We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney's Castaway Cay - FABULOUS!!!!”
Review of Castaway Cay

Castaway Cay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bahamian Out Island currently owned by the Disney Corporation, which is accessible only by arriving on a Disney cruise ship.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Cranberry Township, Pa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disney's Castaway Cay - FABULOUS!!!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were on the Disney Dream for a 5 night cruise that included not one, but two stops at Disney's private island, Castaway Cay. I wasn't expecting anything that great, we have been to other cruiselines private islands and weren't that impressed. Boy was I wrong. Disney has it all figured out. They have something for everyone. The main beach area for families was very crowded but I was expecting it to be. The snorkel area is nice, its quite a swim from the shore to get out far enough to see anything but once you get out there it is worth it. I saw lots of fish and sea urchins. The adult beach is beautiful, the water is so clear and you can go out very far from shore. They served up a bbq lunch that had a large variety of foods and desserts and it was all very good. We rented bikes for only $6 per person and rode the bike trail. Its a nice, flat 4.5 mile trail that takes you to the back part of the island. Overall I was very impressed with Castaway Cay and was so glad we got to stop here twice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tivoqueen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,271
    184
    56
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“LOVED IT....but it stormed :(”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Got an early start the day we were in Castaway Cay which was good because a significant storm rolled through about an hour after we got on shore. We were able to hang out in a pavilion with games to play til close to lunch time when we decided to go back to the ship to have lunch and wait out the rain. After lunch we were able to go back to the island and get our bike ride in and we loved it! Sadly, it started to rain again so the day was cut short. I had purchased the bike/snorkel/raft package but we never got to use anything but the bike because of the weather. I'd recommend waiting til the day before you arrive at Castaway Cay to purchase the package. That way if the weather is iffy then you haven't wasted that money. I had also booked parasailing which was cancelled due to the weather but that charge was refunded.
The island itself was immaculate in true Disney fashion. Once Disney figures out how to control the weather Castaway Cay will be perfect!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank merckx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Place to visit”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We did the Disney Cruise into the Bahama's & on return you always get to stay at this island for the day. The beaches are great, the activities are many & the crystal clear water is always WARM :)
Both my girls, my wife & I all did the snorkeling for the day, the Mickey Mouse under the sea was great, shame we didn't have a water proof camera(don't forget to take one) as the fish, stingrays & under water life are plentiful.
Great stop off & an Excellent cruise.

Helpful?
Thank Sniegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Swimming With The Stingrays -- Awesome!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is our third Disney cruise and our third time to Castaway Cay. The snorkeling here is fantastic! This time we added on the Stingray experience and it was wonderful. It started out with some information about the stingrays and then we took turns feeding them and being able to pet them. After that we were able to swim with the stingrays. The whole experience was about an hour and well worth it. Not too crowded either, which made it very nice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Luci_J_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved every minute”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My family will forever remember the beautiful Castaway Cay. We enjoyed the white sand beaches, crystal clean water, and the BBQ. If you go, make sure you opt for the island bike ride. It's a paved path that extends around the island to a lookout where you have a view of what's around you. Paradise! If we could have stowed away, we would have. Worth every penny of the cruise.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank randmsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway Cay also viewed

Eleuthera, Out Islands
Great Abaco Island, Abaco Islands
 
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Staniel Cay, Out Islands
 

Been to Castaway Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing