We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On holidays, ask the price; go early or don't go”
Review of Heart of the South Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Heart of the South Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Pine Mountain, Ga.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“On holidays, ask the price; go early or don't go”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The food is good home style cooking, and we have always enjoyed eating there. But when we went for a later sitting Easter, we had two surprises: the price was almost twice the usual price and the food was no better, if as good, as the regular daily buffet. Six people including a six year old were $150. We did not think to ask the price in advance because the buffet was a pretty typical Sunday buffet. Secondly, even though they were out of many items listed on the menu, the price was the same as if we had had the full buffet. They had told us late sitting was fine and that they had reservations for 45+ people for the late sitting. But the cook staff did not keep the buffet refreshed even though they had these reservations. For example, these desserts were "out": banana pudding, caramel cake, coconut cupcakes, lemon cupcakes, pecan pie leaving slices of buttermilk pie some of which looked old, three crumbling old brownies, and one fresh dessert, blueberry cobbler. Not what one expects in a $20+ buffet. When I went through the hot buffet, several items on the hot bar needed refreshing or removing badly. We were still charged the full and doubled price, not a good value. Lesson learned: ask the price and go early or don't go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Professor_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Real Southern Cooking and Family Buffet”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a beautiful old home that has been converted into a cozy and home style restaurant. The original dining room, living room and sitting room have nice tables and southern charm. There are no menus, but a large made from scratch buffet of the classic southern cooking. If you haven't tried corn casserole, collard greens or fried okra, this is the place to try it. The servers are attentive to your drinks and encourage you to try the desert. There is a big bowl of 'deliciousness' as they call it which was southern puddin' with oreos. Yum. If you're on a diet or battling fatally high cholestrol, you might consider skipping this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FirstClass2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Southern Cooking”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I'm originally from Lanett but live in Atlanta now. When I'm at home, this is my favorite place to go in the area - especially for Sunday dinner after church. The food is traditional Southern cooking - it's all great and it's located in a cute house. The service is friendly and fun. I highly recommend it!

Note - the restaurant is only open for lunch Sunday - Friday, closed Saturday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Country Cooking Buffet, Downtown West Point”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Being from Atlanta and assigned to a lengthy project for a Kia supplier about two weeks in you begin to realize that the lunch options in West Point, GA are somewhat limited. That being said, if you work in or around Kia Heart of the South is on your lunch rotation; at least once a week, every week. It is just where everyone eats. The food is homade, the variety immense and, the servers are lightning fast with the tea. Thursday is the day to go because the salmon patty's taste like home.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heart of the South Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing