We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the Hills”
Review of Gavinburn Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Kilpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gavinburn Cottages
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise in the Hills”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just returned after a fantastic week at Gavinburn cottages. What a find they are. We stayed at the Auchentoshan - it was just ‘pure dead brilliant’. The cottage is furnished to a very high standard with nice touches in every room. We were very very comfortable there. We especially loved the wood burning fire and our 15 year old son become chief fire lighter/ stoker and loved getting it going. In the evening we loved relaxing in front of the fire with a glass of wine – bliss.

The location of the cottages could not be better, sitting up in the Kilpatrick hills with stunning views down to the Clyde and Erskine Bridge. Once darkness has fallen the magic of the lights of Glasgow twinkling in the distance was a sight to see. The cottages feel so peaceful and secluded but in 2 minutes you are back down the hill and can be heading down to Loch Lomond, into Glasgow or back over the Clyde to explore the Clyde coast.

With parents and relatives in Glasgow, Paisley and Renfrew we were ideally located for catching up with them all.

The walk up the hill to Loch Humphrey is well worth the effort with great views as you get further up the hill.

For a visit into Glasgow we would recommend getting the train from Kilpatrick station into Glasgow (Queen St). It takes just under 30 minutes and means you do not have to worry about parking in Glasgow.

We would also like to thank the owner Alex Fleming who was very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

As you can probably tell we absolutely loved our week at the cottage and would highly recommend them. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The cottages were easy to find & Alex Fleming met us on arrival. These cottages truly are located in one of the most stunning locations we have been to. The outlook was mesmerising, i sat outside in the lovely seating area with a cup of coffee 1 morning whilst the rest of the family sleeping, taking in the beautiful view, it was bliss and really was a highlight of the holiday. The interior was superb, high quality, modern with lots of home comforts and lovely personal touches such as the fantastic, and very full, welcome hamper. The location was perfect, we went for a picnic up to the loch Humphrey 1 day, which the kids loved, a visit to loch Lomond the next and then a packed day in Glasgow. Really can't express how much we absolutely love these cottages, kids are already asking "when can we go back"?! We will be in touch very soon....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were the first lucky people to get to stay in these beautiful cottages and found it very hard to leave!

Inside, the cottages were beautifully renovated with everything we could possibly need. Little touches like the welcome hamper and selection of childrens toys/ books and DVDs ensured our stay was relaxing from the moment we got there.

Outside, the views were amazing, the enclosed garden with play area and surrounding fields and streams were a perfect place for our two young boys to run around. The fact that they could see sheep from their bedroom window was an added highlight for them!

Everything had been so well thought through, having a boot room with washing machine and tumble dryer is very handy with children!

And lastly, the service; Alex and his wife were lovely (and their boys) and couldnt do enough to help.

With family in Glasgow, we will certainly be returning year on year and would highly recommend Gavinburn Cottages to everyone.

My 3 year old still says it was his best holiday ever...cant ask for anything more perfect than that!

Room Tip: We stayes in the two bed cottage but were lucky enough to get a nose around the 4 bed also, which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Wow what a place.From the moment we drove up the road the the Gavinburn Cottages,we loved it.Alex Fleming was there to greet us. The view was stunning.When inside we certainly were not disappointed. There was a welcoming basket,filled with more goodies than i have evr seen in a welcome basket.
It was comfortable,modern, yet homely.The special touches were seen in every room.Everything was there you didnt need to move.
Highly highly recommended.Worth every cent

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coachCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found Gavinburn Cottages by complete chance when searching for a place to stay for my parents first trip to Scotland (from South Africa - so it had to be stunning!) ... and we could not have been more lucky / fortunate to come across this gem!!

Not only was the booking process a breeze, but on our arrival we were greeted warmly by the owner and had been left a 'welcome' basket in the cottage too (which contained all the essentials we needed - including booze! )

The cottage - is newly decorated (beautifully done!) and every possible need is catered for. The beds were extremely comfortable and the house was kept very warm with central heating as well as a fireplace in the living room. Nothing was missed or forgotten

The view - absolutely spectacular and breathtaking! From any front facing windows is a breathtaking view over the Clyde and Glasgow city. The land is privately owned and hence is so peaceful

I highly recommend this accommodation ... you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bed cottage - which was beautiful, but I am sure the other 4 bed is just as stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

What a beautiful cottage all the touches of a hotel but with the beauty of self catering. The views are amazing you can sit out for hours listening to the peacefulness while watching the sheep. A perfect location for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veevo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Kilpatrick
0.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,365 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
208 reviews
14.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.8 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavinburn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavinburn Cottages

Property: Gavinburn Cottages
Address: Kilpatrick Hills | Glasgow, Old Kilpatrick, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G60 5HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Old Kilpatrick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Old Kilpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gavinburn Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished self-catering holiday cottages set high in the spectacular Kilpatrick Hills with stunning views of Glasgow and The River Clyde. Only 10 miles from Glasgow Airport, Glasgow City Centre and Loch Lomond. Perfect location for exploring Scotland and ideal for hill walkers and mountain bikers as we have some of Scotland's top rated trails, right on our doorstep. Sleeps 1 to 22 guests in luxury single or super king doubles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing