We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not in my list of places to return to.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garden Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garden Villas
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Valdosta
Ok
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not in my list of places to return to.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

The room was a non-smoking suite upstairs and the receptionist was nice but he (andrew) never offered to have anyone help us with our bags. The room was a nice size with a King size bed, full size refrigerator, stovetop, coffee pot, sink and some dishes, however we had to ask for fresh towels each day, along with replacement coffee packets, and we never once after a week long stay had anyone come to clean the room, take out the trash, make the bed. We actually went down at the end of the second day to request it be cleaned and were told they would get it the next day...needless to say by the end of the next day it hadn't happened.
At this point we didn't want to pack it in and leave, we had already bought a few groceries, and just decided to get fresh towels each day ourselves. It was also difficult parking, and a lot of people hanging around in the parking lot late at night. Overall, I would probably not stay here again.

  • Liked — Size of the room
  • Disliked — The fact that we never anyone come clean or replenish towels, etc.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwyers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
1
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
georgia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2007

This all depends on which side of the motel you stay in. The front looks great however the back rooms are horriable besides the fact that the personal doesn't even bother to check what is happening in the back rooms unless there is a complain. There are bugs and the beds are falling apart. The pictures you see in the internet are only the selected rooms in the front.

The rooms are not cheap yet there is no housekeeping or keeping up of the rooms. Don't get fooled by the pictures you see that is only the front.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank sandyramlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2006

I stayed at The Garden Villas for approximately two months in 2006 while in Valdosta for business. The rooms were excellent with a nice kitchenette and lovely hardwood floors. The rates were also quite low for an establishment of this caliber. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful so whenever a problem did arise it was rectified immediately. My experience with The Garden Villas and her staff made me wish that my work had kept in Valdosta longer.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2006

I stayed in the Premium Suite and was pleasantly surprised with the accomodations. The bed and room was very clean and comfortable. It's an extended stay hotel so there is a kitchen that supplies everything you'd need to cook. The room was immaculate, and much larger than your regular hotel room. Service was good, atmosphere was good, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah Area, GA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2006

Wow... I'm finding it hard to believe we stayed in the same hotel. The Garden Villas was a surprise alright, but not a pleasant one. I was there for 1 night in late April 2006. This is a very old roadside motel that has had a facelift. They took old kitchenette rooms and put down pergo and tile and added granite countertops, but kept the old beds and pink ceramic tile that belies the true age of the hotel. The kitchenette would be nice if you were staying for a while, but I wasn't. My room (118) was not very clean. The bed was old and uncomfortable. The musty smell was overwhelming and sent me running for my allergy meds. I never saw bedbugs, but I never felt alone in my bed, if you know what I mean. I paid nearly $100 for this really bad 3 hours of sleep, and I couldn't report it to the night manager when I left at 6:00AM, because there was no one in the office. I don't recommend this place, unless every other place is full for miles around and you bring your own sheets and pillow.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joejup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2006

Very surprised with the size of the rooms and cleanliness. Will recommend to my family and friends traveling to Valdosta. Previous reviewer was absolutely right--they certainly ARE unique!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2006

I booked the hotel room through hotels.com and viewed the amenities and the pictures, but I never thought the rooms would be SO NICE! Really, the rooms are extremely big, not like your sardined hotel rooms, and each have granite countertop kitchens with a full refridgerator. What blew me away was the price. With high speed internet connection, cable and hbo television and even more, one could stay there for like $840 or $850 per month. I can't remember. But it was definitely a great bargain and it's quiet, tiny, unique, gorgeous architecture, and well furnished. I've even booked my family's stay in Valdosta for next year's winter vacation. The staff is wonderful and so polite as well. I highly recommend the Garden Villas whether you're staying for one night or even up to a month. It's the most unique and great bargained place I've been to and I travel a lot. I'm so glad I stayed.

Helpful?
1 Thank sportsillustrated123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdosta hotels
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn At The Mall
Quality Inn At The Mall
#21 of 33 in Valdosta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kinderlou Inn
Kinderlou Inn
#15 of 33 in Valdosta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
4.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Valdosta
Howard Johnson Valdosta
#26 of 33 in Valdosta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn  South
Quality Inn South
#18 of 33 in Valdosta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Valdosta
Econo Lodge Valdosta
#17 of 33 in Valdosta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Valdosta at Rainwater Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Villas

Property: The Garden Villas
Address: 2529 N Ashley St, Valdosta, GA 31602-1821
Location: United States > Georgia > Valdosta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Valdosta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Garden Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden Villas Hotel Valdosta
Garden Hotel Valdosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing