We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eye for drama with modern world touches.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashford Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Watkinsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I took my mother out for a night and was very happy to find Ashford Manor. I have a bed and breakfast myself so I know what it takes to run a smooth ship.
From the lavender water spritzer that was there for you to mist your sheets to the inroom coffee set up the management makes you feel right at hoe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElephantWalk801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 262 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I booked the White Room for our 3rd wedding anniversary. We called to book the room and told them of our plans to stay and they were so kind and extended their congratulations to me over the phone. Then the day of our stay, I received an email from them confirming our reservation and also had this nice message:

"Dear xxxx,

Thinking of you on this very special and very romantic day. Have a wonderful anniversary from all of us at Ashford Manor Bed & Breakfast!"

The room was gorgeous and all the amenities were laid out just right. Unfortunately that night at about 8:00 pm, some construction began across the street from us and we were serenaded by heavy machinery (including incessant jackhammering) until about 2 am. Needless to say, we did not get a good night's sleep. Obviously the construction was not the fault of Ashford Manor management and so I decided not to complain about it when I checked out the next morning. The owners brought up the construction on their own and insisted that we not be charged anything for our stay. Their stance was that our satisfaction be "either 100% or nothing". We will definitely be booking again in the future! We are very impressed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrFiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here earlier this month. We were attending a wedding of good friends and they had rented the whole property for the weekend.

My partner and I had never stayed in a B&B before, so we did not know what to expect. I have to say Ashford Manor makes me want to stay at other B&B's now and only hope they are half as wonderful as this one.

It was great having the whole property as we got to enjoy an intimate setting the whole weekend with the bride and groom and their other friends and family. We only knew the bride and groom when we were arriving, by the end of the weekend we had met and shared meals and great times with many other people there for the wedding. We probably would not have met half the people if it was in a hotel, the bed and breakfast setting was ideal!

We stayed in the "Cottage Hideaway Suite" and it was amazing, it's in the 3 suite cottage separate from the main house and our room had an amazing large patio. So it was great to mingle and socialize but then escape to the privacy of our patio and little hideaway when we wanted time to ourselves.

The rooms were very clean, the staff was super attentive, they are in another property a mere 100 feet away (if that), all you have to do is walk through the gate to go from where Ashford Manor is to where the staff is located and the owners live.

When I stay in a hotel and breakfast is included, it is typically a continental breakfast with few choices and no one is waiting on me. Here, the breakfast was included and the owners prepared a delightful breakfast both mornings and served you at a large table where you got to eat and socialize with the other guests, it was perfect and delicios! I was also fully aware that if I had a special request for breakfast, the owners would have gladly obliged, but I liked being surprised with what they would serve and it wasn't a disappointment. If I wanted an array of choices or something different, there were many restaurants around town to where I could have forgone my free breakfast and gone somewhere and paid for a breakfast and ordered whatever I wanted, so glad I didn't take this choice!

The owners, Dave and Mario were wonderful the whole weekend! They have a great place and for what you get, it is priced just right! I highly reccomend this heavenly little getaway to anyone looking for a quiet and peaceful hideaway and escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!

Chad H-Tampa

Room Tip: Cottage suites great for peace and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

This place, just outsude Athens Georia, shines and will draw you back for it' expansive gardens and also music events during the summer.
A find if you like large old home done with an eye for elegants an old world charm yet artsy too.
Resonably priced for what you get compared to big city offerings.
Call to verify that the pool is open. Eat at a cheap but good, great restaurant in town called Piccalo!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureenmortenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages as we were attending a wedding at the venue.
Overall it is a nice place to stay, if you have reason to be in the area. The staff stay off site, so you do have to call for service, which is a little odd. My shower was luke warm, which was a little annoying. The swimming pool was out of action- again not a huge issue, but if this is usual then the photos need to be removed as they are misleading.
To say I was shocked at breakfast would be an understatement. I've never stayed at any establishment where my breakfast appears on a plate with no information asked of me regarding preferences or allergies/intolerances. I note that other people have complained about the breakfast and the response is that they are happy to accommodate different tastes- but should they not be asking guests what they would like before producing a plate of food? Lack of choice aside, the food was ok, but a very very odd combination of meat, fruit and a dessert!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Owner at Ashford Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Of particular note, we hate that you found your breakfast to be unsuitable. In all cases, we ask our guests -- both when they book a room and at check-in -- if they have any dietary restrictions, allergies or preferences, and gladly accommodate those. We believe in your case you were a guest of a wedding party, and in such cases, the bride chooses the breakfast menu. Even so, had we known you had a preference, we gladly would have offered you another option, and apologize for that inconvenience.

Thank you, too, for pointing out a problem with the hot water; we had that rectified, and would have done so immediately had we known it was occurring. Also, we are always on the property; the proprietors live here, and during weddings, there are no fewer than five staff members on site. The grounds are large -- nine acres total -- so we're sorry if you understandably had any trouble getting a visual on us; we are, like other hotels and inns, just a phone call away and always willing to do whatever we can to make you comfortable.

Again, we hate to hear that you weren't happy with your stay here, but wish you the best in your further travels.

We thank you and appreciate your feedback, it will help us, as we are always trying to improve our service and provide the very best for our guests.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Breakfast is like NO other, grounds are immaculate, rooms are designed with unique perfection, and the staff is hospitable in every way! Hands down a wonderful place to stay! Great for a weekend getaway, weddings and events, and time to relax!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I attended a wedding at Ashford Manor this past weekend and I have to say it was one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. Room furnished perfect. Owners very attentive to our every need. The breakfast was to die for....beautifully (a work of art) presented with a great balance of fruit, pastry and main ( on premises chickens produced the eggs!!)

We will be back.

Alex and Kelly

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkinsville
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Athens
5.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
743 reviews
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
6.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Athens-GA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Harden Hill Rd, Watkinsville, GA 30677-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Watkinsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Watkinsville
Price Range: $89 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of ourselves as the best kept secret in Georgia. The five acre Ashford Estate, overlooking Watkinsville's venerable Main Street, had been in the same family for over 100 years. Completely surrounded and secluded by a border of magnolias, red buds and pines, the 1893 Victorian manor house, cottage, gazebo and four acres of landscaped gardens all terrace down to a pool and open woods and creek beyond. We are walking distance to antique shops and art galleries of local fine and folk art talent. Ashford Manor and our new facility Ashford On Main are available for weddings, reunions, business meetings, retreats, bridal showers and more! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing