We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK...”
Review of The Granary - CLOSED

The Granary
Restaurant details
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just OK...”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Had stopped at the Big Easy for a to-go breakfast and saw the Hot Cocoa sign outside so decided to run in right quick and get some with a pastry for later. They were out of Hot Cocoa so I just got a cinnamon roll. I was VERY surprised that it was almost $4.00...but it looked delicious so figured it would be worth it. It wasn't ... It as not a bad cinnamon roll, but was not worth the price. I can. Go to Publix and get 2 or 3 that taste that good and spend the same money. They did have a large selection of bulk items that looked interesting. I may go back to buy some of those, but no more overpriced pastry!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBH4387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canuck in Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Every little town just wishes they had one of these”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Granary is a great little place I frequent for on the shelf ingredients like steel cut oats, unsweetened coconut, coconut oil, veggie chips, various grains, spices etc. There is also a bakery, though I have not purchased many baked good here. We did get some sticky buns a couple of times and they were very good, so I would guess other items are too.

My favorite thing about the Granary is finding whole food items that aren't on the shelf at Publix. What a bonus for such a small town as Watkinsville.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lusciouskiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scones=delish”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The baked goods here are really good, especially the scones. The most unique thing in the pastry case is the bacon & cheese scone, (which o.k., while it's not technically a scone, is still really good).
The staff and owner are really friendly, local, and down to earth. The Two Stories coffee is also good. If espresso drinks are not a requirement, you would do better coming here to get really high quality baked goods with your coffee than you would going across the street to get decent baked goods at Jittery Joe's.

The only thing that keeps me from rating them "excellent" is the lack of indoor seating and the lack of espresso drinks. Everything they do, they do well, but I just wish I had a place to sit down and read the paper while I enjoy the wonderful smells of the bakery.

All in all, a class act that you should definitely try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

OMG - how I love this place. The scones, muffins, bread are wonderful. Every time we come to Athens we stop and load up and our family always wants more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh baked good and grains to take home!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The Granary is a small bakery where you can purchase a cinnamon roll, scone, or their awesome Sunrise muffin of healthy yumminest (bran, raisins, carrots, honey, etc) and a cup of coffee to go. Muffin -$2.30; cup of coffee brought from Athens' Two Story Coffee Shop - $1.50

Or sit out on their porch at one of the two small tables. All the above are baked fresh each morning or you can purchase bread that they bake during the day.

The inside is like a small grocery. On the shelves, they offer a wide variety of grains, Cous Cous, grits. popcorn kernels, as well as a gluten-free shelf. They sell a local dairy's milk by the gallon and half gallon. I've heard The Granary's pimento cheese is great too.

Very friendly staff and grains you can take home to enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeacherSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Granary also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing