We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money”
Review of VS Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
VS Guest House
Ranked #5 of 11 Tawau B&B and Inns
München
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best value for money”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

ok, Tawau ist not a place to spend your vacation. But if you have to come here this is the place to stay. Everything in walking distance, very friendly and knowledgeable staff, flawlessly clean and decent internet. What else do you need. Compared to what we have seen over the last weeks this was the best value we got for the money.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a window. It is not expensive though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babs-Pollux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

As others stated....clean refurbished ...walk up 1 flight. Manager Dalilah does it all..She sent us to Chocolate museum via Emas hotel, canopy walkway tour via local taxi. Best see it/cook it open air live... seafood=stall #25 =Kam Ling and more. Rooms are smallish but functional. Maid can do your laundry=bargan...We spent 10 days here...

Room Tip: Best wifi...works well...close to lobby...pay extra for a window room...if room does not feel right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sailorsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontianak, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent a good amount of time in Tawau (probably more than we should have), but the VS Guest House was great. The staff was wonderful (especially Dalillah!) She can help you figure out anything from places to eat (the local outdoor market, Olive, etc), get to Tawau Hills, find great diving around the area (generally from Semporna), and more. The guest house has great rooftop access, and we spent of few of the nights there watching the large flying foxes (a type of bat) fly high overhead as the sun set; it was really an amazing sight!

This is a great place to stay whether you are heading up to Mt. Kinabalu, to Sipadan, or even if you are waiting for your Indonesian Visa to clear (if you are heading there by bus).

The hotel is very clean, the WiFi works well, and you have plenty of space in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JumpKickTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kluang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is located very near to Pasar Gantung(Central Market?). The mosque is a few shops away. So are Pasar Tanjung, Pasar Ikan and Tawau Port- within walking distance. Or if you want to take a taxi, it,s only around MYR5.
The front desk girl/manager?, Dalilah, was very helpful and very knowledgable about travelling in Tawau, including Semporna and islands nearby.
As I think the majority of the tenants are Muslim, it is very appropriate to mark the qiblat in the room/lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRS_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel was exceptionally clean and comfortable and in a very convenient area next to a big food market and a huge department store. Also the front desk girl was really nice and helpful, and spoke perfect English. I highly recommend this place if you're in Tawau.

Room Tip: not all of the rooms have windows, so be sure to request a room with a window when you make your res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is located right in the town center and very convenient to go everywhere,The staffs were friendly,room is clean, I was pleasantly surprised by how nice it was for such an affordable price,also, a pleasant choice for airport transfer,will come back and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SengGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VSGUESTHOUSE, Owner at VS Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review :) , look forward to your next stay here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The owner is a brother of my close friend. The hotel is small but very cozy. The people who work there are the nicest in the world. We had a wonderful time and have slept in comfortable beds. We were recommended a trip to the jungle what was an extraordinary experience :-)
If we were to come back to Tawau, only to VS Guest House!

Room Tip: All rooms are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Malgorzata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VSGUESTHOUSE, Owner at VS Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We would be glad to have you again with us, thank you so much for your review. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tawau
0.2 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 10 in Tawau
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tawau
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Inn Hotel
My Inn Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tawau
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shervinton Executive Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Promenade Hotel Tawau
1.5 mi away
Hotel Emas
Hotel Emas
#6 of 12 in Tawau Division
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VS Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VS Guest House

Property: VS Guest House
Address: Jalan Stephen Tan, Tawau 91000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Tawau Division > Tawau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tawau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — VS Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VS Guest House is located in Tawau City Central. It's just walking distance from bus terminal city central and Servay Hypermarket. We provide our guests a clean and neat place to stay with reasonable price; perhaps we can call it low cost at strategic area. Air-conditioned guest rooms are fitted with complete facilities: Quality mattress, HD LCD TV, attached bathroom with heater and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your VS Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VS Guest House Tawau, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing