We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere, great prices - need anything more?”
Review of chops and hops

chops and hops
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Watkinsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, great prices - need anything more?”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stopped across the street from the Ashford Manor on the Friday night of a UGA football weekend. It was busy. The hostesses did not have a good handle on who needed to be seated, what tables were clear, etc. They were a little overwhelmed. When we got our table after 50 minutes (we were told 30-35 minutes), the waitress was great and the rapport was instant.

We ordered an appetizer to share and I had the ribeye steak and my wife had a salad. The food was outstanding, the prices were great and the atmosphere was just right. This is not the place for a romantic evening on a football weekend.

We ate at Mirko's the next night (I am not reviewing them, though it was OK) but we definitely made the right decision in choosing chops and hops.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    68
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good food, friendly staff, good price. No complaints. Right across the street from the Ashford Manor B&B.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank IVS827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I ate here twice over the Labor Day weekend, once with friends and once with family. The hamburger I had (with mushrooms and carmelized onions) was absolutely delicious. The chicken salad wrap was also very, very good. Our service both visits was excellent. I will certainly return again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthGeorgiaPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Redemption?”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We went there tonight with a large group. The waitress, who was disorganized, overworked and immature; forgot to put in my order. The owner/manager stepped in and fixed it, paying for my dinner and apologizing. The manager was a pro and did a great job. She stepped in just before I went thermonuclear. I have to say, my pork chops were delicious. We will go back and I can recommend. They need to work on service though and I hope my service experience was an exception.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved Chops and Hops”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Eat here on Sunday afternoon. No alcohol sales but the food was awesome without. Each had a different burger. Probably the best anywhere! Real hamburger and the bun was to die for! The fries were cut from a fresh potatoe and fried to perfection. We will go back and try the pork chop and a beer from the massive list! We live about 40 miles from here and it was worth the drive!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank advisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed chops and hops also viewed

 

Been to chops and hops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing