upgrading our adventures were all seamless processes. It was our first time here and we truly had a great time...and we'll definitely be going back!

Room Tip: You can see zipliners and hear the gorge water sounds from the small cottages (we had #46). They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1108south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

the workers were funny great...very help full...cant wait to go back...great place for a family getta wat

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tfox36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Zip line tours are awesome. All guides very professional and friendly. Great hiking trails and the rv park is perfect

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Hubby and I spent the weekend of June 24th at the Banning Mills resort in Whitesburg, Ga. My parents went also.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom, 2 bath cabin on the RV side of the park. The cabin was rustic but very comfortable. We only had one other cabin near us,so it was very quiet and peaceful. There were lots of trees surrounding the cabin, and we enjoyed listening to the creek churning beside the cabin. We used the kitchen in the cabin for some meals but my favorite meal was when we grilled out on the porch and ate on the picnic table.

We arrived on Friday evening and spent some time hiking the trails to become familiar with the property. We walked around the RV side of the property and found the two pools that were available for us to use. We walked through the woods and over the creek to the main side of the property. It was much more crowded and loud than the RV side was, which made me feel as if choosing a cabin on the RV side was a good fit for my family. We also hiked down the river some to the site of the old mill.

Banning Mills offers many activities for guests to choose from. My family chose to do the ziplining and the kayaking. But the resort also has horsebackriding, swimming, mini golf, horseshoes, and hiking available. If you are looking for a more romantic getaway, you can do as other couples we spoke to did and have a couples massage at the spa or have gourmet meals prepared for you by the resort chef.

On Saturday morning we did one of the ziplining trips at the property. Hubby and I have ziplined before, and I must say that the pre-trip safety meeting is very thorough and informative. The guides really do emphasize safety on the zipline courses. The course was not difficult and the only thing that was uncomfortable was when all 10 of the people in our group and the 2 guides had to perch on the tiny platforms in between the lines. It got to be pretty crowded on the tiny platforms, which don't seem to have been intended to hold 12 people at once, but we were all tethered on to them by our safety hooks, so it was okay.

In the afternoon we went for a 7 mile kayak expedition on the Chattahoochee River. The resort loaded 5 of us into an SUV and took us to the site where our river guide, Lucy, was waiting for us. We each climbed into a one person, self bailing, sit-on-top style of kayak and started down the river. It was a fun trip. At a few points you encounter some small Class 1 and Class 2 rapids but they are pretty simple to navigate through, as long as you follow the guide's example and enter them correctly (point your boat straight into the rapids instead of entering them sideways.) No one flipped their kayak or had any trouble. (Hubby and I have a kayak at home so we are fairly experienced at it, but another lady had never kayaked before and she did not have any troubles at all. Dad also had never kayaked before and he greatly enjoyed the trip.)

The kayak trip between the rapids was very peaceful and quiet. You see a lot of tranquil forests along the river banks. The 7 mile trip ended much too quickly, and the resort SUV was there at the pull-out point to return us to Banning Mills. Back at the resort, Hubby and I went to the pool for a swim. I was glad to see that the RV side of the resort has one 4 foot pool for kids and an 8 foot pool for the adults.

On Sunday morning we ate the breakfast buffet at the Main Lodge. The resort has a good array of fruit, eggs, meats, juices, biscuits, etc. My family fixed our plates and chose to eat on the enclosed porch of the lodge so we could enjoy the beauty of the surrounding forests. Many of the other breakfast guests did this too.

We enjoyed our trip to the Banning Mills resort and will return to this site for another future vacation. Next time I will look into the 14 mile kayak trip and investigate the spa packages. I will also see about having the chef prepare a meal for us.

I recommend this resort for family vacations or for couples who just want a weekend away from it all. The setting here is quiet and peaceful. If you enjoy listening to the sounds of water flowing in the creek or enjoy hiking through the woods or doing outdoor adventurous activities, then you will like this vacation spot.

Southern Gal Georgia

Room Tip: I recommend staying in a cabin on the RV side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southerngalGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I went over to try the Zip Line Course with my college-aged son, and we had a wonderful time. The zip line can be enjoyed by people of all ages. It's a great "high" adventure for teens/college-aged kids and their parents. We got there at noon and did the first two courses in about 4-1/2 hours. Next time we will go earlier in the day, do two courses, take a break and then do one or two more. Since it's only about two hours from our home it makes a great trip to do in one day. The guides were extremely helpful, kind, courteous, knowledgable, etc. Cannot say enough nice things about them. This is a great family place! In comparing this zip line course with others in the southeast, I believe it is the best as far as pricing and different courses. Would give it a five-star rating.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Alabama1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The cabin was amazing; very quiet, clean and comfy. It was a three bedroom and two bathroom. we all had our privacy. A nice trail led us to the main lodge or we could drive. There were closer cabins to choose but this was what we wanted. We were in a gated area and felt safe.

The food was wonderful and everyone was friendly. The breakfast buffet was ubelievable!! We even ate lunch with Craig and Morgan. That was awesome that they wanted to stay with us and not get a little free time on their own. Even the view at meal times was INCREDIBLE.

We experienced the ALL DAY ADRENALINE RUSH and we were not disappointed. RARELY does a property or experience meet the expectations set forth in the brochure or website. Historic Banning Mills exceeded. Especially comforting was the fact that Mr Holder was always close by---literally under as we on the zipline:) watching over everyone. This was one of the most incredible experiences ever.

Morgan and Craig were our guides and they were amazing. I was scared to death and they were always patient. They were never inappropiate in language or action, which is rare to find these days. I was exhausted at the end of the day, but I felt so accomplished. I had conquered my fears---I did it anyway---and the guides made us feel so good about what we had done. We were truly treated VERY well by ALL staff.

The beauty and history the surrounds you at Historic Banning Mills cannot be duplicated. There is something for everyone. If you just wat to test our the ziplines there is a package for you. If you want the full experience---The RUSH is for you. If you just want to rest and relax---you have found the place.

The gift shop has things you might have forgotten....like a toothbrush. Also t-shirts, specialty Jams(inclusing sugar-free), ciders, locally made artisian crafts, etc. There is so much there we did not have time to experience it all. The Spa, Pool--looked great--(there were three pools), Waterfall, Mill Ruins, Kayaks, paddle boats, more trails, etc.

I truly cannot not say enough WONDERFUL things about Bannig Mills!!! Thanks for a get-a-way we will NEVER forget!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teacherella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Banning Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Banning Mills

Address: 205 Horseshoe Dam Rd, Banning Mills, Whitesburg, GA 30185-2560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Whitesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitesburg
Price Range: $99 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Banning Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the middle of 1200 wooded, preserved acres in the beautiful Snake Creek Gorge, this Country Inn and Retreat Center is known for the world's largest,longest continuous zip line canopy tours, adventure and team building treks, Day Spa, history museum and on site chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Historic Banning Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Banning Mills Hotel Whitesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing