We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely beautiful!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Exideuil, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
AceHo
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We booked this gite based on the photographs displayed in the advertisement and I have to say as lovely as it looks it was even more beautiful in real life. On arrival the host, Dave, had sent us excellent directions which took us directly to the accommodation and we were met with a friendly welcome when we got there. The bottle of wine and flowers were an extra nice touch. We were shown round and I was extremely pleased as the gite was furnished with everything we could need on our stay. The main bed was extremely comfortable and both my husband and I slept really well during our stay. We were lucky as the weather was gorgeous but the view from the bedroom balcony where we ate breakfast in the mornings was stunning. Dave was attentive and on hand should we need any information regarding the surrounding areas, was always happy to help and our deposit was returned way within time. My husband and I had a lovely, relaxing stay and would recommend to anyone. Thank you :)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is important to us that our guests enjoy their stay and that the facilities meet their expectations. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pete W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent accommodation in a fantastic area”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Le Terrier is everything it is advertised to be. It is spacious, very well equipped, and clean. As a family of four, we wanted for nothing, and didn't find ourselves tripping over each other at all. It is also beautifully cool in the summer heat. Dave and Heather are fabulous hosts. They default to a very discrete position, but are on hand for any queries. They absolutely bend over backwards to resolve any issues that may arise, and we instantly warmed to their genuine and helpful nature. We were met with a much needed bottle of wine, and a selection of goodies to get us through the first evening / morning. If you have any concerns about living next door to the owners, then we can assure you that it is definitely a benefit to have Dave and Heather nearby, and you won't lose any privacy (if that is a concern, it wasn't for us). I won't write too much about the area as I'm sure you will do your own research, however it is lovely and quiet around "Le Terrier". A few minutes drive gets you to the local restaurants and shops, and there are ample things to visit within 30 minutes drive. As mentioned by another reviewer, we also spent several evenings sat on the terrace watching and listening to the river - it's hypnotic. In summary, it is our view that Le Terrier is high quality accommodation, fantastic value for money, and we couldn't have wished for a better holiday or hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The genuine welcome and support from the owners
Liked least: Having to go home after 2 weeks stay !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney_Li...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Sunrise!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at Le Terrier for a week whilst working on our house nearby. Dave and Heather were very welcoming along with the goodie basket! Everything was there that we needed for our stay. It was clean and well heated for those cold nights. As we were up early, we enjoyed the beautiful sunrises from the balcony over the la Vienne and in the evenings, sitting in the lounge had the gorgeous views of the moon. Shame we were never home in time to sit outside and enjoy our meals in the garden. The town is a short walk away where you can enjoy a meal at the Bar if you feel like a night off cooking. Dave and Heather were always available if we needed any advice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful river running in front of the house
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa R
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Awesome accommodation for the price in very picturesque location. The owners are very friendly and willing to cater to any need you may have. Good weather would have meant better use of the great outdoor facilities available, but there is enough living space inside for those dreary days. Many thanks for allowing us to have a wonderful holiday. Kind regards.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside space
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Village / riverside location
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing