We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel (for 1 night)”
Review of Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tawau
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great hotel (for 1 night)”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Not a reflection on the hotel but the town - there is little or nothing to do in Tawau itself. Great, friendly check-in and room (520) is large, double is biggest we found in Borneo. AC, shower, etc all work well - only let down in the room is wifi (worked once in 2 days) so had to use lobby all the time. Free or 10RM breakfast in restaurant next door wasn't to our European tastes - mainly Asian dishes. Sorry but chicken Marsala at 830am isn't for us so settled for toast, fried egg and coffee.
We ate in Olive Bistro (at end of road)on both evenings - friendly staff, beer/wine available, dishes for Chinese /Malay and Western tastes. Both had Smoked Salmon Salad (12RM) excellent, also popular with the locals.

Room Tip: Back rooms f possible. If going out during day close curtains or room like an oven on return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarkingMad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
4
17
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night after having a vacation at Mabul island. What I can say is this hotel is very near to almost all attraction place in Tawau!

Nice room, bed and nice view from window.

The check in was easy and the receptionist was very HELPFUL. I was very excited to stay there again in future :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaffeeNista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

A really pleasant hotel to spend a night on your way to Sipidan. The rooms are a little dated but have good a/c and showers and in room WIFI. The staff are helpful and can give directions to local restaurants and attractions.

The room was very quiet and we had a great nights sleep, for a relatively cheap price. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were not feeling so well and asked for a quiet room which overlooked the back lane having seen how busy the area was. The room was roomy and comfortable and not noisy once the traffic died down. The breakfast was in the cafe next door and they were nice and served a range of fare. This hotel competes with others that look cheaper and newer and possibly fresher inside but for the money, we would not bother and were quite happy with our stay. If on a budget, check out if any hotel eg Han Dynasty, have complimentary drop off at airport. It's quite far and costs 45R.

appointed with fresh paint and a nice bathroom that was large enough

Room Tip: Go back lane facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NibbanAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The customer service during the process of checking availability, booking, so as the efforts and works after staying such as requesting for receipt, is GREAT !!! Fast response in polite manner. All miscellaneous and annoying small requests are well addressed in a timely fashion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sterlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We travelled in a group of 10 pax, booked 5 rooms for a overnight before heading to Mabul Island. Standard room, the price is reasonable, the rooms are clean.

There are all the facilities, like WIFI, TV and hot shower.

However for standard room, there is no window. Location on the hotel is in the center of the town. There serve good breakfast too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamil1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I arrived at 11am and the front office let me check-in! That's the best thing I could ever requested as I woke up at 4am for my 7:00am flight from Kuala Lumpur - Tawau (approx 3 hrs).
I took a airport taxi that cost RM 35 to Tawau town.

Checkin was breezy, the bellboys are friendly (and good looking too!). They are fast !
Front office ladies were very pleasant, gives me some direction and tips/option on what to do while I wait for my other friends to arrive.

I stayed in Room 508 (no window view), which is a non-smoking room. Room is not ultra modern, but is decent. Airconditioner is single unit, in perfect working condition. Shower room cubicle is slightly small and the water pressure is strong.
Face towels and big towels are provided.
In-room coffee/tea and water boiler is available + 2 bottles of 500ml mineral water.

Sleep quality was good. Overall not much complaint :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tawau
0.2 mi away
My Inn Hotel
My Inn Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tawau
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Promenade Hotel Tawau
0.0 mi away
Shervinton Executive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 10 in Tawau
12 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Emas
Hotel Emas
#6 of 12 in Tawau Division
22 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rooms
Rooms
#1 of 11 in Tawau
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Property: Heritage Hotel
Address: Heritage Hotel Jalan Bunga, Tawau 91000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Tawau Division > Tawau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tawau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Hotel,Tawau is the one hotel choice for the discerning business travelers to Tawau. Heritage Hotel is a charming hotel that exudes the warmth and class in the heart of Tawau commercial center which promotes emotional contact between our valued guest and the hard attributes of the building, Heritage Hotel has 88 stylishly designed with tropical theme, modernism and spacious and comes with all the modern and unique rooms, which each characteristic of rooms base on value guest demands. Complete with in room amenities, evening guest rooms turn down service, coffee & tea making facilities, smoking and no smoking floors, space corridors in every floors, wireless internet accessible at lobby, special designed room for the disable, 24 hours CCTV and security service. The Hotel caters 3 completed luxurious and modernism conference rooms designed and ideal for variety of business seminars, exhibitions, product launching and also education intakes interview.At Heritage Hotel everyone can focus on what important while we take care of the rest. Whether it is for business or leisure, WE, Heritage Hotel is your heaven from stress and hectic schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Tawau, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing