We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth several hours”
Review of Museum of Aviation

Museum of Aviation
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free U.S. Air Force museum open to the public Over 90 aircraft like the SR-71, F-15 & a B-29. Exhibits include Georgia Aviation Hall of Fame, WWII Hump Pilots, Tuskegee Airmen, D-Day, and the Flying Tigers. Motion simulator rides $5. Cafe, gift shop and picnic park. Daily 9-5; closed Jan. 1, Thanksgiving and Dec. 25. Ten miles east of I-75 Exit 144. Phone (478) 926-6870.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Well worth several hours”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

First of all, this is a free museum and only a short two hour drive from Atlanta making it a worth while day trip for families with children. There were several hangers of displays and planes as well as a number of planes outdoors. We had a lunch there - Nathan s hot dogs.
They had Vietnam, WWII and Korean War exhibits as well as a Tuskegee airmen exhibit.
We've been meaning to go for years and now we found it was worthwhile.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twywn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    105
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
“Great museum”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Free! Really nice place. Plenty of planes and history. A must see if you are in the area. Especially if you are interested in planes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Nice Way to Spend the Afternoon”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I originally hadn't gone to this museum; I've been in Warner Robins for nearly 10 years and hadn't thought to visit. I wish I had decided to take a day to see it sooner! The displays of the planes, artefacts and the history of Warner Robins was awesome to see, and I loved that they had several hangars dedicated to showing off plans from various eras in history.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee,Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful to visit”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This museum has over 90 planes to see. The museum is three floors. WWII, Vietnam, etc. We are seniors, so this was very moving to visit. They did a tribute to the Tuskagee Airmen. Best part it is free. Put on your walking shoes, there is a lot to see. Small cafe inside, didn't eat there, but looked welcoming.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzie038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always a treat to visit here”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Being somewhat local, one can take this place for granted. I stopped in to grab some things for out of town people and what a great stroll down memory lane. I grew up visiting the museum and it was so great to get back and just wander around.
The staff/volunteers are super friendly should you have any questions. It was saddening to see that they had to boot quite a few planes due to lack of resources but they still have plenty to look at. If you are nearby, do yourself a favor and check it out.

Helpful?
Thank 95traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Aviation also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing