We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, overpriced”
Review of Kinderlou Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinderlou Inn
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Valdosta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2009

This place has a "front" and a "back" group of rooms. Any (slight) discounts will get you a "back" room by the interstate. No elevator.

Families stay in the front where Ward and June can watch Wally and the Beeve by the pool and life is good.

Guess where they put me.

The steakhouse on the same property is pricey but excellent eating.

BYW, I stay at the Jameson now. Cheaper, parking by the door, next to the mall... Bruister's? Ice Cream was the real catch. Good Tex-Mex food in the same block.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 167 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2008

We chose this location due to its pet friendly policy and reasonable "pet fee". We had requested a room near the exit/entrance to accomodate the late night and early morning dog walks. The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom had a huge vanity which was convenient. The room had a refrigerator, coffee maker, desk, etc. The free breakfast was in its own little area near the pool and had nice bistro tables and chairs. The property is also a conference center and we noted a large screened building with picnic tables, a volleyball area, and nearby meeting rooms. Our only complaint, but a big one, is that the "pet rooms" are all smoking rooms. I asked several times for a non-smoking "pet room" but was told repeatedly that all pet rooms were in the smoking rooms. We tried copious amounts of frebreeze and my husband even cleaned the AC filter but the smell permeated everything. We awoke the next morning with headaches and our clothing smelling of cigarette smoke. Unless the management changes this policy, I will not be able to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nmgayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Stayed here after picking up our new dog from out of town.
Front desk personnel very friendly and helpful, especially night person (we checked in at 11:30 pm). Since we had the dog, we were put in a smoking room, but there was very little smoke odor. Rooms were clean, had frig or microwave, beds were comfy. Continental breakfast included, but we did not have it as hubby wanted regular breakfast, so we went to Dee-Dee's Diner across the street. Great local place, plain food, good prices. All in all, nice play to stay for the $$.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank redbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We stayed here this past weekend while visiting Wild Adventure's theme park. The rooms were nice (a little pricey, $102) for a comfort inn. The hotel is quite large and spread out among quite a few buildings, but mostly easily accessible. Only problem was with breakfast. For a hotel this size to have a breakfast room this small is just wrong! The breakfast room is capable of holding probably 15 people comfortably with another 10 being able to sit outside, but there were a constant stream of people coming in for breakfast keeping the area populated at around 50! with people walking all over each other this was a nightmare!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jam315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2006

Nice and clean. We only stayed for a few hours to get some sleep during a long road trip. Appeared clean to the naked eye. Impressed with the continental breakfast.

Stayed: November 2005
1  Thank mrhildy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2005

I am a single female business traveler. This hotel was nice, clean and safe. I was able to get a room that opens to an inside hallway. The room was very large. Sort of dated, but clean and nice. The breakfast is pretty good. My only complaint is that their waffles and french toast are the frozen type that are heated up in a microwave. It sure would have been nice if they would get those waffle machines that many of the hotels have these days. Anyway, it is a nice quiet hotel. The pool looks huge. Too bad it was raining, otherwise I would have used it.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2005

We took the advice of other reviewers and stayed at this hotel last week. It was spotlessly clean, the rooms were comfortable and we felt safe here. The staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. Breakfast is served in a small cafe near the pool and there is a good choice. The hotel was only 10 minutes away from the Wild Adventure theme park which is where we were headed. Downsides - well we ate at the adjacent steakhouse restaurant - it was OK- not great. The hotel is near a busy road and railway so be prepared for a bit of noise. Over all though it was a good deal and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdosta hotels
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Valdosta, GA
6.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#12 of 34 in Valdosta
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Conference Center
6.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Valdosta at Valdosta Mall
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn At The Mall
Quality Inn At The Mall
#20 of 34 in Valdosta
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinderlou Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinderlou Inn

Address: US Highway 84 W, Valdosta, GA 31601-1904 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Conference Center)
Location: United States > Georgia > Valdosta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Valdosta
Price Range: $76 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinderlou Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kinderlou Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Valdosta
Comfort Inn Valdosta
Valdosta Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing