We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but far better options in Tawau”
Review of VS Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
VS Guest House
Ranked #4 of 11 Tawau B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2014

On arrival, our experience with reception was very positive, welcoming, and helpful. This was not the case the next day when we checked out. The guest house is up a few flights of stairs, so be prepared to lug your bags up and down. We found the noise an issue, as previously stated in other reviews. The 'wet' bathroom would have worried us, (shower is not separated from the rest of the small bathroom area) but as we were there only one night, it was acceptable.

Accommodation in Tawau is cheap, and if we were to return, we would spend just a little extra, and stay at the My Inn which is more centrally located (though VS guesthouse is central once you work out where it is) and of a much higher standard.

Overall, our stay was okay, and realistically no more or less than what we expected. Just that there are better options close by for just a few RM more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 35 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

the staff are friendly, warm greetings when we walked in. the room was more than we can expect from a guesthouse. Seasoned traveler would understand the term guesthouse very well and so far this is the best.

Room Tip: i need fresh air when i sleep, standard room with window are my best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khanzab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Having now stayed here, I'm somewhat surprised by the number of high quality reviews this property has received. The rooms were basic and serviceable, hard beds as previously mentioned but we didn't mind, single towel but we were provided another when we asked, reasonably clean, in line with what you might expect for the budget price. But the noise created by reception staff and guests in the lobby / reception area continued late into the night and started again very early in the morning - with paper thin walls and all rooms being within close proximity to reception - it's hard to imagine getting a full restful night sleep here ever. The staff were not overly friendly, nor sympathetic to the noise issue. I wouldn't recommend and certainly wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the VS guest house for one night. Luckily we booked a standard room with window, because the rooms without window looked like a box. We stayed in room number 6. We would choose this guest house for our next stay in Tawau.

Pro's:
* within walking distance from bus station, restaurants & cafés
* new, clean & pretty spacious room
* free & fast WiFi
* uncomplicated booking through agoda
* receptionist's English is very well


Con's:
* only one towel provided (according to the reception that's because the VS is a budget hotel)
* the TV has only two Malay channels

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Travelmonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a double for two nights. Everything in this rediculously cheap hotel gets a score of 4 to 5 in my optinion except for the matresses which are waaaay to hard. You might aswell sleep on the ground :p
The rest is all positive. The overall look of the hotel is very nice and new. The rooms are clean and spacious, the showers are the most comfortable ones we had in ages and the reception staff speaks excellent english. Try to get a room not in front of the reception though as the staff woke us up both mornings at 6.30am with loud conversations and laughs. We would definitely go back here as it's amazing value for money (just bring your own matress).

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank thailalaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

theres nothing remarkable about this and the staff weren't overly friendly. but its a good budget option if you need to stay in Tawau between journeys. clean, comfortable and central. within 5 minutes you can be in decent eateries.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

ok, Tawau ist not a place to spend your vacation. But if you have to come here this is the place to stay. Everything in walking distance, very friendly and knowledgeable staff, flawlessly clean and decent internet. What else do you need. Compared to what we have seen over the last weeks this was the best value we got for the money.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a window. It is not expensive though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babs-Pollux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tawau hotels
0.1 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#4 of 10 in Tawau
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#3 of 10 in Tawau
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Inn Hotel
My Inn Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tawau
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Promenade Hotel Tawau
0.2 mi away
Shervinton Executive Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Rooms
Rooms
#1 of 11 in Tawau
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VS Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VS Guest House

Address: Jalan Stephen Tan, Tawau 91000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Tawau Division > Tawau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tawau
Price Range: $14 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — VS Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VS Guest House is located in Tawau City Central. It's just walking distance from bus terminal city central and Servay Hypermarket. We provide our guests a clean and neat place to stay with reasonable price; perhaps we can call it low cost at strategic area. Air-conditioned guest rooms are fitted with complete facilities: Quality mattress, HD LCD TV, attached bathroom with heater and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your VS Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VS Guest House Tawau, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing