We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and Comfort in the Cloud Forest!”
Review of Cabanas San Isidro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabanas San Isidro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Ok. Perhaps my stomach did have a little say in my generous rating of this beautiful spot, but I can't help myself. I couldn't wait for each next meal! Delicious from soup all the way through to dessert (and the best coffee of the trip as well.) I took a few photos of the meals, but they don't really do them justice. Also appreciated all of the vegetable sides they did with each meal... I'm not a vegetarian, but easily could have gotten by on the delicious veggie dishes like quinoa with kale. mmmmm.

We loved our little room. It had a beautiful view of the mountains in the distance. Comfy beds. Warm enough at night with the big wool blankets. Rustic but nice considering that you are in the middle of the forest. The lounge was really lovely. Just a beautiful place to hang out either inside, along the little terrace, or on the rooftop area.

One just feels that they are far, far away when staying there... yet a couple of the meals were better than food I had at the London Maze Restaurant last September! They also make an effort in little ways.... such as having fresh flowers both in the lounge and the dining hall.

Lastly, the staff were so very friendly and accommodating. The servers in the dining hall were always friendly and ready to get anything we needed. The manager (??) whose name, I think, was Alfredo, acted as if the dining room was his own home-- welcoming us as we came in... checking to see if we needed wine and such. Just a really friendly and welcoming guy.

We absolutely loved our stay at San Isidro.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Cabanas San Isidro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 105 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

I found this Lodge extremely welcoming and friendy. The bedrooms were clean and cosy and the meals were good and wholesome. The Lodge is quite close to the main road, but I didn`t find this a problem with any noise and I`m a light sleeper! The Lodge is situated at a high altitude (2700m) and thus it can be quite cold, especially during damp weather, so be prepared with extra warm clothing, but don`t let this put you off staying here as it is really a first class birding lodge. At night we were offered hot water bottles and the beds did have plenty of extra warm blankets. We stopped for two nights, but I would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDGPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

San Isidro - Excellent food, quiet - in the Andean cloud forests with nature reserves close by - a great place for natural history or just to get away from it all. Rooms are spacious - with your own bathrooms. Staff are friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a large balcony. I could not edit the fitness center/swimming pool - there is...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKennedy780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed several nights at Cabanas San Isidro specifically for birding, and were not disappointed. The lodging was very comfortable with great views. One review has the restaraunt area as a "bit scruffy", but I never felt it was the least bit unclean. There are numerous on-site trails with excellent birding, plus it is a nice central location for excursions.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westerncolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at Guango Lodge one night as part of a 9 day birding trip with Rudy Gelis of Pluma Verde tours (plumaverdetours.com), in which we saw 428 species of birds. If you want a personalized birding tour where you'll see a ton of birds go with Rudy.

The birding at Guango is great, but the food...the food is amazing! I still think about the food we had there....

The staff were all friendly and treated us great. The rooms were comfortable but a bit cold, but the large blankets they supply deal with that you just have to manage the initial chill of getting into bed.

Birding is great. The hummingbird feeders attract a large number of species. The trails are great, we had Mountain Avocetbill feeding on some flowers, Gray-breasted Moutain-Toucan perched and mixed flocks of tanagers, Plushcap and brush-finches galore. Torquise Jays come incredibly close offering killer views. A stream runs through the property and it's a great place to see Torrent Duck.

When I head back to Ecuador for some Amazon birding I'm making another stop at Guango!

Pictures of birds from Ecuador on my Flickr page:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/46661974@N06/page3/

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isocyanide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

These two lodges cater specifically to birders and they do a great job. Guango Lodge is a little basic and a bit tired but the hummingbirds and the food are great. Can be quite cold - even in the rooms. San Isidro has good rooms - the restaurant area is a bit scruffy but they have a great lounge and everyone is very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent two nights at San Isidro in March. While we are not real birders, we visited San Isidro to hike and bird watch. There were so many wonderful birds on the grounds of the lodge that one doesn't even need to hike the trails. We took a number of hikes on well maintained trails accompanied by a guide provided by the lodge. Be sure to bring binoculars. We saw tons of humminbirds, quetzals, Inca jays, owls,antpittas, tanagers, wood peckers and the cock of the rock.

The food at the lodge is eclectic and very tasty and the cabins are comfortable. It's high-end rustic so it's not inexpensive. We spend time in Ecuador every year and has beento lots of different lodges. We will definately be returningto San Isidro,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbbfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cosanga
24.7 mi away
Termas de Papallacta
Termas de Papallacta
#1 of 1 in Papallacta
795 reviews
23.9 mi away
PlayaSelva Tropical Rain Forest & Lodge
17.2 mi away
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cotundo
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Kopal Ecuador
Hotel Kopal Ecuador
#1 of 1 in Baeza
36 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hakuna Matata Amazon Lodge
22.1 mi away
Hosteria El Paraiso de las Orquideas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas San Isidro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas San Isidro

Address: Via Cosanga | Caucheras, Km 3, Cosanga 150751, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Cosanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cosanga
Price Range: $150 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas San Isidro, a large reserve with some of the best access to primary mid elevation cloud forest in Ecuador, is renowned for its world class birding, exotic cuisine and outstanding conservation ethic. Our extensive trail system will lead you through gorgeous forest to a Cock-of-the-Rock lek, waterfalls, rivers and even archaeological sites. Fun activities for kids! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cabanas San Isidro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas San Isidro And Guango Hotel Quito
Cabanas San Isidro Ecuador/Cosanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing