We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. What travel should be about.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jerowaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The world has enough bland identikit concrete hotels in over-touristy areas, if you want those fine - don't come here - save this gem the rest of us!

Recommended by our Tour Op (Ethos Travel in London) as they had just returned from an inspection - Nihiwatu in Sumba was not in our budget, but this untouched corner of Lombok was beautiful. Surprisingly luxurious Beach Villas (only 5 - but maybe 5 more to come) on a semi private white beach (so clean it squeaked under your feet), my highlight was lying on our huge day beds under the stars (remember them! - most stunning natural display i've seen in years as no light pollution) with a cold (ok, lukewarm!) bintang beer listening to the waves.

Daytime involved long walks, relaxing, and just relaxing. No shops, no bars, just you and nature. But this is why you came right? The staff are lovely (there are limitations - location and language sees to that) - but everyone was determined to make our stay a lovely one, and it highly memorable. No tv's, no wifi, no phone reception - bliss! But you have AC, great food, huge beds, any shortcomings will be slowly ironed out (more sun umbrellas please, and perhaps water coolers in the room?).

I'm planning my next trip already, for longer next time. Despite what others may have said - this is a great place to bring kids (of 8+) - as long as you can wean them off their iPads / gameboys. Bring a frisbee, go exploring. Thanks you JB!

Room Tip: All seem identical to me!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonchild123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 220 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile


We decided to combine our stay in Jeeva Klui with the luxury camp at Jeeva Beloam

It's true what the website highlights, "a secluded cove" too secluded if you are traveling with your family. "One of few untouched places in the world" well, that's true; we were truly impressed by the beauty of this place. However:

At the moment of our stay we were informed it was the soft opening, I still don't think that's an excuse for all the shortcomings that we encountered. It makes me sad to write this review considering that we had such an amazing time at Jeeva Klui. We decided to leave the camp the next morning.

The property is amazing, no doubt about it. The cove is breathtaking and the whole blue sky, turquoise water and no soul around made it really peaceful. But the ride from JK to the camp took 3 hrs. And the last 40min of the trip is on a road trip. By the time we arrived we were a bit annoyed.
But them we were blown away with the whole scenery. We were taken to our room just to discover that the bathroom had a terrible smell...we requested to change the room. Ours had the best view so I convinced my husband to stay in this one and try to overcome the smell problem, one thing we don't appreciate is when people come up with silly excuses foe their shortcomings..
My husband could t stand the smell anymore in the middle of the night and I felt terrible to have imposed him to stay in that room

The next morning things looked up when we sat at the open restaurant. You can't deny is an amazing setting. The staff is quite friendly but they all rely in one guy only whose English is reasonable. We understand that the camp is Located in such a remote area and it might be extremely difficult to find English qualified staff to work over there so we didn't care too much

You have set menus for every meal and although that bother us a little bit, we were also understanding of their limitations. The service was so great and the food outstanding that we also decided to chill a bit and enjoy the experience.

However (the second one) we found the place is not adequate enough for guests. That side of the island is drier and hotter than Seminggi...there is absolute no coverage for the sun and believe me we have no problem laying outside and getting tanned from time to time, but the heat was unbearable. The beach is also quite nice but there is not a single chair nor umbrellas where you can escape from the sun...

Although we were informed about the electricity shortage, her comes the third however...we couldn't believe that we had to drink warm beer at happy hour. Well, we didn't.I'm sorry to say but I can live without the AC or whatever limitations that this camp presents but no smile is gonna cove the fact that nobody likes to drink warm beer after such a warm day.

We requested to leave and go back to Jeeva Klui, we were lucky we knew the other property and that we managed to get the same room.
But we also had to wait for manager to return to the hotel because guess what..you can't make phone calls outside the hotel!!

We were really impressed with the nature and all, but you can't expect people to enjoy the stay with all these shortcomings.

The minute we stepped into Jeeva Klui we felt looked after again, the manager couldn't apologize enough. They were extremely nice, offer a spa treatment but we were leaving the next day very early so we had a courtesy dinner.

It's a shame, the property has lots of potential but they have to put their act together. Buy a generator and keep Drinks chilled if weather is supposed to be that hot.

We would talk about this experience, the trekking we did and the peacefulness and the scenery we found here but I would t recommend it to anybody with children or who is in for a relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsTravelbug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supriyanto S, Owner at Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments on Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp. First of all we appreciate very much your comments, both positive and where we need improvement, and feedback.

Jeeva Beloam is in a remote location on the tip of Tanjung Ringgit and is basically on the opposite side of Lombok from Jeeva Klui. The trip from Klui takes between two and three hours, but usually closer to three hours, depending on road conditions. From the airport the trip to Beloam generally takes between one to one and a half hours. The last 11 km of the trip is on a road developed during the war in the 1940's when Tanjung Ringgit's Tangsi Beach, the 'pink' beach, was a military outpost. Sometimes it feels like the road hasn't been improved since then! Although the local government plans to resurface the final stage of the trip to Jeeva Beloam, so far only about 4 km of the road has been repaved. Recently we have arranged to take the final portion of the trip by boat from the pier at Teluk Temeak to Tangsi Beach. We work with an outside partner for this service and the boat must be booked in advance. We apologize that we were unable to offer this service when you stayed with us.

The rooms at Jeeva Beloam are designed based on the concept of traditional Sasak Berugas. The bathrooms, although covered, are open air. The area around Beloam is not developed and the forest reserve is home to a variety of wild life with a thriving population of owls and eagles in the area. The smell in your room emanated from the bushes bushes behind the beruga where you were staying. Staff at Beloam should have noticed the smell in your room, identified the source and of the smell and taken steps to remove the source of the smell and spray the area prior to your arrival. Again, we apologize for this inconvenience and our staff should have asked you to change rooms until the source of the problem could be identified and steps taken to remedy the situation.

As part of our effort to help the local community, we have mostly hired staff from the area. We are starting to work with a local teacher to provide English lessons to improve the language skills of staff. We have also recently hired new staff who are proficient in English.

We are pleased to let you know that we now have a palm leaf shade on the sun deck in front of the restaurant and have put large shade umbrellas on the beach near the sun loungers. Thank you for your input on this.

Jeeva Beloam does not have phone coverage or electricity. Although it is possible to get reception on cellphones at certain locations at Jeeva Beloam this is sporadic at best. We have installed a base station for phone coverage but unfortunately it is not working as planned. We hope to have this problem resolved in the near future.

There is no electricity from PLN at Jeeva Beloam. Electricity is generated through a combination of solar power and generator sets. You should never have been served warm beer. This was an oversight on our part and we apologize for this mistake. Going forward we will be sure to keep cold beers in the frig.

Once again, thank you for your comments and input. We are sorry for the inconveniences and hope that you enjoyed your overall stay in Lombok and at Jeeva Beloam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a welcome! Collected at the airport and a slow drive to our destination. The last part of the journey was on a very rough road, which gives it its uniqueness. It is totally isolated, so not for the partygoer. An enthusiastic reception on our arrival. The same positive attitude throughout our stay. Very good food. Happy to facilitate any request. No hidden charges.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RASHFORD740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wow! It's heaven on earth. When you arrive there, you do not have words. It's like a fairy tale. Private beach, only 5 bungalows, and employees? Never before have I seen such a happy and professional behavior. I was there with my wife 4 nights in January 2013 and I hope next time I will spend more time there. The food was absolutely delicious, service great, the staff tried their best to give us our stay enjoyable - devising activities for us, they were always friendly and with nice smile, but not pushy. We really enjoyed it and I have to say that nothing so beautiful I have ever seen. Really, thank you Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp - staff and management for amazing stay and see you very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family (2 adults & 2 young kids) stayed for 2 nights and we enjoyed it thoroughly. The beach camp and its surrounding natural attractions provided the perfect setting for us to have a peaceful and relaxing stay coupled with some interesting and fun outdoor activities i.e soft trekking along the area's coastal path/cliffs, snorkeling, swimming & beach activities. The entire Jeeva Beloam team is just fantastic, very warm, attentive to our needs (food, activities, etc.) and really made us feel welcome. Thanks guys!

A few points to note ...
(1) There is an age limit on kids (think its >15 yrs) as the beach camp structures (e.g. sparsely balustered railings may pose a potential hazard to young kids if unsupervised).
(2) Jeeva Beloam is located in a rather 'remote' area south east of Lombok, the car ride is about 2 hrs., the last 30-45 min. over bumpy roads. (The solitary road leading to Jeeva Beloam was constructed during the Japanese occupation of Lombok/Indonesia in WWII ! Its amazing that it's still in pretty good shape after in being in use with minimal repairs works over the past 60 odd years)

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms (brogas) (Room No. 1-5) were ready in Nov. 12. Rooms are in a row with the sea/beach li...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenlow118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had planned to break our Lombok trip into 2 parts, touristy Senggigi and a quiet part of Lombok.

As Jeeva Klui was selected as our Senggigi hotel, we visited their webstite, facebook page frequently and found that they had another property, Jeeva Beloam, in a very remote part of Lombok. After contacting a few properties South of Lombok, and Jeeva Beloam, we were attracted by Jeeva Beloam’s offer (all inclusive, camp like, remote) and decided to go there.

Jeeva Beloam’s Camp Host was quick to respond to our email inquiries. Initially not wanting to accept our 2 children since the property does not have facilities for children, far from everything (nearest town 90mins away), we managed to persuade them and agreed to take full responsibility of the children’s well being while there.

We easily spotted April who came to pick us up from the airport. Journey to the camp was 2hrs with one stop at a salt farm (our request, and obliged by April). The camp is located in Tanjung Ringgit, serviced by roads built by the Japanese during WW2, hence the last 12km car ride was very bumpy (but our kids were having fun rocking around). Upon arrival, our jaws dropped.

It’s beyond whatever we have imagined. The place is just fantastically beautiful! Our children claimed it’s one of the most beautiful places they have been to. The sand powdery soft, and the sea crystal blue, and the beach is just few meters away from our room.

Our room (Due) faces the sea (all 5 rooms do) and is rustic and spacious; beddings, toiletries, towels are the same as Jeeva Klui’s, i.e. luxurious and comfortable. Although the electricity came on only from 6pm to 6am, the breeze from the sea kept the room cooled during the day, and in the night, we got aircon and fan. It’s a luxurious camp!

The staffs there were friendly, attentive, yet giving us privacy and space. E.g. The children went to the beach to build sand castle after night fall, and soon after they started, a staff came over with a portable lamp and told us he would be standing 100m away should we need him.

For each meal, although a set menu was given, they would cater to our request (for the children) if the ingredients were available. The children love the fish and chips, pancakes and the penne pesto, while we love all the seafood dishes. Chef Taufiq’s local dessert was really fantastic!

There’s no TV and internet is only available at the reception area, but that didn’t bother us much.

We had April brought us to a beach which used to be an oyster farm the 1st evening to watch the sunset, but it was a cloudy day. 2nd morning, we went to Pink Beach for snorkeling and a swim. The children were entertained by a camp staff, Irwan (who’s very good with children), at the beach and the shallow sea; while April brought us adults further out. In the evening, April drove us out to the lighthouse for a walk, and to watch locals do cliff fishing. The last day we were there, we went soft tracking with April and another staff Jawa. They helped the children with steep and narrow path, and showed the children sea snails and barnacles. We tracked passed a couple of beaches, pink beach included, and everywhere the view is spectacular. April carried water for our journey, and Irwan was on stand by to pick us up along the way should we have problem finishing the track. Such is the thoughtfulness of the staff.

As it was dry season, once outdoor outside of a shade, the scorching heat was quite unbearable for me, though it bothered my husband and children less. This was the only problem I have with the trip here. Still, we regretted we only have 3 days spent in Beloam and not longer.

If you are an out-doorish person, love nature; or if you love peace and seclusion and just want to enjoy a quiet holiday while being well taken care of, this is the place to come to. If you can’t be away from TV, aircon, internet access; or you are bothered by the sound of waves throughout the day (there's no way to shut off the sound when you are there) then this may not be your cup of tea.

My children, husband and I thank the whole Jeeva Beloam team for taking care of us, showing us around during our stay, especially to Apriona (April), Irwan, Jawa, Jom, Iksan, Chef Taufiq (rarely do we remember hotel staffs’ names but this team really made an impression on us all), and all the others whom we didn't get to know their names.

We hope Jeeva Beloam will continue to offer this top notch service and maintain its rustic charm for years to come, and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea and are equally good.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ZarasMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The location is outstanding. The team at Jeeva have built a sympathetic camp in the most beautiful location. If you want a pristine beach, come here. Jeeva Beloam is isolated from everything. The nearest thing is a 60 year old road built by the Japanese army during their occupation. If you want to escape come here. The rooms are authentic in design and a good size, very clean and offer amazing views. The staff will cater to your requirements and are exceptionally polite. Make sure you go snorkelling on pink beach which is a 5min car ride, the coral is absolutely untouched and colourful, you fill only find the odd fisherman. The water is crystal clear and calm. The volcanic formations around the camp contain plenty of fossils and things to explore. The guys from the camp go spear fishing on the beach 20 metres from your room and you are more than welcome to join them! There are no TVs and there wasn't any wifi, but why would you want that when you have the most incredible beach. The camp is off the beaten track and takes about 2 hours from Sengiggi.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parit_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerowaru
46.1 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,261 reviews
45.7 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,550 reviews
46.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 11 in Kuta
1,872 reviews
45.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
47.0 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp

Address: Jalan Pantai Beloam No. 1 | Sekaroh, Jerowaru, Lombok 83672, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Jerowaru
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jerowaru
Price Range: $269 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With two white sand beaches within a 55 ha forestry reserve, Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp is a unique retreat experience and the ultimate luxury hideaway on Lombok's rugged Tanjung Ringgit peninsula. The beach camp is located 11 km from the nearest village and is off the power grid. Due to the isolated nature of the beach camp, the retreat package includes full room and board for two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing