We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very run down”
Review of Prince Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Tawau B&B and Inns
Tawau, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“very run down”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel under the name First hotel. So I decided to try this hotel after the renovations and with the name change from First Hotel to the present Prince Hotel, I thought it would be a new management. I was dead wrong. Except for the positive check-in experience which was good as the trainee counter staff was very obliging and helpful everything else was horrible. After checking-in at the counter, as I stepped into the elevator, there it was the same old worn out red rubber mat with holes in it on the floor of the elevator. When I step into the room, there was all the sign of the First hotel from the walls, the air-con to the towels with the faded words First hotel. The towels were old and gray in colour instead of white and I did not feel comfortable using them. Although they have changed the name of the hotel, it is still the same old hotel with the previous management mentality. This would be my last time staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
1
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for a night as I was waiting for my flight back to KK.

The location is good, at the center of Tawau which is very small in the first place. So basically everything is within walking distance. Not 5-star clean but ok for a night. And I ran into a front desk staff who's very kind and willing to help here.

But for just a few more dollars, you could stay in a better hotel on the same street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fox L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have been staying in this hotel for a while. Normally for business trip from 2-3 days. What I like is the down to earth hotel staff with the willingless to help out and having a descent normal conversation with their everyday guest. The room is quite clean except for the paperwall and some stain on the floor in the bathroom. If you stay at the King Executive room, you will enjoy your own satelite TV at your pleasure. Furthermore, the hotel is located at a very dense entertainment area call Fajar with many pub and karaoke, and restaurant. If you feel tired, there is a spa centre on the 1st floor. The drawback - no restaurant for breakfast, but you can find many coffeeshops for your local breakfast in the morning.. A good bargain for a price with good descent staff in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

good central location in the city, clean room, no breakfast, correct price

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bosske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

From the outside this hotel looks attractive, clean and well maintain but sad to say that once you checked into the room everything falls apart right from the wall paper and deco down to the floor and overall clealiness is poor. Looks as if the wall paper and curtains were some left over materials salvage from reject shops and the floor tiles were stained and looks dirty and I had to wear flip flop which I normally do not. Word of advise for the owners please do some spring cleaning and maintain the property well in order to compete with the numorous hotels that mushroom just about everywhere in that location. Your only plus point is that you have a health centre which the rest of the hotels within the vicinity do not have, except the new Sherviton hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yummy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tawau hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tawau hotels
0.0 mi away
Promenade Hotel Tawau
0.0 mi away
Sipadan Mangrove Resort
0.0 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 10 in Tawau
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
My Inn Hotel
My Inn Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tawau
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tawau
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
VS Guest House
VS Guest House
#5 of 11 in Tawau
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Hotel

Property: Prince Hotel
Address: Tb 208 & 209 Off Jalan Masjid, Tawau 91000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Tawau Division > Tawau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tawau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Ctrip TA so you can book your Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Tawau, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing